Home > Who we are > Changing Bodies: A Research Project by 6SS

Changing Bodies: A Research Project by 6SS

Microsoft Research by Robert Scoble.

During this unit so far, I have been incredibly impressed by:

  • your existing knowledge about the human body and the changes it goes through.
  • your mature attitude  and willingness to talk about “embarassing stuff”!
  • how different you all are and how you are all interested in different things.

I’m going to set you a research project this week called “Changing Bodies: A Research Project by 6SS”. This research project is not about you and your bodies, it is about human beings in general and it is about the facts. So, here’s the instructions:

  1. Think about the conversations we have had so far.
  2. Read through the Blog posting from yesterday and add more comments and replies.
  3. Think carefully about one thing that you would like to know more about. Make sure it is relevant and appropriate to your age.
  4. Write yourself a “research question” that will guide your inquiry.
  5. Discuss your research question with a parent or an older brother/sister. Do they think it is relevant and appropriate to your age? Do they think it is a good question?
  6. Make a comment on this posting to tell us what your research question is and why you have chosen it.
Categories: Who we are
  1. Taku
    May 18, 2010 at 8:25 am

    My research question is about wet dreams because I do not now a lot about it at all.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:08 am

      OK, Taku. Have you written a question to help you with your inquiry?

  2. Karam
    May 18, 2010 at 8:28 am

    How hormones are caused and how to deal with them. I chose this as my guidline question because I am very interested about what types of hormones there are.

    • Arne
      May 18, 2010 at 8:56 am

      Same as Karam’s question. I want to find more about the different types of Hormones that helps your body grow and change into a man.

      • Arne
        May 18, 2010 at 9:03 am

        and how we deal with them.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:10 am

      Hormones are very interesting… what produces them? Is that what you mean by “how hormones are caused?”

      • Arne
        May 18, 2010 at 10:59 am

        For me yes.

        • Mr. Sam
          May 18, 2010 at 11:01 am

          OK, I get it now. I think it’s a good topic.

      • Karam
        May 19, 2010 at 9:52 am

        Yes that is the same for me as well.

  3. Mick
    May 18, 2010 at 8:30 am

    How our face apperance changes and how to deal with them. I choose this because face is the first thing we normally look at when looking at people. The changes in our face are things like beards, acnes and moustache.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:12 am

      This is an interesting topic. It’d be interesting to create a sort of visual timeline showing how faces change and what causes those changes.

  4. May 18, 2010 at 8:37 am

    My question is similar to Karam what is hormones what do they do and how to deal with them. I choose this question because I am interested in what they do and what types of hormones there are.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:13 am

      Yes, hormones are interesting.

  5. Sasha and Rosna
    May 18, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Rosna and I are doing a research on how hight is connected to mensuration for example how much does an average girl grow after or before mensuration.
    Our guide question: How much does an average girl grow after or before mensuration?
    Rosna and I chose to do this because it’s important to us to grow tall and how there are connections and different relations with growing taller than boys.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:15 am

      “menstruation”

      Are you saying that girls grow every time they menstruate, every month? Or do you mean that girls grow a lot before or after they start menstrauting for the first time?

  6. Luca
    May 18, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Mine is all about the changes during puberty (the changes like growing taller, getting muscles and geting hair and stinky sweat). I chose this because this change happens to everyone. Also because change is very important. My focus is mostly the boys during puberty because I am a boy and then I will know what to do for the future.

    • Luca
      May 18, 2010 at 8:44 am

      And my question “what is the the cause of this change and why does it happen at this specific time?”

      • Mr. Sam
        May 18, 2010 at 9:17 am

        This is a good question to guide your research.

  7. Ranvir
    May 18, 2010 at 8:40 am

    3. Adam Apple

    4. How does the change in bodies affect us.

    5. Yes Good Question-Mom

    6. I chose this because it looks interesting and the question really interacts with the unit. Its basic.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:18 am

      You’re right, it’s so basic that it isn’t going to be helpful. What change in bodies are you asking about? You need to be specific.

      • Ranvir
        May 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm

        Full

  8. SUJINNA :D
    May 18, 2010 at 8:41 am

    How our height changes as we grow and what food is best for making you taller because height is now a very big deal with people. People want to be tall so then they have to do somekind of “surgery” to get their legs longer which is very risky

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:22 am

      Are you sure that surgeryis possible?

      Your research topic is interesting, perhaps you could put together a “recipes for growth” booklet for Y6 and Y7 students?

      • SUJINNA :D
        May 18, 2010 at 11:10 am

        it is possible for surgeries because one of my cousins wanted to grow taller so then she did a surgery and made her bone longer so then her legs are longer

        • Mr. Sam
          May 18, 2010 at 11:17 am

          Are you really, really sure?

          • SUJINNA :D
            May 19, 2010 at 3:30 pm

            ok maybe not

  9. Samantha
    May 18, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I couldn’t choose between how puberty effects girls in their daily lives and what types of foods are good for us and bad for us as we grow up. I couldn’t choose betwen these two because for the first one it is important to know what effects us and what doesn’t and for the second one we need to know what is healthy for us to eat and what we shouldn’t eat.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:24 am

      Maybe your focus should be on the first question. Then you could have a section about how eating the right foods can help girls deal with the daily effects of puberty.

  10. Nathan
    May 18, 2010 at 8:58 am

    My research questions is what is hormones and how to cope with what may happen. I choose this question because I would like to find out more about hormones what happens to them how many different types EG: is there a hieght hormone, blood hormone, hair hormone, emotion hormone etc.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Yes, that is very interesting. Are there different specific hormones for each thing that happens to us?

      • Nathan
        May 19, 2010 at 9:40 am

        Yes like that but I don’t know if there are different hormones. There might be 1 hormone that changes everytime you do something different.

  11. Saeri and Miki
    May 18, 2010 at 8:59 am

    We where talking together what we most don’t know about and we both didn’t know why our hair change as we grow older.
    Question:
    Why does our hair change?
    Is our hair all different because we all eat different things?
    Does changing our hair help anything?

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:27 am

      How does hair change?

  12. Amy
    May 18, 2010 at 9:04 am

    What mental changes we go through and when. I chose this question because I know quite a lot about the phisical changes we go through and now I would like to learn about the mental changes we go through.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:28 am

      Yes, the mental side of things is very interesting and probably effects people a lot more than we think or know. Teenagers definitely behave very differently, why do you think that is?

      • Amy
        May 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

        I talked to my sister and she says that teenagers act different because thats when there hormones start acting.

        • Mr. Sam
          May 18, 2010 at 11:07 am

          So, how do hormones affect the way we think? That’s a great research question.

  13. 17nikkis
    May 18, 2010 at 9:25 am

    My research is about feelings. I chose this topic because it is interesting to know what, when and how does feeling occur and it does relate to the changing of our bodies.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 18, 2010 at 9:29 am

      What do you mean by “when and how does feeling occur?”

  14. May 18, 2010 at 9:41 am

    my resurch is about phiscal changes that we have goning thorw I chose this topic because in genral in this kind of age we have lot’s of changes getting taller heavier geting mussles and stuff so it will also happen so Iwould like to work on phsicalchanges that we have

  15. Ness
    May 18, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Why many girls these days gets periods faster. I chose this question because I want to know why some of my friends and some family members get it at a younger age than before.

  16. Ping Ping
    May 18, 2010 at 9:57 am

    My question is:

    “What makes our bodies grow and how does it work?”

    What I mean is the fluid or substance or something that makes our body grow and also I would like to know about the mechanics in them also to have a better understanding about how sleep could help you grow. Or even how sports like basketball could help you grow as well. I chose this topic because as you all know, I am quite short, so I have decided to inquire and learn about what I could improve in growing independently.

    Ping Ping

  17. alfie
    May 18, 2010 at 10:18 am

    My question is Why do some people grow quicker than others?

    I chose this question because I am small for my age and it worries me, if I can find out more about this change mabye I won’t be so worried.

  18. wkirkwood
    May 18, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Gosh guys they are some really good questions – some of them I am not sure if I have an answer for you. I will be interested to see what you find out about your topics.

    Like always I enjoy following and joining in your discussions,

    Mr Will

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

