Home > Forgot to categorize > Catalonia Deciding to Ban Bullfighting

Catalonia Deciding to Ban Bullfighting

What do you think of this? I went to a bullfight in Spain when I was about your age. It made me and my Mum very upset and quite sick. What do you think about the debate going on in Catalonia, a very wealthy and important part of Spain?

Categories: Forgot to categorize
  1. Karam
    July 29, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I think that this should not be banned because sometimes no matter how sick it maybe traditions should not be banned . Especially ones that have been going on for centuries.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 2, 2010 at 6:03 pm

      But what about traditions that are no longer acceptable? There are many traditions that are no longer done because people have changed, humans continue to evolve and so do our traditions. Can you think of any old traditions that are not done any more?

  2. Ness
    July 30, 2010 at 7:14 am

    When I went to spain 3 years ago I went to this bullfighting ring but I didn’t watch it because it was really scary. We went outside the ring and it was big then after that, we went to this restaurant and there were about 20 heads of the bulls that got killed on the walls. I think they should do it less or just stop it because it can kill humans and the bull. If they do it too much the numbers of bulls in the world will get lesser and lesser. They might do it for special occasions and holidays.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 2, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      What city were you in?

      The thing is, the bulls are bred specially for bullfighting, so if there is no bullfighting the bulls won’t even be born!

  3. Ranvir
    July 30, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    First of all, I’m here in Phuket and it is amazing. I just went to a Ko phanga tour yesterday where we saw different islands and we canoed into a bat cave and into different lagoons. I also went to James Bond island and I got the Man of the Golden Gun signature necklace [the fake one of course]. I dont want to go home at all.

    About bullfighting, I think it should have limits to how hard or how severe the fight is. It is a spanish tradition so my verdict: No Banned

    • Mr. Sam
      August 2, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      Your holiday sounds great, Ranvir. That part of the world is very beautiful.

      When you say “I think it should have limits to how hard or how severe the fight is” do you mean that you think they should not kill them?

      • Ranvir
        August 3, 2010 at 10:32 am

        For example, At any sort of boxing match, they have rounds each of 3 minutes. I expect bullfighting to have rounds each of 30 seconds or 1 minute maximum.

  4. Mr. Sam
    August 8, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Yes, th could do all of the skillful stuff with the red cloth and just try and make the bull tired, but they could stop the cruel stuff where they stick knifes and spears into to the bull’s back and they could also not kill them. A bit like rodeo I guess – they sort of have some fun with the bull but don’t deliberately harm or kill it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

