Advice for other Year 6/Grade 5 Students

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We have been asked to give some advice to the students at Mount Scopus Memorial College. They are about to do the first ever PYP Exhibition at their school, so they would really appreciate as much advice as you can give them.

Make a comment to:

  • Give them one or two pieces of important advice about the PYP Exhibition
  • Share what made your PYP Exhibition successful
  • Share what was most difficult for you during the PYP Exhibition
  • Ask one or two questions for them to reply to when they read our Blog. 
  1. Sasha
    June 9, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    The most important information you should know is that:
    1. In the start when you choose your issue choose an issue that you really want to work on, don’t just work on that issue because your friend is doing the same issue
    2. As the exhibition starts you NEED to follow the exhibition process so that you have a successful exhibition in the end.
    3. When the exhibition starts you don’t need to feel stressed out or nervous or anything because during the exhibition you will find that there is nothing to worry about if you give and do everything on time you will have a successful exhibition.

    What made my exhibition successful?
    1. Choosing an issue I am passionate about
    2. Not wasting time
    3. Giving everything on time
    4. Not worrying and not getting stressed out
    5. Not letting fights with my friends or anything effect the exhibition (Maybe if you are working with a partner)
    6. Do whatever work you can at home
    7. Not fooling around with my friends
    8. Not getting distracted
    9. Concentrating on what I need to do and finish
    10. Helping each other out

    What was difficult?
    1. Getting the supplies
    2. Choosing something that I am really passionate about
    3. Choosing how we should present during the exhibition

    Questions:
    What are you really passionate about and that you want to help make a difference to?

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      This is excellent advice, Sasha. I really like this quote from your work:

      “you don’t need to feel stressed out or nervous or anything because during the exhibition you will find that there is nothing to worry about if you give and do everything on time”

      • Sasha
        June 10, 2010 at 8:36 am

        Thank you Mr Sam, and it is tru that you shouldn’t feel stressed out because then it will effect the work that you do and so you wont do your best.

        • ~SUJINNA~
          June 10, 2010 at 9:48 am

          Yeah what your saying is very true isn’t it?

          • Karam
            June 10, 2010 at 9:51 am

            But maybe for some people being stressed could help them acheive more.

          • Karam
            June 10, 2010 at 9:57 am

            Its more of being pushed isn’t it? you sometimes work more when you get pushed…stress is no good

          • Sasha
            June 10, 2010 at 9:57 am

            But when you are stressed I think we don’t work as well because we are too paniced and we don’t concentrate.

        • 17Nikki
          June 10, 2010 at 9:55 am

          I agree that when you get tensed or stress out it may affect our work and we may lose focus.

    • Amy
      June 10, 2010 at 9:52 am

      I really agree with you Mr. Sam, I and many others experienced being stressed through the exhibition and it made it difficult to like our work and to appreciate what we have done. So, Sasha I think that your quote is very true and powerful

    • Rosna
      June 10, 2010 at 9:55 am

      Your quote is very powerful and I would like to follow that quote and remember it when I have important work to do in the future.

    • Alex
      July 14, 2010 at 9:55 am

      Thank you Sasha for your comment, it is a really helpful guideline to help me understand this project better. In response to your question, I think I might need a little bit more time to investigate before I choose a topic. I’m really interested in your exhibitions. How did they go? How long did they take?

    • Nat
      July 14, 2010 at 9:58 am

      Sasha,

      Thank you so much for the advice, it’ll really help.
      I really think that i can take in what you said and make it useful in the process.
      What was the hardest thing you did in the process of the exhibition?
      How did you present your project?
      In what way would you recommend my group and i present the project?
      Were there any times where you thought that you could not get the task done and if so how did you get over the feeling?

      thanks,
      Nat

    • July 21, 2010 at 9:24 am

      thank you very much for this list of helpful comments. I will be sure to take notes of every bit of advice and use it when preparing. I really appreciate what you are doing for us and I think its great that we can work together despite being half a world from each other.

      Cheers, Emmitt.

    • Kate
      July 21, 2010 at 9:29 am

      Dear Sasha,
      Thank you for the great advice.
      I really think your advice will help me during the Exhibition.
      Just curious, what were some of the subjects your class worked on?
      Thank you so much,
      Kate.

    • Rebekah
      July 26, 2010 at 11:37 am

      Dear Sasha,
      I think that all of your advice will help me focus when I think back to this point.

  2. Samantha
    June 9, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    When you’re working on your exhibition you should focus on what your doing and work hard. When you are collecting information don’t always go to a computer but look in books or find your information in the real world (out of the school). Things that made my exhibition successful were knowing what I had to say when presenting my work and being confident. The most difficult thing for me in the exhibition was working by myself because I would normally work in a group but it was a good experience and getting my presentation done on time.
    What is your issue for the exhibition going to be? (why) Are you choosing what your passionate about?

  3. Mr. Sam
    June 9, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Thanks for advising people not to rely totally on computers for information, Samantha, it is very important.

    • Johann
      June 10, 2010 at 9:50 am

      I think I relyed to much on computers in the exhibtion 😀

      • Mick
        June 10, 2010 at 12:54 pm

        It depends Johann,
        Your topic is about privacy settings on Facebook which is on computers! You are supposed to use the computer a lot on a topic like that.

  4. Saeri
    June 9, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    I think it is important that you choose the issue that you really care because if you don’t really care you will not want to do the work. It is also important to know your questions and what you are suppose to do.
    I think I got my message across because we had the black bags to tell how much air gets polluted in 3 minutes.
    During the exhibition I sometimes didn’t know what to do and was wasting time. I should have thought more and should have concentrate a little bit more.

    What do you care the most about? Is what you care about could be solved by you?

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 9:00 pm

      I really admire your honesty when you said “during the exhibition I sometimes didn’t know what to do and was wasting time. I should have thought more and should have concentrate a little bit more.” Students at Mt. Scopus, Saeri is talking from experience!

    • Tyler
      July 14, 2010 at 9:44 am

      Dear Saeri,
      Thank you for your advice and I will use your advice well.

      I am going to ask you some questions:

      What was hard about your exhibition?
      What did you find interesting about your question?
      What was your question and did you have interests in it?

    • Kate
      July 21, 2010 at 9:40 am

      Dear Saeri,
      Thank you for the great advice.
      I will use it well.
      Did you work in groups and if you did did somone always lay back and how do you over come the lazy person?
      Thanks again for the great advice,
      Kate 🙂

  5. 17mikit
    June 9, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    It is important that you understand your issue and you know what to do next.
    I think it was easy to understand my presentation because I used a video that I got from Freeland wich was easy to understand.
    It was hard to organize the information that I got from the interview. It was also hard to go and ask people things.

    what do you care about? How can you solve that problem?

  6. Luca
    June 9, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    If you want to succeed you need you need to know what your focus is, you need to be ready and you need to know your questions and resources (where you get your information).
    What made my exhibition successful is knowing what is excpected of you, working hard, focus, a topic you are passionate about and having a good focus.
    what was most difficult was finding the topic and finding specific information (information that you can use and is related to your topic).
    what are you passionate about? Can you make a change happen to your school with this power? Who will be good group mates that don’t muck about(for if you want be in a group)?

    • oscar
      July 14, 2010 at 9:45 am

      Hello Luca. Thank you for your inspiring letter. Okay I have a few things to ask. Firstly, did you find your inquiry/topic challenging? Secondly, what was hard to find? eg: Information and sources. Thirdly, what type of topics did your class choose? Fourthly, what did you dislike about your final product? From Oscar

    • Gabi
      July 14, 2010 at 9:54 am

      Thank you for your wonderful advice. You have been a big help to me. How long did it take to do your exhibition? How did you organize your information? Can you give me some ideas to present?
      Thanks again 🙂

  7. Ping Ping
    June 9, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    One of the most important things in making a great exhibition is energy and passion. Passion could either make you look absolutely bad in your exhibition or it could make your exhibition become a big success by making good presentations with an array of styles but not more than 2. Having at least 2 styles makes your audience interested in your things for show as well as styles that are more audio than visual. I recommend highly the LEGO in showing your ideas and thoughts since LEGO covers nearly all subjects, so getting lots of pieces that you already have, joining them together would create a more interesting piece of presentation to people espeacially boys. I must tell you, boys love LEGO and even older guys like to run to see something made of lego. This is amazing.

    Ping Ping

    • Mick
      June 10, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      I really agree with you on the Lego part Ping Ping, most kids espeacially boys are really attracted to Lego. But some people don’t have a lot of lego pieces and many people aren’t really good at lego. But I have to say if you make something out of Lego and if it is cool as yours they will succeed.

    • Ally
      July 14, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Ping Ping,
      Thank you for your advice, hopefully it will help me with my project. I am lookign forward to be doing this unit and to embrace all the qualities in working with a group. I hope that I can be helpful and give good advice to others be the end of the unit just like you have done to help me. I will try to remember all your advice throughout the unit so the end product will be great because of all the little things I have done to support it. You have inspired me to use my energy and passion in the project.

      Ally

  8. Karam
    June 9, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    I think that one of the things that you really need to get right is choosing the correct topic. Don’t just choose something that your friends doing. This is about you not your friends or anything like that. YOu must have the energy and the passion for this because you will probably have to continue with it after the exhbition. And for the presentation choose something that really suits you.
    For example me and Ping Ping teamed up because I was good at talking and narrating and Ping Ping is good at making videos and mechanical stuff like that. So basically made a video about renewable energy which was our topic and then for an extra we made a lego model. The lego model attracted many people but so did the video. What I am trying to say is do presentation style that really suits you.
    Things for you to consider at the begining of the exhibition:
    Choosing a topic that you will really like and actually feel for.
    What presentation style really suits you.

    Good luck at the Exhibition.

    • Lachie
      July 14, 2010 at 9:47 am

      Dear Karam,
      Thanks for the advice. I really like how in Ping Ping and your Exhibition you used 2 presenting styles. Did you find any problems along the way?
      Thanks from Lachie

    • Daniella
      July 14, 2010 at 9:53 am

      Thank you for the advice you gave in your blog.I now know to carefully choose my topic. I liked how you did a lego model as well as a video,it must have been hard work. Did your group have any difficulties or fights? If so how did you resolve them?

    • Daniella
      July 14, 2010 at 9:59 am

      Thank you for the advice you gave in your blog. I now know to carefully choose my topic. I liked how you had both a movie and lego, it must have been hard work doing both.Did your group have any difficulties? If so how did you resolve them?

  9. Arne
    June 9, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    If you want to have a great exhibition use different variety of sources other than technology, of course technology you can find information but there are other ways to find information from. Also explore many ways to present your information. Brainstorm ideas and ask questions that don’t have a yes or no for an answer. Think big and find and issue that makes you angry possibly in your daily life. There are lots of ways to present your information and your ideas. Also if you present your information well to your audience they start taking action on what you want them to do in the future to care for our earth. Sometimes you might no understand your information yet, until you understand it you won’t be nervous or scared because it would just be like a train going past in a very fast speed.

    • Mick
      June 10, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      I really like the part when you are talking about asking a question that don’t have yes or no as an answer. Question with a yes or no as an answer are closed questions. The other type is open questions. Open questions are really important because you can start a big research project just from an open question.

    • Tammy
      July 14, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      Arne,
      Thank you for your advice. it has really helped me out. I now know what kind of issue i should choose to focus on. I do have some questions for you, though.
      How did you come up with an idea for a question/topic/issue? what was your topic? how did you present it? did you or your group experience any problems/arguments along the way? if so, how were they solved?

  10. Nikki
    June 9, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    At the very start of the exhibition we had to choose what our passion was, and what was our main interest towards this project. For example Rosna and I chose to do about “plastic bags” because nowadays we humans don’t really use them wisely and we’re trying to put a stop to it and now we are focusing to encourage people to use cloth bags more. We have to do a lot of research in order to be mentally prepared.

    Where to get interesting facts/information?
    There are many different ways to collect your information for example:

    Computer, Books that is related to your issue, Interview, collecting data, contacting companies that are related to your issue.

    What made my exhibition successful?
    1.I focus on my work at all time.
    2.I don’t waste my time.
    3.Rosna and I split up our work so at least we both got something to work on.
    4.We don’t always rely on the computer.
    5.Communicating well together.

    Presentation Style:
    When you’re going to present your work you can present it in many ways such as an art piece of work, prezi, Info graphic and many more. You want your work to be simple, easy to understand, get to the point easily, get the message across easily and eye catching.

    What was challenging?
    The most challenging thing about this exhibition was when we combined our research and product to assemble it wisely to be presented.

    At last we all manage to follow the process of the exhibition and it was successfully done! Good luck with your exhibition too! 

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 8:56 pm

      This is a very important sentence about presentation:

      “You want your work to be simple, easy to understand, get to the point easily, get the message across easily and eye catching.”

    • Rosna
      June 10, 2010 at 8:42 am

      I really like the way you involved each step of the process and gave advice about it. I also really think the way you talked about your exhibition really made it easier to understand what to do.

      • ~SUJ!NNA~
        June 10, 2010 at 9:58 am

        Yeah same here I like the way you explain the steps of the process

        • Karam
          June 10, 2010 at 3:27 pm

          Sujjina?

  11. Rosna
    June 9, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    At the start of the exhibition process you have to choose a passion to do about, you should choose something that you will do your best on and which affects you as a person living. Also you should just try your best and use research skills to help with all the information to collect. You shouldn’t only use internet to figure out what you need to learn. You should probably organize your time to do all the things you need to, to have a successful exhibition that will be with you along your life. What made my exhibition successful was how I managed my time, and the things I did that was my passion. I put lots of effort into my work to make things stand out and to educate others about why I chose this topic. My topic was on Plastic bags and how they are polluting our country. It affects me because I use it all the time in a daily cycle. The most difficult thing that happened was finding information, sometimes it’s not always on technology or books, so you might have to interview experts or find out in other ways which are affective. Also our main decisions should be at the end are how to present in a way that people will understand and make themselves rethink.
    Questions: What do you really care about that you do/use in your life? Why are you choosing it?
    Have different ideas and see which ones best suite you, and ask yourselves questions which ask what you are doing at that moment to keep yourself on track at all times.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 8:54 pm

      Solid advice, Rosna. The last sentence is very important: “ask yourselves questions which ask what you are doing at that moment to keep yourself on track at all times.”

      • Rosna
        June 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

        Thank you. It was really hard for me because I didn’t ask myself questions to keep me on track so I had difficulities at times, thats why this advice should be given to them so they don’t experience lots of difficulties.

    • gilad
      July 14, 2010 at 9:53 am

      To Rosna,
      Thank you for giving me advice about the exhibition unit and for writing this blog.
      i Have few more questions:
      1.How was it to work in group?
      2.What do you find the most intresting thing in this unit?
      3.Do you like this unit?

      Gilad

      • Rosna
        July 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm

        Hi,
        Your welcome. I would love to answer your questions. It was good to work in a group/pair because you had many different ideas and when you combind them, the ideas become powerful. The most interesting thing was researching. For researching you have to use your time well to get good answers. You should use a lot of different ways to collect that information for example, calling people related to your subject, emailing, having meetings, so on. I really did enjoy this unit. I learned more than I did before. I got deeper into what Im most interested in and learned more about what other people where doing. I also enjoyed going out side and taking action to make a difference.

    • Jordan Ber
      July 14, 2010 at 4:22 pm

      To Rosna,
      I will use your advice’make yours on something your passionate about and manage your time well.’

      to answer your questions:

      i am going to make mine about wasting electricity. i am choosing this because i think this is a serious probolem.

      • Rosna
        July 14, 2010 at 8:43 pm

        Thank you for reading what I have written. You have setten your mind to do about electricity but you should think of a few questions to ask yourself why you are choosing this. Does it effect you/your life?

  12. Ranvir
    June 9, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Some advice well,

    1. focusing and concentrating will really help you do stuff well

    2. Commitment is the main thing about the exhibition. If you arent commited, you’ll fail and get a bad grade

    3. Confidence-If presenting on stage, confidence and a loud voice without a mike will make the audience understand and notice things.

    4. Choose a topic you feel you need to stop will give you the energy, feeling and passion to strive and achieve success like all of us did.

    5. Think before you do something and always take a teacher/adults advice before finalising something.

    6. Focus on the big picture and expand your understanding about the topic.

    7. Create a script so you dont get mixed up and match every slide with the oral.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      Good advice, Ranvir. I’m not sure about number two, you don’t really “fail and get a bad grade” in the exhibition do you? What happens, in reality, is that your hard work pays off on the day(s) of the exhibition. Of course, if you haven’t worked hard it will be very obvious to the audience.

      • Ranvir
        June 10, 2010 at 9:44 am

        That is exactly what I mean. You will stand out if your work is done terribly.

    • Damon
      July 14, 2010 at 9:47 am

      Hi Ranvir,
      Thanks for the advice. I’m sure I’ll use it!
      Was the exhibision project time comsuming?
      Did you have any problems during the process?
      If you could do it again what would you change?

  13. ~SUJINNA~
    June 9, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    So I think that if you want to be successful with your exhibition then I think that you should choose a topic that you are very interested in or something that you feel that it is very important because you will be working on it very hard. The next advice would be that you will need to be organized with your time and your work since if you don’t do things on time then it wouldn’t be successful as it should be.

    What made my exhibition successful was that…
    – I chose the topic that I was very interested
    – My partner and I did our share of the work
    – We try to do things on time and as well as possible
    – Giving in 100% on everything/piece of work you do
    – Focusing on what needs to be done first and get it done
    – We don’t always have to use the computer
    – If we get mad at each other we would just go “Hey you know we are doing the work together so lets forget about other things that are not related to this”
    – We don’t waste time
    – We do extra work so that we don’t struggle with it the next day

    Talking about presentation styles, I think you should present your findings in a way that you feel comfortable with because you would always want your work to be the best so I think that it is better to present in a way you like. I chose a painting because I like art and I feel comfortable with art.

    The challenging bits … the challenging bits were
    – To get the materials we need
    – Asking right questions and researching completely

    So What do you think you are most passionate about?
    How will you present your findings?

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 8:48 pm

      Excellent advice from an extremely organized person. Students at Mt. Scopus, write down what Sujinna says – she really knows what she’s talking about!!!

      • ~SUJINNA~
        June 10, 2010 at 9:46 am

        But I’m just telling the truth isn’t it right? 😀

  14. Mick
    June 9, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    The most important thing for me is to choose an issue you are most passionate about. This issue must affect you and your community. The issue must also be something you really care about. You need to be really commited to do it. Another thing that is really important is think differently. Thinking differently makes you stand out from other people. Used ideas people don’t use. Don’t just make posters and powerpoints. Also try to make your work professional. When I did my posters Mr.Sam took them to a printing company and made a professional poster. Other people who did photographs put frames on it to make it look professional. Also don’t do things like raising money unless you absolutely need to. Many issues don’t really need money to solve it. Also do your best. Work 120% than normal. Some people didn’t even go to eat lunch and continued to present non-stop all day. My success is my way of presentation because I did a way of presentation that hardly anyone did. I called in a company to show my audience an eco-friendly product. My challenge is thinking of a way of presentation a preparing for it because my way of presentation is really hard to organized.
    Questions for you to think about:
    What do you really care about?
    What makes you angry?
    What problems does your community face?
    What can you do to help?

    Another advice:
    Everytime you do something ask yourself why?.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      Yes, you’re right… “think differently” is excellent advice. I also like the way you have reminded teachers and students to try and create professional-looking products, to invest the time and effort into presenting in a way that looks professional. Your last piece of advice is very powerful:

      “Everytime you do something ask yourself why?”

      • Mick
        June 10, 2010 at 8:50 am

        My last piece of advice is really important because we really need to ask ourselves why. Why did I choose this issue? Why did I use this tool for research? Why am I presenting this way? etc…

        • ~SUJ!NNA~
          June 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

          yes yes yes WHY? WHY? WHY?

      • Max
        July 19, 2010 at 11:23 am

        But what if the person who is writing it doesn’t think about it and it ism still right?

    • Dean
      July 14, 2010 at 9:51 am

      Dear Mick,
      Thank you for your letter, I appreciate you writing to help me when I do my exhibition. I just wanted to know if there was anything you did notdo so well or think you might want to redo? Did you spend your time well or not finish everything you wanted to finish
      From Dean

    • July 21, 2010 at 9:42 am

      this is all great advice. Thank you so much mick for your time. I reckon asking yourself why is good advice, and I have pretty much done that for everything :)I will definitely be looking for an original representation, and will look for a company that could publish it or sponsor me. this whole blog has been great info and for this i thank you.

      Cheers, Emmitt

  15. Amy
    June 9, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    For the exhibition I chose to research about Female rights and to present my work I wrote poems and I have also created a dance to go with them. To read my poems scroll down on our class blog and find a posting that’s called “4 Generations of change”. I think that the best advice that I could share with you guys would be to pick an issue that really bothers you and affects your daily lives. I also think that a good way to present your work would be to do something you enjoy or have a passion for because you’ll feel more comfortable and more confident, like me for instance I love writing poems and love dancing and how did I present my work I used both of my passions and it turned out to be a great success.
    I think that my greatest success is that I loved the way I was presenting my work because it gave me freedom to present my work and a way to show my passions. I also think that the greatest success for me was I had my parents and friends support.
    I think that the most difficult point in the exhibition was in the beginning were we had to find an issue that bothered us and affected us. I also think that staying calm is the best thing to do at a time like this. During my research process I mostly went out interviewing people and I managed to get about 200 people and I also sent a survey out to the school and I only managed to get 50 people actually voting so you can see the difference.

    What issue do you want to research about?
    How are you planning to present your work?

    More Advice:
    Work calmly and dont rush you work.
    Use many ways to collect information.
    Take all oppotunities you get to creating a successful exhibition.

    I hope you all the best and a great PYP exhibition.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 9, 2010 at 8:42 pm

      This is great advice, Amy. I really like the way you suggested that people think about their passions when trying to decide how to present their work.

      • Amy
        June 10, 2010 at 9:49 am

        Thank you Mr. Sam,
        Its true that picking and deciding what issue you would like to research about and how you want to present your work because its the hardest thing you will do and the most important things to do.

      • ~SUJINNA~
        June 10, 2010 at 9:50 am

        Same here very good, now they’ll know more about

      • ~SUJINNA~
        June 10, 2010 at 9:50 am

        Same here very good, now they’ll know more about it

    • Chloe
      July 14, 2010 at 9:43 am

      Hi Amy,
      Thank you for your comment. It’s good to hear that your exhibition went well. I’m sure your advice will help me I especially like the “be calm and dont rush”. I defineitely will try find an issue that bothers me and affects my daily life.
      Thank you for your comment.
      Chloe

      • Amy
        July 21, 2010 at 12:27 pm

        I’m glad my blog post helped you, I hope to find out what your issue is really soon.

  16. Nathan
    June 9, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Remember you have to be relaxed but not too relaxed and just keep it cool. And also there is nothing to fear be scared of or anything like that. What made my PYP exhibition successful was first you had to be really organised. Then you had to work to your maximum limit if you want to have a great effect of your exhibiton. The only hard part when working, for some people may be choosing your issue and maybe if you have to get a supply that may be hard too. What are you passionate about? What Might You Do About It?
    Good Luck!

    Nathan:)

    • Ness
      June 10, 2010 at 9:52 am

      I agree with you on everything and what you do affects your overall exhibition performance. If you work to the maximum limit it will be a good affect. If you didn’t work that much the overall exhibition won’t be that good.

    • Ness
      June 10, 2010 at 9:55 am

      I agree with you on everything and what you do affects your peformance in the exhibition. If you do it to the maximum limit your exhibition will be awesome and good. If you work,research and try not so hard your exhibition work won’t be that good.

    • tali
      July 14, 2010 at 9:51 am

      Thank you very much for your advice. I will definitely take all of your advice in hand and do it. These are some of the things I will do:
      I will be very organised.
      I will be on task and do my part for the group.
      I will defiantly try to cope with the pressure.
      I will try and do as much at home.

    • Bryce
      July 14, 2010 at 9:56 am

      Dear Nathan,
      thank you for the advice you gave me, I appreciate that you guys are helping give us advice for our exhibition. Hope it will help me lots, thank you.
      Bryce 🙂

  17. Ness
    June 9, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    The best adivce I would give you is
    1. Find a issue that you feel strong and passionate about. And remember that you will be researching the issue many weeks.
    2.Don’t sleep late. If you sleep late (not around your usuall time), you likely will be or feel sick, headache, bored and all the things that you don’t want to feel.
    3.Never Give Up. You can say it all the time and for me it makes me feel better when I’m stuck 🙂

    My exhibition was sucessfull because I usually did the things that I listed on some advice. And if I did somethings wrong, I learn from it and improve next time. I also think creativity helped me alot finding a way to present and research. The most difficult time was finding a issue, making my infographic and sleeping early and being strong all the time. Never depend on the computer and internet all the time because something can go wrong. What will you do if this happens? Which issue do you feel condident and strong about? How will you present your work to make it look intresting and have all the information you need? Remember use all the information and techniques you have learned before to use that is revelant to you some how and use it for the exhibition 🙂

    • ~SUJ!NNA~
      June 10, 2010 at 9:53 am

      YES! Shoosing the topic is the most important

    • Ash
      July 14, 2010 at 9:52 am

      Thank you very much for your advice. I think that it will be very helpful and I will use it during my progress in our class exhibition. I will make sure that I dont sleep too late. 🙂 Do you think that I should rely more on computers or books? Did you have any special ways for organising all of your work? Did you have any really big challenges? How long did it take to organise your whole exhibition? I hope that you post back again. Thanks again for your advice.
      From Ashleigh

      • Ness
        July 18, 2010 at 1:58 pm

        no problem 🙂 I think you should rely more on books but you can also use the computer but there can be many problems that take time so maybe you books and computers but rely more on books because I don’t think it has more problems with the computer 🙂 When I organized my work it was kinda messy but Sujinna organized her work very well. You should use your folder and make marks or contents to show where your work is in your book. I also used a few baskets, one to keep my books and another to keep my folder and work. At the end of the day, organize your folder.

        The biggest problem was I was bored of thinking of new ideas and solutions and it was hard for me to concentrate. So I took a few minute break and keep my mind clear and ask some teachers and friends to help me 🙂
        Remember to plan you time everyday and don’t be stressed so much it will affect you exhibition 🙂

  18. Taku
    June 10, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I will give advice about that you have to have something to prosent for the PYP exhibition. You have to present something you’re passionate about. If your work is bad people will go past your work and not look at it. It will be good if you use your strengths,like music,art and drama.

  19. Ranvir
    June 10, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Correct Taku.

  20. Ranvir
    June 10, 2010 at 9:45 am

    You have atleast six weeks to prepare.

  21. Karam
    June 10, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Yes Taku that’s a really good idea. Use what strengths you have to present your work.

    • Sasha
      June 10, 2010 at 9:52 am

      I agree with Taku and Karam

  22. Taku
    June 10, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Thanks

  23. Nathan
    June 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Don’t waste time wasting time is the last thing you want to be doing.

  24. Sasha
    June 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I agree

  25. Arne
    June 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I think you should choose the issues you are very passionate about other than just choosing an issue without thinking much.

    • Kerryn
      July 14, 2010 at 9:59 am

      Thanks for the useful advice.
      I will use different sources to find information not just one.
      hopefully I will be doing my question on something that I am interested in so it doesnt just feel like a train going past full speed.
      I want my audience to see my presentation and want to carry on and help me take action with the thing i am passionate about.
      thanks for the great advice 🙂

  26. Nathan
    June 10, 2010 at 9:55 am

    You should not waste time

  27. Nathan
    June 10, 2010 at 9:56 am

    We must be very focused and organised in our work to achieve our exhibition.

  28. 17samanthad
    June 10, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Yeah I agree that you should use your strengths to present your work.

  29. Karam
    June 10, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Sometimes I had a bit of difficulty figuring out what I should do to present for the exhibtion and hpw I should present so me and Ping Ping joined. So we used our strengts to our advantage. Ping Ping was good at mechanical and computer skills and I was good at talking so we made a video.

  30. June 10, 2010 at 10:00 am

    my adivice are you should get a clear idea what are you focusing on .
    and you should be really organized.
    if we want to be succesfu in pyp exhibition you have to get real imformation
    you have to interview out side of the school.
    used the imformation that you found out.
    helping each other and not fighting.
    arranging things quickly then used to be
    and putting effort in you work
    The most difficalt thing was for me was thninking the ways that i can focuse on this topic and choosig the ways to present.

  31. Layla Sacker
    June 10, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Hi you fabulous student advice givers,
    I am the PYP coordinator at Mount Scopus Memorial College and have been following your exhibition journey on the blog and Sam’s blog for a while.
    I learn something every time I read it!!!!
    You might be wondering why no-one has replied yet…so I thought I would just let you know all of our students are in the middle of the school musical and tonight is opening night.
    I have not seen a student in class at our school the whole week.
    so – next week we are all back in class and after the makeup and sets are taken down we are back to work.
    Actually only for shortish time as we are nearing our holiday time in 10 days
    So… next week we will be all reading your replies and ideas and I have to say I just loved reading each one.
    The pictures are so useful too as I was wondering how you could possibly use lego in the exhibition and then my question was answered. You are all so honest and share with such generosity.
    I cant thank you enough…
    I guess I have learned more from you all about the exhibition than from any teacher I know.
    Mrs Sacker

  32. June 10, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Hi Year 6’s

    I’m a teacher at Mount Scopus in Australia too and have loved reading about your exhibition. I was hoping you’d be able to Skype with our Year 6’s. What a shame that didn’t work out. Thanks so much for sharing your exhibition advice so willingly. Wow! School’s over for you for the year. Have a wonderful holiday and thanks again for sharing your whole journey with us. I hope our teachers and students all learn as much from you as I have.

    Edna

  33. charlie
    July 12, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Hi Sam’s Y6s.
    I’m a Year Six teacher at MSMC and we’re back from our Winter holidays. Tomorrow, my class is going to begin their exciting exhibition journey and one of the first things, after explaining the Exhibition process, is to read your blog and respond to some of your wonderful advice. Thanks so much for your support. I’m not sure, but I think you may be on Summer Holiday now- so you might not be able to respond to us but I know you will really help our students focus, be passionate about their chosen issue and be organised.

    Hope you are having a wonderful summer holiday. Charlie

  34. gil
    July 14, 2010 at 9:51 am

    hey ness, thanks for the advice. it’s really gonna help me. though one thing… ive never really been passionate about the whole stop poverty thing (dont judge me by that), so if people can reply to me with some ideas id be really gratefull.

    • gil
      July 14, 2010 at 9:53 am

      ideas on what to do my E about

      • Ness
        July 18, 2010 at 2:06 pm

        np 🙂 I think you can do 2 things
        1.Find another issue that you feel passionate about maybe by asking your friends, family, teachers and people you know about what they feel passionate about or let them help you think.
        2. If you really don’t want to change the subject/issue, continue with it and dig deeper into the issue. OR tell yourself and never give up 🙂
        and remember to use your time wisely 🙂

  35. Kerryn
    July 14, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Thanks for the useful advice Arne.
    I will use all different sources to find information not just rely on one.
    Hopefully I will be doing my question on something that I am interested in so it doesnt feel like a train going past full speed.
    i want my audience to see my presentation and want to carry on and help me take action with the thing i am passionate about.

    thanks for the great advice 🙂

  36. Tayla
    July 14, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Dear Samantha,
    thank you for your advice it should help me.
    I think my issue might be getting distracted by my friends.
    I’m going to choose something that i’m passionate about because i’ll be more interested, focused and curious.
    from Tayla

  37. Eli Musc
    July 21, 2010 at 9:51 am

    That was great advice Sasha!! I am really looking forward to doing the exhibition because you can inquire any topic you can about social inquities. Since I love art and maths, architecture would be a great topic for me. I can invent an easy to make house. That would be very efficiant for people who need shelter. I can design how the energy system woorks, the design of the house, what resources are needed to make the house and how to build it. This would be a great success if it works and it would be very usefull for homeless people. If it works it would really show how a kid with a vision trying to help homeless people can really change peoples lives. My opinion is that it is unfair that people who work hard and try hard to survive to get money hardley get an income even though people know that in that country they are low in resources. I hope the world would change in the future and I hope the world can all be equall. I hope everyone would treat everyone in the same way because no one is more important than anyone else. People have a greater influence but no one is more important than anyone else and everyone has the same value.
    I hope this exhibitioon would be a great expirience for me and I hope it will be a fun information packed inquiry.
    I am really looking forward to it!!
    Eli Musc

    • Mr. Sam
      July 29, 2010 at 10:09 am

      This sounds like a really interesting idea – there is so much space in Australia it is strange that some people don’t have homes. I think a big problem is that most land is privately owned and only land in bad/industrial or wasteland areas is available for low-cost housing.

      If you can create or research about some interesting ways to build homes cheaply, and to purchase good land, then maybe you could help to change that problem. Here in Thailand, people have recently been creating houses out of shipping containers. This seems to be a pretty cool way to reuse the containers as the basic structure of low-cost, sustainable homes.

      Here’s some links:

      http://designcrave.com/2009-06-22/10-brilliant-boxy-and-sustainable-shipping-container-homes/

      http://www.containercity.com/

  38. Josh
    July 26, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Thanks for that info now I want be as stressed

  39. Noah
    July 26, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I think that is really good advice Sasha. I think it will really help me during the exhibition. I think the exhibition will be really fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

