Home > Action, Exhibition, How we express ourselves, Sharing the Planet > Homework Part One: The Effect of Your Exhibition

Homework Part One: The Effect of Your Exhibition

When people have seen your exhibition, what do you want them to:

Know?

What information do people need to know? What facts will you need to share? What data will people need to know?

Think?

What do you want people to think? How do you want to change the way they think?

Do?

What do you want people to do? How do you want people to act? How do you want people’s behaviour to change?

  1. Ranvir
    April 21, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Know: With my information, I need to scare people and make them know/realise that racism is unacceptable anywhere and anytime. I need very good information to persuade the audience.

    Think: I need people to think about thier own childhood and what racist acts they did during that time. People also need to think about their child’s behaviour towards this topic.

    Do: I need to let people teach thier children about how bad racism is and the consequences that can happen. That can happen only if my information is mind-blasting and I’ll do my best to convey my message.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 5:35 pm

      Do you think that people also need to know exactly what racism is? Like our conversation yesterday when we talked about how some people act in a way that is racist… but they don’t realize?

  2. April 21, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Know: with the infomations I find out I will need to make people know whats happening in this world and know this is a terrable issue .and realize it sudon’t be happening in this world.

    Think:need to stop doing this stuff and not only thinking of What I shoud do and I shouden’t do. If I see another person doing thins I should remind of tell them stop doing this stuff your are doing now

    DO:people will start to care about endangerd animals .and stop buying,selling,eating endangerd animals and always watch out what your doing and tell people if they are are still doing wrong things tell them to stop.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 5:38 pm

      DoYeon, you need to be more sure about exactly what information you will tell people. You MUST tell people what animals in Thailand are endangered and why they are endangered.

  3. Sasha
    April 21, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Know: With the sculpture I am going to start making I want people to know how much damage they are doing to the Earth and I want them to know the state the Earth is in. After I explained everything I want them to know what they are doing to their only home and to everyone else.

    Think: I want them to think about how much water is left, how much water is being wasted and that water is not unlimited. I also want them to think about how they can reduce their water bill at home and to not only decrease the water bill but to actually think about ways to decrease water usage.

    Do: After they have thought of ways they can reduce water usage, do them, but not just do them because we told them to but do it because it will save their lives. I also want them to take action and try to actually make a difference to the world.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 5:42 pm

      I think you really need to empower people by telling them lots of strategies for saving water and reducing the amount of water they waste.

  4. Ping Ping
    April 21, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    There are many things that I want people to understand and react about in my exhibition. I hope that they will recognize what problems we are causing to the world and how we could solve the problem. The most important question that I need to share and contribute to people is the fact that we are just using electricity from non-renewable sources that are pollutants to the environment. From this, entire people will need to react and become surprised about is the amount of oil that is pumped out of the ground/water each day just to serve our own needs.
    The most important way that I would like people to think about is what we are doing entirely to the environment just to serve our own pleasure and wants. I want people to think especially on what living inhabitants’ habitats are being destroyed just to build our own fossil fuel stations for our electricity every day. I would like to encourage people to think to use renewable sources of energy so that people around them could use renewable, clean energy as a result of someone making a difference.

    The most that I want from people is contributing to using renewable sources of energy such wind and solar energy. I also want people to react to newer renewable energy sources and use it as well like for example, a mini biomass plant for houses or a solar powered toy. People’s behavior of wasting electricity will change since renewable energy doesn’t produce as much electricity. So people are forced to use less and conserve electricity just in case there is a blackout.

    Ping Ping

    • Mr. Sam
      April 22, 2010 at 8:43 am

      “the amount of oil that is pumped out of the ground/water each day just to serve our own needs”

      This is a very important quote. Is it always our own “needs” or is being pumped out of the ground to serve our “wants” too?

      You really must find out what renewable energy sources are available to people here in Bangkok and tell everybody about them, maybe even sell them!

      • Ping Ping
        April 22, 2010 at 8:14 pm

        Hello Mr. Sam,

        I made a mistake in that, it was supposed to mean needs and wants.

        Ping Ping

    • April 24, 2010 at 2:11 pm

      Dear Ping Ping,
      Please have a look at this great website which my Personal Project student used last year. It has a section on ‘needs and wants’.
      http://www.cat.org.uk/education/ed_content.tmpl?sku=ED_50

      What is Sustainable Development – notes for teachers
      Design a Rubbish Unit
      What do you need? – An activity to discuss needs and wants with pupils
      Guide to Educational Resources in Sustainable Development (Microsoft Word Document)
      Contexts for Designing (Microsoft Word Document)
      Building a model of a solar water heater

      Plus lots more to read!
      Have Fun.
      Ms. Dawn

  5. April 21, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    The people who have seen my exhibition, I want them to know the terrifying facts about plastic bags destroying Thailand and where it goes. Basically let them know and make them feel guilty about things that they are doing which are just being done for convenience and un-necessary things. I also want them to know/understand the big picture of this major problem in Thailand. I will need to share facts that have numbers and percentages in them to make them know visually. It is something most people like seeing numbers instead of a whole lot of words. I also want them to know that it’s not too late to fix this problem.

    I want the people to think positively and negatively. For the negatively I said this because they need to think of what they are doing and if they really need to use plastic bags often or even need to ever. And they need to think where plastic bags go and actually mainly see the big picture of it all. For the positively I said this because they need to think that they can make a difference before it’s too late. They can make a difference by not using plastic bags. Simple. But they need to understand, and listen to terrifying facts to make them guilty of what they are doing to their country.

    After seeing my work and making them understand I want them to go away and still thing about what I have just said about plastic bags and actually make a change and step a bit out of their comfort zone to just stop using plastic bags. I also want people to want to help out in this situation and make better lives for the future generation; they just have to know exactly how they are helping to be proud of themselves that they are not using plastic bags.

    • Karam
      April 21, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      But Rosna what terrfying facts??

      • April 21, 2010 at 7:48 pm

        Terrifying facts like where plastic bags go how many are used in a day, in a year and so on because there are a lot of numbers to those questions and it could scare people more. I am trying to make them afraid so they can actually feel like doing something about it.

        • Mr. Sam
          April 22, 2010 at 8:45 am

          And how will you get them to do something about it?

    • April 24, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      Dear Rosna,
      Have you looked at this website? Useful information and suggestions for action.
      http://www.earthresource.org/campaigns/capp/capp-background-info.html
      Ms. Dawn

  6. 17lucam
    April 21, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    What I want people to know:
    Is that cyber-bullying happens on technology like SMS, Faceebook, E-Mail, etc.
    What I also want people to know is that cyber-bullying can have nasty consequences like suicide or other wise people don’t tell their parents so it never stops (otherwise their feeling get hurt very badly. What I also want people to know is what to do about it so that if it does happen then they know what to do about it (you can also tell the police and then their is a small consequence.

    What I want people to think:
    I want people to think is that this can happen to their children so then they might think this can happen to my child I need to set his/her privacy settings or if it says on the website in terms and rules if it says “wait till 14+) then you should follow the rules for their child’s safety.

    What I want them to do:
    Is set privacy settings for their child’s safety, to follow the rules, to help other people deal with cyber-bullying, maybe try to stop it and also maybe to check what you’re child says about her self, like about the author.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      I think you also need to get some exact data about cyber-bullying in the NIST community. How many people have been cyber-bullied? How big is the problem? Do people even know that it is happening?

  7. Taku
    April 21, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    know:I want people to know that if we keep wasting electricity that it will be a really horrible place to live in.

    Think: I want the people to think what there are doing to were they live.

    Do: I want people to convince people to save electricity and think before they act.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 5:56 pm

      You also need people to know how much money that are wasting when they are wasting electricity. Money talks!

    • April 24, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      Dear Taku,
      Do you want to encourage people to push Governments to put more funding into alternative ways to generate electricity or are you more focused on reducing energy consumption? Where in Thailand do you see places using electricity in a less than responsible way? Walking down Sukhumvit will expose you to some ways….Do you think the children or adults in a house waste the most?
      Ms. Dawn

  8. Cael
    April 21, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    I would like people to know is that they have way more nicer lives then the people they see almost everyday. I want them to know that everytime they buy a new phone or ipod theres a ton of beggars out there with only clothes and a bit of money. I want them to know that beggars dont get equal opportunities as we do.

    I want them to thinking about a beggars before they buy something and on the way home they can give the beggars they see some money. I want them to change the way they thing bye when they walk past a beggar they would think about them and give money to them.

    After I’m done with my exhibition hopefully I would of told them about the organization that I’m trying to contact and what there doing to help and they can donate money to the organization or something.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      I really like the way you have explained yourself here: “I would like people to know is that they have way more nicer lives then the people they see almost everyday”. We are very lucky, but we go past very unlucky people every day. And you’re right, we are normally going shopping for things we don’t need.

      Are you really going to tell people to give beggars money?

  9. 17saery
    April 21, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Know:
    I want people to know that we are doing something that kill our self. I want people to know that we are killing their children. It will not stop on its own. It is really happening; I want people to know that. I want people to know that it is not going to be a good future for sure if this continues. And don’t think that just one people won’t make a change while you do something that is bad for nature and us humans because everyone is thinking the same thing.
    Think:
    I want people to think how they live their lives. I want people to
    re; think their lives and if there was something that could be changed I want it to be changed. I want people to think about their children. I want them to think if it is the good place for a new life to be born. I want people to be happy. I want people to be cheerful. But in this world now people will just have new diseases and all the other things that are just not good.
    Do:
    I want people to act. I want people to try and save nature and air as much as possible. I want people to use more bicycles and more eco cars. I want people to not use cars as much as possible.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 6:01 pm

      You will need some real facts about air pollution in the area around NIST then, otherwise people will just not listen to you. You need facts, SCARY FACTS!

  10. 17mikit
    April 21, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Know: Use the fact infomations and make people scare. And also I want people to understand that what happened in this world.

    Think: I want people think “stop hunting endangered animals and stop selling, and buying things that made from animal’s skin or fur.” And take action about it.

    Do: I want people care about endangered animals and watch out and care about the animals that near them.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 6:03 pm

      You are the same as DoYeon, you MUST tell people about the endangered animals in Thailand and what is making them become endangered.

  11. Karam
    April 21, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I want my audience to know how much electricity they waste. What effect it has on global warming. I need them them to know that if we keep on doing what we are doing then our future generations will have a hard time trying to survive. Coal and oil will run out by 2020. They will need to know how renewable energy can help preserve our environment and our future generations. They also need to know the process that is used to drill oil brings about a lot of problems. Sometimes an oil plant has to be set up in the middle of a forest. This destroys animals habitats and forces them to find a new home. People need to know that when coal is being used to create electricity it releases toxic gases such as carbon dioxide and methane. After I show all these facts to people I hope that they will realize how they are wasting our natural resources but I also hope that they realize that they are part of the solution and can help. I hope that my presentation will have a positive impact and encourage them to change the way they think about electricity and renewable energy. I want to influence people to my way of thinking. I want them to start using electricty more wisely and hopefully get them to install a renewable source of energy in their apartment,houses,offices and factories.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      You are trying to tell them a lot of information, Karam. This is also information that a lot of people already know but still have not changed the way they live! how can you make your presentation powerful enough to change people’s minds?

      • Karam
        April 21, 2010 at 6:11 pm

        Once I mention the future generations, I would have been sure to shke them up a bit and probably cause some action.

        • Mr. Sam
          April 22, 2010 at 8:49 am

          You might be right. Make sure people are thinking of their own children and grandchildren.

  12. 17nikkis
    April 21, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    One person can make a difference towards plastic bags, just imagine if we all made one change in how we live, if we start making one changes everything in our life will be more peace full. In our exhibition we want the audience to know that plastic bags are produce in their billions, litter Thailand, pollute the sea and even responsible by destroying wild-life. We want the audience to be aware that what they are doing to Thailand is terrible because it takes years and years to get rid of those plastic bags. After when they see my sculpture I want them to feel ashamed and guilty of themselves by doing these terrible massive mess with plastic bags. I want the audience to know the advantage and disadvantage side of plastic bags in order to get to the whole point and start talking action.

    We are using something that is hazardous for both the environment and us. I want the audience to think more carefully and wisely on how they are using plastic bags. I want them to think more wisely, for example: Am I doing the right thing to the earth? Am I causing the problem to the animal and the environment? In order to let them know that it’s not too late to make a change right now.

    I want the audience to realize and Re-think again that the way they use plastic bags. However, if we have the will, we can start reducing their use in small ways. A tote bag can make a good substitute for holding the shopping. These can come into use for various purposes, like holding your garbage, instead of purchasing new ones. While governments may be working out ways to lessen the impact of plastic bags on the environment, however, each of us should shoulder some of the responsibility for this problem, which eventually harms us.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 22, 2010 at 8:57 am

      You must make sure you understand about biodegradable bags and which supermarkets are using them. Find out how long they take to break down. You could advise people to shop at one supermarket if their bags are better than others.

  13. Nathan
    April 21, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    Know: I want people to know that what they are doing is destroying the earth and themselves and there younger kids. I want them to know that there is a way to fix it and I also want them to know that don’t be lazy and make the right choice.

    Think: I want them to think the right way and make right choices eg. If someone lives on harmony living they have a choice (if they are unaided) to walk, bike or take a car, I want them to make the right choice and reduce the air pollution that they are creating and save FUEL!!! I also want them to think its not too late to turn back or make a change a good change.

    Do: I want them to acually make a differance and make the right choices and good choices to. I want them to realize and re-think. Buy a hybrid car if they are looking at buying a car.

  14. Mick
    April 21, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Know:

    I want people to know about how their food could affect the environment. I want them to know about what food is eco-friendly and what is not. I also want themm to know that the solution is not hard and they can be part of a solution.

    Think:

    I want people to think about growing their food and when buying food I want people to think if its a good or bad choice. I also want people to think about being part of the soultion if they are not.

    Do:

    I want people to buy eco-friendly products and I also want people to buy hydroponics.

  15. Johann
    April 21, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Know: I want people to know that they could be in danger. I want to scare people with terrifying facts like stolen Identity or abduction etc. I want people to know that there is a way of fixing this problem and that there is still hope.

    Think: I want people to think about the social networking sites and saying to there self is my information safe so making them Re:Think.

    Do: I want people to set their privacy settings and teach other people on how to put privacy settings on there facebooks ect

  16. Amy
    April 21, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I think that one of the most important things people should know is what has happened in the past and how it’s being improved. I also think people should know how important it is for women to be getting equal rights and they should also know what women are good for. They should also know how they are acting and if they need to make a change to there lives and the way they live. They need to know how many people in the Nist community think this is an issue and that it has been improving they should also know how to help improve my issue. They also must know how there children feel because if they don’t how will they know if this is a issue for them at home or anywhere else. The most important thing they need to know is what the future will look like if they don’t take action.
    My goal is to create a shift in thinking I want to make people think about if it is a issue for them and I want them to think of other ways to solve this problem. I would really like to see parents thinking about the freedom they give there children and if they believe boys are more disserving. My audiences need to think about helping organizations and passing on my message.
    I want people to become more fare I want them to take action to stand up for there rights because if they feel uncomfortable just because of there gender they need to know how to tell there friends and there family if they keep it in then it will become an even bigger issue to there lives. I want people to help these organizations in Bangkok and I want them to continue to think about my issue.
    I want people to change in good ways and I want them to know there are bumps along the way.

  17. ness
    April 21, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Know: I want my audeince to know the affects when they are using electricity. Like climate change, global warming, air pollution and the future. I’m going to make the 1st part of my infografic about the big picture and the 2nd part about to take the plugs out when not used. Some facts that I’m going to share is how taking the plug out saves money and electricity and how much electricity it takes compared with plugging it in 24/7.

    Think: I want people to think it is not okay to waste electricity by making them feel that they are destroying the experience for the future generations and environment. I think making them feel gulity is the best way because it is how it made me do this exhibition about saving electricity.

    Do: I want people to use electricity wisely with the future in mind. Taking plugs out when not in use.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

