Home > Exhibition, Guest Speakers, Home, Sharing the Planet > Homework – Society

Homework – Society

Random Travelers' Society by wili_hybrid.

Today, Mr. Doug made a presentation about society. He spoke very honestly about his upbringing as a member of Maori society and the values that he has developed as a result. He spoke about the importance of the family, about the importance of listening to our elders and the importance of being part of a community. His talk made me think of these questions:

  • How important are families in your issue?
  • How important is your community in your issue?
  • How much do we listen to our elders?
  • How does listening to our elders fit into your issue?
  • What about your culture? Is there anything in your culture that is causing your issue to become worse? Is there anything in your culture that could create solutions to your issue?
Photo by wili_hybrid on Flickr
  1. Nathan
    March 29, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Families kind of important in my issue because many people would only listen to their own family. Community is not so inportant in my issue. I sometimes listen to my elders. I think listening to our elders fit into our issue because elders can also be powerful more powerul than kids. My culture has nothing to do with Car Idling. Our culture could help by going around Bangkok to stop car Idling since there is a big range of people.

    • Mr. Doug
      March 30, 2010 at 8:59 am

      Hi Nathan,

      I like the way how you are being reflective in terms of Family, Community and your elders when looking at your issue (what is your issue?) Every family and community is slightly different, but in my perspective their are common elements in each.
      1. You have a leader/s
      2. You have rules/agreements/protocol/traditions/customs/beliefs etc.These determine how you organise yourself/selves and the lifestyle you lead
      3. Everyone has a role
      4. Strong bondage

      Your elders have seen it all, they have experienced far worse things than we have, they are very hard workers and have very stroing principles. We can alot from our elders.

      • Nathan
        April 1, 2010 at 4:44 pm

        Hi Mr. Doug I agree with you but my issue is Air pollution mainly on Car Idling but I’m very sure that you can learn alot from our elders because they’ve been on the earth for 30-80 years but we have only been on this earth for 10-12 years so they have seen more of the earth than us and they have experianced more things than us thats why elder people are very wise and you should listen to everything that they say, respect.

  2. Karam
    March 29, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Familie are quite important because the more people that live under the same roof the tendency is that more electricity will be needed.Community is just the same as family except everybody is not living under the same roof. I think that I listen to my elders a lot. But this doesn’t really fit into my issue.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 8:27 am

      Hi Kram,

      You are correct Karam in saying that it is wise to listen to your elders. They have had experiences way beyond what we have ever experienced, and remember that they may not have had electricity in their days.

      Mr. Doug

  3. 17saery
    March 29, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I think families are not really really important to my issue but it can be connected. If someone from our family died because of the air pollution then I think it will be conected to my issue. I don’t thinmk community is connected to my issue. I think I listen to our elders not very much because I feel quite boring to talk with my grandparents… but I know that it is better to listen to my elders (grandparents).

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Hi Saeri,

      On the contrary I think families and communities do have a role to play in keeping our world pollution free, and it will have to be you who enforces good habits within your family in terms of issues related to air pollution. You may want to ask your grandparents if air pollution was as bad iin their days as it is today.

      Mr. Doug

  4. 17mikit
    March 29, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I think families not important in my issue. I think community is a little bit important in my issue, because we need to have communication with nature and animals. I think I listen to my elders sometimes listen to them and sometimes I listen to them not well, but I like to talk with my parents and grandparents, because grandparents know about old stories.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 8:36 am

      Hi Miki,

      What is you issue? You may find that your family, community and your elders have alot to do with your issue. Look at the compass and see if this helps when talking to your family/elders.

      Mr. Doug

  5. Taku
    March 29, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    My family is kind of important to my issue because my issue is about saving electricity and my family is trying to save electricity so it is connected with my issue.I listen to my elders some times.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 8:41 am

      Hi Taku,

      Family and elders have alot to do with your issue, and you will have to make a difference by teaching them good habits. Your grandparents may not have had electricity, so ask them questions about differences then and now and see where that fits into what you are doing.

      Mr. Doug

  6. Sasha
    March 29, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    My issue is a global issue and as you know my issue is water and everybody uses water but there is still one thing I am dying to know about which is
    “If people know water is running out why don’t actually do something about it and make a difference?”

    I really listen to my elderly because I always think that one day they wont be with me any more and my mom keeps on saying to my sister and I “If you do good, you get good” but I think some people don’t actually want to do anything for their grandparents and in my case also my great grandmother they only get good if whatever they are doing they are doing it from the heart.

    Listening to elders doesn’t really relate to my issue but I could get some information from my grandparents because they have been on this earth much longer than me (I can’t exactly ask my great grandmother because she is not living with me at the moment and it is quite hard to explain it to her in Indian.)

    My culture does effect the wastage of water, everyone makes this issue worse because they don’t care about how much water we have left in our earth and everyone right now is pushing it over the limit, other than that there is nothing else.

    • Sasha
      March 29, 2010 at 6:30 pm

      I just figured out that my great grandmother is coming but sadly she is only staying for one day 😦

      • Mr. Doug
        April 1, 2010 at 8:48 am

        Hi Sasha,

        If there is one connection between my culture (Maori)and other cultures it is water. Water is revered by all cultures in one way or another. For maori we use water at special ceremonies as a form of blessing and purity. The ocean, rivers and lakes are the children of our god of the seas – Tangaroa, and it is one source of food for us. There are connections there, and you should look at it in terms of your issue.

        Mr. Doug

        • Sasha
          April 1, 2010 at 4:45 pm

          Mr Doug,
          I agree with you that these ceremonies are really important, but just thinking about the up coming festival of water which is Songkran, and before, Songkran wasn’t a big festival but now its huge, and some foreigners come to Thailand just to play Songkran. I think that Songkran is fun but it does waste a lot of water.

          Sasha

  7. Arne
    March 29, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Well my family is very big and I have a lot of cousins and I love them so much and out of most of them i am pretty old. My religion is really strict so i do respect my elders and parents. My grandparents sometimes gave me advices and I listen to all of them. My issue is about Internet safety and I think trust is a big importance when your using the internet, because your parents should know what you are doing on the internet and that to make sure you do to inappropriate websites.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 11:18 am

      Hi Arne,

      Listen to what your heart tells you and of course the words of wisdom from your elders and grandparents. Even though your issue is the internet, you will still be able to make connections (sorry about the pun) between the way your grandparents communicated and technology now.

      Mr. Doug

      • Arne
        April 1, 2010 at 8:34 pm

        Hello Mr. Doug

        Yes I think my elders have lots of wisdom and knowledge more than I have and I should listen to them and try to make connections about being safe on the Internet.
        Thank you, Arne

  8. Johann
    March 29, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Families are kind of important in my issue because when you are having problems on the internet you can ask your parents. I don’t really listen to my elderly because they can become very annoying and frustrating. Our culture could help by going around and infrorning people about internet safety. I also think that your family needs to trust you. Listening to elders doesn’t really relate to my issue because when I told them about my issue they really did not care about it. (talking about Grand parents)

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 11:27 am

      Hi Johann,

      Grand parents do care, you just have to find a way to get them talking and one way to do that is to use your knowledge of the Compass lenses, and asking relevant questions based on the lenses.
      Do your grandparents know how use a computer, do email, use the internet? If not you may have to become an IT teacher and teach them appropriate waysto use the computer.

      Mr. Doug

  9. March 29, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    In my issue families are important. Families are the ones which are taking the plastic bags from the place and using them for 20 minutes then throwing them away. But Family could also be a good thing for my issue about plastic bags. They are the ones that if you persuade and let them know what they are doing to the world and how it’s going to affect the future they might want to make a difference and change that and have their own system at home which would actually be a good idea and would actually work.

    I listen to my elder’s a lot. They have great stories about their experiences in life when we weren’t even born yet and their choices that they made so that would make me listen and make me think differently and make right choices from learning from them. They have a lot of love in their hearts to give all of us, my sisters, brother and me. They don’t ask me very much so I make the most of it, I try and help out as much as I can.

    Listening to elders will help me in my issue. They might have a different perspective in plastic bags then how we think so we have to think twice in what we are trying to find out and give as a new direction to head which is the right choice and the way I can learn a lot. They would have many ideas and give lots of support in helping out and sharing their opinions.

    My culture is part of making plastic bags an issue worse. Because they are also using plastic bags for convenience which everyone thinks it’s the right choice. But they don’t look at the big picture. If they know then they might change and make a small difference. Even that small difference could change part of the future.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Hi Rosna,

      Fantastic and it is good to see you using your family, community and elders help you with your issue of the use of plastic bags. In alot of cultures (maori is one of them) we/they still use recyclable materials (i.e. plants) to make their baskets, bags, food baskets etc.
      I agree even that small difference could change part of the future, and it is your generation that needs to make that difference.

      Mr. Doug

      • April 1, 2010 at 4:50 pm

        Hi Mr. Doug,

        Thank you for answering to my comment. I thought your presentation really gave me a better understanding on society. Our generation is the most important thing because we could change the future for the future generation. If we make the world a better place the future generation will get higher chances and a better life then if we make the world worse.

  10. Cael de awesome
    March 29, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    I think familys are quite important in my issue because if they have/had a family they wouldn’t be begging. Community is important in the same way as family for my issue. I think 80% of the children in yr6 dont listen to their elders.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 11:39 am

      Hi Cael,

      One thing our grandparents (and I think I speak for all of them) is that they were very hard workers, tough and proud, and they looked after and raised their family to be decent like them. It could be that for a family to make do is that begging might be the only way for them to get food or money in order for them to get food for themselves and their family.

      Mr. Doug

  11. Ping Ping
    March 29, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    As you know, your family is the samllest community but it is the most important community in your life. All of the problems now are caused by the family influencing the person. If the family cares about the wastage of all of the oil and fossil fuels used and your family takes some kind of action, you will try to take action yourself and you will care just because of your family. For example, my family members value switching off the lights when you go out of somewhere and they demonstrate to me so much that even though my mom is still reading a book, I just close the lights on accident from the effect that I switch off the lights all the time like I am breathing. It has become part of me.

    And as the theme last year “One Person Can Make A Difference”, this is quite true since many will become influenced by the one person and they will think that it is not wrong to do something that the one is doing.

    “Walk your own path, don’t become a follower. Instead, become a leader.”

    Another example is drinking water. I will never buy water bottles from other places because I know how much plastic is used just for bottles. I also boil my own water at home because I value heath and the origin that my water comes from. I want it fresh and non-chemical filled.

    Listening to your elders is very crucial in Asian culture because we believe that our elders know more than us and they have more experience with us. What everyone should do is mix what our family knows altogether so then we have a better knowledge of the world through each points of views of our family member.

    Mostly, our elders live the old style which is very eco-friendly and doesn’t use all of the resources of the planet like my grandmother still uses coal to cook food rather than electricity. And I listen to this and my culture says that the #1 rule is that you should listen to the elders and pay them with full respect. The problem is that some might think that the thinking of elders is just old and not modern and the things now use way more electricity so the main problem of this is just plain ignorance.

    Ping Ping

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 11:53 am

      Hi Ping Ping,

      You are on to it in terms of family, community and your elders and where they fit in with your issue and the connections you can see with the lives they led then and up to now.
      You show a really good quality towards your family and elders and that is respect.

      Mr.Doug

      • Ping Ping
        April 1, 2010 at 6:29 pm

        Thank you for giving feedback on my comment. I appreciate the way you said respect for my elders and family.

        Ping Ping

  12. Mick
    March 29, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    My issue is not that much relevant to families and communities because I’m more focusing on resources and nature. But also family and communities are important to everyone’s issue because they can help you and you can make them rethink the easiest. Most people don’t listen to elders but I listen to them most of the time. I always try to do things they tell me. But I also think most people like people in our school and my family they don’t listen to elders or anybody. Listening to elders also might fit to my issue because before in the olden days farming wasn’t usustainable but now it is. I don’t think my culture has anything much to do with this issue.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 12:02 pm

      Hi Mick,

      I like your way of thinking and in particular how family and your elders can help towards build a sustainable life. Your culture has everything to do with your issue, and one of the main advocates for the Thai people towards sustainablity is your King.

      Mr. Doug

  13. ness
    March 29, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Family isn’t that important but we just have to make dicisions on how we act in our daily lifes such as using energy saving items, turning of the electricity when not needed and alot more. We can also share ideas in the community. I listen to my parents alot but not really one of my grandparents because I am usually naughty at that part of time. Listening to elders doesn’t really fit in my issue because I am doing about ways to save electricity and the futur of electricity. Maybe I could compare the time when my parents were kids and what is happening now. It’s not really relayed about culture too.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 12:04 pm

      Hi Ness,

      That’s a great idea of yours and I do hope that you go ahead and make comparisons between your elders, parents in what they did to save energy in their days to what is happening today.

      Mr. Doug

  14. Amy
    March 29, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    I think that family has a big part in my issue because my issue is the way women are treated, not equally and why? And from what I have found out so far is that most women do not have the same rights as other cultures and places because of what teachings they follow. I think that my community will be a big help to me because in the Sikh community most people have experienced different feelings and also in my local area there are lots of variety of cultures. I listen a lot to my parent because they have already had experience and I can get the chance to listen to my families and spend time with them. I don’t listen to my grandparents as much as I used to because I don’t live with them and our connections aren’t very connected. But whenever I see something bad happen I get scared that something might happen because I have never experienced a family loss. My grandpa has had lots of heart problems counting heart attacks and it scares me because he is the strongest man I have ever seen and he still is very fit and has lots of potential energy. I think that you should do what you are told because mainly to females something bad could happen if you broke a family rule or lost a bit of your familys respect. I think that in my culture this isn’t a big issue because most Sikhs follow the Guru Granth Sahib Ji and believes in our gurus and teachings. I think what the gurus did is amazing because can you imagine they had such great power and what did they use it for to improve our future and peoples lives. In our past there has been good people that have changed our future today.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 12:58 pm

      Hi Amy,

      Your issue is very relevant and real in relation to family, community, elders and culture. I commend you on choosing this as an issue for your exhibition, as it is not an easy topic. My request is that you keep in close contact with your mum and grandmother and share the issues with them.
      If there is one person who can make a difference with this issue, it is you Amy.

      All the best.

      Mr. Doug

      • Amy
        April 1, 2010 at 6:03 pm

        Thank you for the support Mr.Doug,
        Quite a bit of my information has come from my mom. She is very helpful to me and she has inspired me to learn about this issue.

  15. Sujinna
    March 29, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    My issue is basically a global issue because my issue which is water, involves everyone, everyone uses water. My Family is also a part of it because we use water. We try to use water in the way that we won’t waste so much because we KNOW it is not good, we KNOW that we need to stop wasting water,we KNOW that if we don’t stop we are going to run out of water.
    I listen to my elders because I know that one day, which could be tomorrow, they won’t be with me so I just listen to them but sometimes they also can be annoying because my grandma would always question a lot on what I do so I sometimes get annoyed. Another reason is that Elders always have better experiences and better knowledge so if we listen to them, we can learn more too. My parents and grandparents always tell me that “if we do something, we have to have the heart to do it, not just do it so you get something in return, we do it so that we can help others” but I think that you always get something in return which is LOVE” If you do something bad, they love you by telling you to do the right thing. If you do something good, they Love you by telling you that you’ve done a good job. You might not see love in your parents, but inside they love you even if they would be as angry or as sad, they always love you, we, are precious to them.
    By listening to my elders, it is connected to my issue because my grandmas are very old but now only one grandma because my other grandma, which is actually my great grandma had already passed away)when they were kids, the water supply wasn’t that bad so they know the change, they see it happen.
    My culture does make my issue get worse for example SONGKRAN, you just splash water at each other to cool yourself of. Before, songkran is actually a day that you go to the temple and respect your elders by pouring water on their hands ONLY and actually reflect on what you do. But now, people just don’t care anymore, they just think of fun.

    • Mr. Doug
      April 1, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      Hi Sujinna,

      You are a very lucky girl to have known your great grandmother and grandmother. With you and you mother that’s 4 generations which is very rare. I like your thinking and how you have made connections between water and your family, community and elders.
      Water is very sacred in my culture as is in most cultures, and because of this we need to doour best to educate people on how to take care of our water ways/resources.

      Mr.Doug

  16. Samantha
    March 29, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I think familys are quite important in my issue because familys trigger pollution as one person would not trigger as much pollution as a family. I think that communitys are important because if one community trys to change(make a difference in a good way) then maybe another community would change and there could be a difference even if it was one community. I think that we all listen to our elders but we could listen more even if it doesn’t seem important to us but it might help in the future. I think that the elders might know a bit about my issue but then I think it depends on who you are talking to. I don’t think that my culture is relevent to my issue but it could be but I don’t think that my culture is involed with the issue pollution and the effects on sea life.

  17. 17lucam
    March 29, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    In my issue family is quite important because if you are being cyber bullied then you should tell your parents to do something about it but people sometimes don’t tell because they are scared that they will lose their phone privileges.
    Well it is important because you need to tell your parents to do something about it.

    We listen a lot to our elders to learn more things, to show that you respect your elders and so that they can help you with things or to solve things.
    Well it doesn’t fit into my issue that much but it is a bit related because they might tell you some solutions.
    No, I don’t think that it will affect us. ( P.S do you mean where you come from or religion?)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

