Three Days to Go – Advice

Advice by laughlin.

Johann and Arne: Pick out the most important facts about why privacy settings are important for us all. Decide how you will tell your audience these facts quickly and persuasively. Practice doing people’s Facebook privacy settings so you know what you’re doing on Monday. Design your “office” so it looks cool and professional. Remind me to give you the email address of that boy in Milan.

Alfie: Work very hard to get the information you need to empower people to give up smoking. What support is available to people here in Thailand. Did you speak to Dr. Donna? Are there any websites that can help people? What books are available at Asia Books or Kinokuniya? Have you spoken to any of the Well-Being Compass Guides? Have you spoken to Ms. Ashley or the other Counselors?

Luca: Keep working on your presentation. Remember – less text on each slide, use images. Look at Mr. Will’s “Presentation Zen” books that we have in the classroom. Have you spoken to Ms. Julia about the work she is doing on cyber-bullying? Get your classmates’ feedback about your presentation. Get real data about people’s experiences with cyber-bullying at NIST.

Ranvir: Follow ALL of Mr. Will’s advice. Get REAL data about people’s experiences of racism at NIST. Then, empower people by telling them positive ways to interact with each other. Make people feel excited about being at an international school, make them feel lucky to have this opportunity. Use the “open-minded” part of the Learner Profile. Use the Presentation Zen books Mr. Will has loaned us to make your PowerPoint better.

Rosna and Nikki: Keep thinking of ways to get people to know your facts. Work hard to develop your “attention-seeking” thing at the front of the school. Remember the One Million Bones idea, try and do something as amazing as that. Make those phone calls to the supermarkets and malls of this part of Bangkok so that people will leave NIST on Monday knowing how to shop and where to shop without plastic.

DoYeon and Miki: Get working on those posters, they need to be finished by lunch time tomorrow. Then, focus on getting your information about how the NIST community can be part of the solution and make decisions about how you will tell us.

Nathan and Saeri: Finish your poster designs and select the best ones, convert them to PDF files and email them to me. Then, focus on the idea Mr. Daniel discussed with you and also on how you are going to empower the NIST community to cut down on air pollution caused by traffic.

Sasha and Sujinna: Set up your workspace so you can work neatly and cleanly. Keep your paints separate and clean. Get your “pure” section looking nice and then blend in the dirtiness and rubbish. Look at some pictures of polluted water to see what it looks like. Keep working on it until you’re happy with the effect. Follow all the advice Ms. Caroline gives you. Bring in some people who have never seen your painting and ask them if they can tell you what it shows them.

Taku: Remind me to print out your background pictures. Do a rough sketch of your story for the first comic strip in your notebook. Get the opinion of a few of your classmates before you start your real drawings. Draw your Greenbot and Mr. Idontknow characters for your first comic strip and write their speech bubbles. Practice putting them on the backgrounds until you’re happy with their position, then stick them on.

Rimjhim: Get your facts, work on your PowerPoint and contact the supermarkets asap. You know what you have to do.

Samantha: You really need to spend some time with me in the morning so we can work together for at least an hour. You also need to see if any of the Nature Compass Guides can help you out with your inquiries, you can try Mr. Andy or Mr. Darren too… it’s getting urgent now.

Ness: Do you need some help with those infographics? Have you got the data you need? Maybe Mr. Will can come up and work with you, try emailing him. If he can’t help, you’re after Samantha on my list!

Cael: Speak to Ms. Siew and organize to go and pick up your photos after 10am. Ask her to go with you, then  go to the framing shop and get them framed just like the examples we have in the classroom – take one of them with you to show the people in the shop. Ask Ms. Siew to go with you so that she can bargain for a good price. Offer to advertise their shop in the exhibition if they will do them really cheap! Before you go, continue thinking of how you can get lots of people to go and see your exhibition. Check your email, call Te.

Ping Ping and Karam: Get that video finished, make sure it is short and to the point and contains no unnecessary stuff. Start designing your shop and think about how you’re going to advertise yourselves and how you will persuade people to think about buying renewable sources of energy.

Mick: Design your shop. Make sure you know the information you will need and can tell people the facts about why growing your own vegetables is better for our health and for the environment. Make sure you can easily refer to the information about where people can buy hydroponic vegetables if they are not ready to grow their own, and the benefits of buying them instead of other vegetables.

Amy: Work on your poem until you’re really happy with it. Get the opinion of some other teachers. Choose some Compass Guides to share it with, particularly the Compass lenses that are really dominant in your issue – I’m sure they would love to work on it with you. Start developing your choreography. Let me know where you would like to perform, I have to let Mr. Chris know tomorrow. You coulod also watch this brand new TED talk about three powerful women who are trying to change our world while also preserving their own cultural traditions:

  1. Sasha and Sujinna
    April 28, 2010 at 7:32 am

    We read the advice that Mr Sam gave us, and firstly we will go and clean up our area so that there is no paint on the floor, then we will go get the plastic back from the staff room. Thank you for the advice.

  2. Nikki & Rosna
    April 28, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Thank you for your advice, first thing today morning we are going to make phone calls to malls and supermarkets to collect info. And later on today or at lunch we will continue working by putting up the 1,800 tons of plastic bags advertisement. 🙂

  3. Arne and Johann
    April 28, 2010 at 7:34 am

    We are going to design our office today and create a banner for the office, and we are going to e-mail the Milanian kid.

  4. Sasha and Sujinna
    April 28, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Thank you for the advice Mr.Sam. I will talk to Ms. Julia, I will reduce the text on each slide and get my classmated opinions and advice about my presentation.

    • Sujinna
      April 28, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      Wait! who is this… I’m quite sure that its not me and sasha!

  5. Cael
    April 28, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Thanks Mr. Sam I was going to get all of that done and I will really work hard on getting in touch with Te and maybe getting someone to come to the exhibition.

  6. Mick
    April 28, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Today I’m going to design my shop and write down what I need and then I’m going to design my posters and give it to Mr.Sam.

  7. Ness
    April 28, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Today, I’m going to email Mr Will when I finish my plan. My plan is nearly done.

  8. Samantha
    April 28, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Thank you for the advice. The first thing that I will do is talk to Mr.Sam (decide presentation) and then I will go and talk to the compass guides.

  9. Nathan & Saeri
    April 28, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Thanks Mr. Sam

    We read the advice you gave to us so we will instantly get started. First we will get the posters done then we will choose some of the best ones. Then we will decide who will do the experiment then we will do it.

  10. Sasha and Sujinna
    April 28, 2010 at 7:38 am

    Today I am planning to finish my poems and to share them with some of the compass teachers, but for my dance I have picked out the songs and I will start dancing hopefully by today afternoon because I need my music to be done before so that I know the beats and the time/ how long my dance will be.

    • Amy
      April 28, 2010 at 8:08 am

      This is Actually mine

    • Sujinna
      April 28, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      Hi Amy, Somehow your thing is in my account but it’s ok just want you to know

  11. Luca
    April 28, 2010 at 7:38 am

    Thank you for the advice Mr.Sam. I will go see Ms.Julia, I will work on reducing my text one each slide and I will get advice from my class mates.

  12. April 28, 2010 at 7:40 am

    thank you very much mr.sam thanks for these wonderful advices but miki and I decide to miki make the poster and me makeing a powerpoint so, I work a lot last night Ishould br finished untill nextday lunch time

  13. Amy
    April 28, 2010 at 7:40 am

    Today I am planning to finish my poem and also to share them with some of the compass guides. I will start my dance today afternoon because I am just waiting for the music to be burnt onto a cd so that I know what the beats are and the timing.

  14. Ranvir
    April 28, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I read the advice and I thought first I will:

    1. Make my powerpoint better as I’ve got to start from scratch and Its stressing me out a little bit

    2. While making the powerpoint better, use the zen book as a helper.

    3. 10:40, gather REAL data.

  15. Alfie
    April 28, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Thanks mr. Sam. I am really trying to work as hard as I can. I’ve called dr. Donna and she didn’t answer so I emailed her. I have lots of sopport like ash Thailand. The website that helps people quit smoking is the website by Paul MCartney.

  16. Ping Ping and Karam
    April 28, 2010 at 7:43 am

    We read the adive that Mr.Sam gave us, we are going to be colouring and drawing the in plain english video. Also we are going to change the introduction and ending in the video. Today we have also decided to make an invitation to the people around the school to advertise our presentation.

    Ping Ping and Karam

  17. Rimjhim
    April 28, 2010 at 7:59 am

    I read the advice you gave me, I have already called Villa, Tops, Foodland. I have also visited them. Only foodland is left. Today first thing I’m going to do is work on my powerpoint. I have the facts I need for Global-Thailand-Solution-Where to Buy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

