Home > Exhibition, Home, Sharing the Planet > Homework – Society

Homework – Society

Tomorrow, we will spend the day looking at your issues through the lens of “Society”. The Society lens of the Compass is all about:

  • Communities – How important is your issue in your community? Is anybody in your community already taking action on your issue?
  • Schools – How important are schools in your issue? How could they be more important? Are some schools already taking action?
  • Institutions – What institutions exist that are relevant to your issue?
  • Cultural traditions – What cultural traditions could be important in your issue? What cultural traditions make the situation worse? Could cultural traditions help improve your issue?
  • Arts – How are the arts connected to your issue? Are there any art exhibitions, plays, movies or songs that are relevant to your issue? How are the arts used to make people “rethink”?
  • Organizations – Are there any organizations that are working on your issue?
  • Law – Are there any laws that are connected to your issue? Are there any laws that could help solve your issue? Are there any laws that are actually making the problems worse?

Your homework is to come prepared for tomorrow by doing one or more of the following things:

  • Gather images from newspapers, magazines and the Internet about society and your issue.
  • Speak to people at home about the connections between society and your issue.
  • Research on the Internet.
  • Create a contact list with names, emails and phone numbers of organizations, institutions and community members who are taking action on your issue.

Make a comment on this posting to tell us what you did and how you did it. A minimum working time of 40 minutes is expected.

Photograph by sherrattsam on Flickr
  1. April 19, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Communities is really importent in my issue because it’s a issue that everybody is connected that what we are doing every second I saw newspaper aticle and Singapore is trying to stop that happen.for schools I think most of the paper pollution comes from office or schools so if they cut down more tress more habatat for animals will be lose.art is connected to my issue because art is the most butiful thing that i can show nature changes.Art make people rethink because they make them think and don’t bored as to death iam not sure what is orgazation quiestion mean.they is a law connect because they is a rule stop sell and buying ivory things.and stop hunting endangerd animals.

    • 17lucam
      April 19, 2010 at 4:36 pm

      Maybe you should use paragraphs.
      🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      April 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Are there any organizations (groups of people) in Thailand who are working to try and stop the hunting, killing and selling of endangered animals?

  2. Ranvir
    April 19, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Communities is also very important to my issue because when someone is affected, the whole family/relatives are also affected. It stops happiness in families and creates stress which sometimes leads to health problems.

    Schools: Racism happens a lot in schools so I think that its the most important because people earn bad reputations and nobody wants to hangout with the racist people. It also spoils happiness among the person’s friends because the person who has been affected isnt chirpy or friendly anymore but instead, he is lonely, sad, moody, lifeless etc…

    Institutions: There is the IPF that I used for Bridges [School Inquiry] and it kind of relates through the name [International PEACE Foundation]. I know the website and I’ve visited it only once [this afternoon for the last 5 minutes] but it looks helpful.

    Cultural Traditions: I dont think that it has major importance and I dont think it will help solve

    Arts: I have a movie of making black people look like monkeys and dance and I feel sad when I watch it. I’ve used it for my exhibition.

    Organizations: No

    Law: There isnt but there should be

    • Mr. Sam
      April 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm

      Some questions for you:

      – do you think there are some cultures that are more racist than others?
      – do some cultures think white/pale skin is better than dark skin?
      – are you sure there are no organizations working against racism?
      – are you sure there are no laws against racism?

      • Ranvir
        April 20, 2010 at 4:27 pm

        Brief answers:

        1. Yes

        2. Yes

        3. Mahidol University has a course for peace building. IPF has a similar backround but they arent of any help.

        4. 101% sure.

  3. 17lucam
    April 19, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    My issue is very related to society because without a society cyber bullyinng wouldn’t exist because without anyone there is no-one to bully.
    I think that there is an organization trying stop it and N.I.S.T they have policies on your webmail because they can see what you sent to other people.

    They are quite important because mostly people bully people they know but don’t like, like people in their school like Ms. Trevaud showed us.
    They could be more important if they do something about it but they can’t really because the bulllies use their personal e-mail so they don’t know who is sending it to them.

    There is one that shows at the end of the movie Ms. Trevaud showed us. I think it is called childnet international.

    I don’t think there is any cultural traditions involved.

    Well the art is the one I made in class but there is also one that also Ms. Trevaud showed us, I am going to use that one because it gives people an idea of what cyber bullying is.

    I don’t think there is any organizations.

    No I don’t think there is a law for cyber bullying.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      Do you think that there is a new society – a “cybersociety”? Are the rules the same in the cybersociety as they are in normal society? Why? Why not?

  4. Karam
    April 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Society is related to my issue because renewable energy and the conservation of electricity can only be achieved by people caring and actually wanting to save them selves by using a much more eco friendly way of creating electricity. But we can’t do it divided we have to be united.

    Here are the names and numbers of the organiztions so far:

    Danish organisation of renewable energy.

    Green power forum

    Geothermal enrgy association
    Phone number:2024545261

    The first oart I found out by having a disscussion with my mom. The rest by the internet.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 19, 2010 at 5:53 pm

      Do you know of any Thai organizations who are working on this issue?

  5. Cael
    April 19, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    In My community as a family its not so impportant but when were talking about community in a country then it gets more impportant because theres actually quite alot of beggars in bangkok so its going to get and sort of is impportant.

    Schools are quite impportant because they can help the beggars bye giving them education. Some schools might be taking action but I am in the path of taking action my self.

    I know about one organizeation in thailand called “The Prachabodi Centre” Theres probably more though.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      You must try and contact the Prachabodi Center to find out more about the work they do.

      What about the other questions???

  6. Sasha
    April 19, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Community is a very big part of my issue because everyone uses water, and everyone needs water to survive. My issue is very obvious how it is connected to my community and the world. Without water there would be no life on Earth. My community is taking a little bit of action at the moment because before when Sujinna and I had to collect data, I asked people from my community and they really thought about it so some houses are trying to reduce the water bills every month. My house its self is taking quite a lot of action because I explained how the future is going to be if we don’t care about clean water and how much there is left so we really took some action and tried to reduce our water bill.

    School: I think our school is starting to take action because now NIST is only watering the plants in the evening, NIST is trying to encourage people to finish the water in their water bottles, and NIST is trying to encourage people to not waste water. Also hopefully after the exhibition the information will travel to other schools and they will also re:think and if this keeps on carrying on then maybe most of the schools in Bangkok will do the same.

    Institutions: I don’t know any organizations but I have someone’s email address and I think that person could really help me. The guy’s name is Sawai Boonma, I think he could help me in the Exhibition because I read one of his newspaper article’s and it really inspired me.

    Cultural traditions: Songkran is a festival as you know is celebrated in Thailand for 3 days.

    Arts: I don’t know any art pieces related to my issue but I bet there are tons.

    Organizations: I don’t know any organizations.

    Law: I don’t think there are any laws about clean water.

  7. Samantha
    April 19, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    For homework I did a mix of researching on the internet and creating a contact list with names and emails. I already knew one webstite, which was the PADI website that I could have a look at and searched on the internet to compare the different websites. One of the websites I had a look at explained more about tips you could do to help with reducing ocean pollution. The other website, http://www.cleanoceanaction.org, shows more about how to help the ocean and cleaning beaches which has a connection with other websites I had a look at.

    Project aware explains how you can protect sea life and news that explains what they are doing, for example Thai Cleanup days in November, you could join in Jomtien and news about the ocean such as coral and shark preservation. Here some relevant websites if your doing about the ocean: http://www.PADI.com http://www.projectaware.org I also read an article that Mr. Sam gave me on ‘eutrophication’ which is caused by our organic pollution along the Thai inner gulf which is poisoning 10-15% of fish with mercury……….who eats Thai gulf fish? we all need to help stop Thai sea pollution, NOW!

  8. Johann
    April 19, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I did…

    1. I talked to my dad about internet safety and he gave me his opinions about society on the world wide web. This was very easy because before the y6 exhibition meeting I had the society card so my dad new what he needed to do and say.

    2. I think Society is the strong lens for me because my subject is keeping your info safe on the online community.

    3. I gathered some photos and I emailed them from my self

    4. I did so research about server farms and I collected some data about the online community.

    5. I have some resources on people that keep info safe for there job

  9. April 19, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I have done the questions that you have asked and answered them in my notebook and will show you at school. The second part of the homework I did:

    Gathering pictures that I think are related to society and my issue at the same time, I got a few.

    I researched more.

    I spoke to a couple of family members and friends.

    And collected a lot of organizations and individuals that could answer some questions and help in my issue.

    I noted down most of the things in my notebook and used email to send to myself what I have to show my partner.

  10. 17nikkis
    April 19, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Plastic bags have become a necessity in our daily lives. Our community still uses a lot of plastic bags but has taken one step to recycle them in some way or other. I think now it is time for our community to further start carrying cloth bags either to the market or supermarket which will surely reduce the use of plastic bags. My family has started using cloth bags for long time and the plastic bags that are brought home are always used for a purpose. If our community has a formal recycling program, there are rules about how to separate paper, plastic, glass and other recyclable materials.

    Plastic bags in school are not used wisely because most of the things provided are hand carried or used there and then. In the school the teachers are already teaching the children to use the 5 R’s that is Rethink, Reduce, Reuse, Recycle and Renew. Rethinking means thinking about how you use everyday products and figuring out ways you can save resources by changing the ways you use those products. Rethinking means figuring out ways you can reuse, renew and recycle products. Lastly I feel we all can make a difference if: A group of people and organizations working together to get something done. To get the job done, you have to think about whom you are trying to influence and how to get them behind your project. Plan how you will talk to these people. Make sure you keep in touch with people who say they are going to help, and that they really do help. Be patient. Be constant. Be positive. Follow up. Make sure everything gets done. Celebrate when you get the problem fixed.

    I think that there are many organizations that have already started working on the plastic bag issues for example: China’s surprise crackdown on plastic bags, will prohibit and bans the manufacture, sale, and use of plastic bags in supermarkets and shops nationwide from handing out the sacks for free. With the move, China joins a growing list of regions, from San Francisco to South Africa, that are using taxes, bans, and other regulations to try to decrease bags. In addition to the bans, taxes, and other government policies now in place to fight the plastic-bag in countries like Bangladesh, Ireland, Kenya, and Taiwan, a variety of responses have emerged in the business community. Other responses include manual cleanups and bans on dumping plastic from ships at sea. Many anti-plastic-bag advocates support the reasonable approach offered by the Chinese government. “We should encourage people to return to carrying cloth bags, using baskets for their vegetables,” said a notice posted on the central government website. If you rethink what you are doing, and learn to reduce, reuse, and recycle materials, you also have to remember to do what it takes to recycle.

    LINKS TO ART GALLERY
    • Gertrude Contemporary Art Space
    • Galeri Petronas
    • Osage Gallery
    • Rougeish
    • Rimbun Dahan
    • Jakarta Biennale XIII: 2009
    • The Click Project
    • Valentine Willie Fine Art

  11. Mick
    April 19, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Communities – This issue is important because my family buys food from other countries and not many people care about this issue. It is also important because everyone eats food and if it is bad for the environment it is bad. I’m probably the only person in my community that is taking a lot of action about this.

    Schools – There is this school in the northern part of Thailand which grows crops using hydroponics. They use hydroponics because in mountains land is not really good for growing. Also Canon a company, has a project of giving poor schools wind turbines. This school uses hydroponics and wind turbines to power it.

    Institutions – I have no istitutions about this issue.

    Cultural traditions – The old way of farming / cultural tradition of farming is really eco-friendly. It is good for the environment because they don’t use machines and they don’t use bad chemicals. Also many cultural diets also include vegetables.

    Arts – I’m not sure how art is related. But you can surely present with art.

    Organizations – There are many organizations that support my issue but many organizations are focused on weel-being and making a sustainable life for farmers more than the environement

    Law – In Thailand you are not allowed to grow genetically modifide crops because they are bad for health and the environment.

    • Mick
      April 19, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      Today I made this comment, I wrote down people that are working on this issue and got some pictures.

  12. Arne
    April 19, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    I researched about Internet Safety and the organizations and people already on my issue and I sometimes see that they work together to achieve too. I found lots of new questions and ideas. I also found my new things and facts. I used some Graphs for my Homework a bit of people,organizations and a few names for understanding my Issue through Society. I talked to Nathan on skype about connections of our issue through society and we tried to help each other.

  13. Ping Ping
    April 19, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Since my community is a business community, there are many cars and technology used in it. The source that all that is coming from power plants that are using fossil fuels. The main objective that I have to achieve in is inspiring the people in many communities to use less of the electricity coming from fossil fuels and turn to renewable like using the solar panel to help in computer or scanner usage. So far, nobody yet has bothered about the world so I will make a little change with the communities around me.

    Schools are extremely important in taking role for kids to use renewable energy since school is the one of the only places that kids get knowledge. If adults keep telling kids to use renewable energy, they will remember and take action when they grow up. Many International schools are trying to be as eco-friendly with renewable energy as possible such as schools like Pattana and NIST installing solar panels onto their rooftops. Many other schools such as the Thai schools don’t really bother with renewable energy even though it is the only way out of the global warming problem in the world right now.

    Institutions that are teaching kids to live in the future in mind about renewable are very rare. Actually, I know an institute that emphasizes renewable energy. The name of it is GENI (Global Energy Network Institute). Although I don’t really know much about it, I still know that it is not an institute in Thailand so it doesn’t really matter.

    Even though not very obvious, the lord Buddha taught Buddhist people to think before you do things with you in control with yourself. This means that we need to think about what we are using, how it’s affecting the environment without going crazy with fossil fuels like we are still doing today. Despite the fact that now things are really modernized, monks rather stay in Wats rather than in the forest like the Buddha taught. Since there are growing amounts of people being monks, people need to destroy the environment and create Wats.

    Many people use art such as movies to give out a message to others so then they could understand. Art is the most powerful way of presenting ever invented and nowadays, artwork and especially make us feel excited and enthusiastic to watch it. Movies for example 2012 where the world is going to be destroyed is a consequence of us using too many harmful resources that are also harmful to the environment. These movies make people afraid and scared of the consequences so then they have to quickly do something to prevent it from happening.

    Yanhee Solar and Annex Power are now creating a solar field in Ayutthaya to give Thailand a better percentage of renewable energy usage to save the environment and also to become a much greener place to live in. And in addition, the Thai Prime Minister is going to create new nuclear plants that are much greener than fossil fuels. The downside to this is that nuclear is extremely dangerous and hazardous for people.

    Ping Ping

  14. Nathan
    April 19, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Im don’t think community is a big part in this issue.

    School: I also don’t think is a big part in my issue. It could be very useful if schools could get together telling peopel to turn off there engines. I think some schools are taking action. But not much I dont think.

    Religions: Im pretty sure no religion has anything to do with air pollution.

    Arts: There is a movie about air pollution and what would happen if we dont’t reduce it and i’m sure there are plenty of art works and plays about it.

    Organization: There are 100+ organizations that are helping to clean the air. I just contacted 1 today.

    Laws: I don’t think there are any laws but if there are laws there would laws like turn off your engine while waiting for anything or fined or if caught idling big fine paid.

    Nathan

  15. Amy
    April 19, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Society has a big part in my issue because my issue is all about people and sort of about communities. My main question that I think is most connected to all of the lenses is “What would the world be like if women ruled it”. I think that our communities might be a litter more green and be a lot more fare. I talked to my mom about how my issue is connected to female rights and she agrees with me that the world would be a better place because she felt that women are the ones that actually care about details and I agree with her. I get a lot of information from my mom and that shows her support which I think is good. My mom’s friend in India works in a female organization she is part of my community because I email her and my mom keeps in touch with her through Facebook.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

