Homework – Nature

What Have I Done? by tropicaLiving.

Mr. Andy Dorn made a presentation about nature. He explained why nature is such a passion of his, and he shared some information about the way the future could go if we don’t start thinking about nature a lot more than we do. He made me think of the following questions:

  • How often do you connect with nature?
  • What connections are there between nature and your issue?
  • How does this quote by Mr. Andy relate to your issue?
“There’s so many of us and we all want so much stuff!”
  • Mr. Andy said that “nature is at the center of everything”. Is it at the center of your issue? Why? Why not?
  • How does the quote in the picture below relate to your issue?
Photographs by TropicaLiving and Evie22 on Flickr
  1. 17saery
    March 29, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    I think I connect with Nature more than less but not much because I need to play with my new dog.(To stay healthy.) There is a connection between my issue and Nature because my issue is about air pollution and air is all about nature. We need air to live. Because that we want more stuff we use more electricity and we will pollute more air.

  2. Nathan
    March 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    I connect with nature really rearly because I usually spend most of my time in an apartment. Nature is really relevant to my issue because car idling or air pollution destroys the enviroment, he even showerd us a picture. the quote relates to me because I know that there are many things I want but it’s not needed and I also think other people are like that too. It’s not really the center of my issue I think because it’s not so much about pollution. Also the second quote is the David guy quote I think it is connected to all of us because we don’t get anything if the earth dies from our ancestors we borrow it from our children which is like borrowing our life or shortening it. It wouldn’t call it borrowing.

    • Nathan
      March 29, 2010 at 4:47 pm

      I also think it relates to everyones issue

  3. 17mikit
    March 29, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    I think I am sometimes connect with nature, because I am not connect nature in Thailand, but in Japan I am go to hiking to hill. There is a connection between my issue and Nature because my issue is about endangered animals. And animals is connect with Nature, because if the tree or other nature things.

  4. Sujinna
    March 29, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I think that we connect with nature by everything is terms of food, pollution and our lifestyle. The examples are that food is basically living things which are grown by nature. Pollution has a negative effect, but still it is connected to nature. Out lifestyle actually have a great big effect on nature because if we use too much computer, we use too much electricity which means that we have to produce more electricity which effects nature since we need to use a amount of resources and also, it causes smoke.
    My issue is connected to nature because my issue is about the way we use water and how we pollute it. Water is part of nature so that is why my issue is connected to nature. The quote Mr. Andy said was really connected to my issue because there are so many people and everyone wants to use so much water.
    Nature is the center of my issue because as I said, water is nature, it is a natural resource. I think that the quote “we do not inherit the world from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children” is linked with my issue by our ancestors cannot really help do much but we borrow from our children which means that we are borrowing the world so we can change it. I am not so sure but that is what I think.

  5. Sasha
    March 29, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    I connect with nature everyday because I walk my dog everyday, around my house it is quite windy and I also sit around on the grass with my dog.

    My issue is water and it connects with nature because water is a part of nature. I think that if we destroy a part of nature then all the nature is gone.

    The quote
    “There’s so many of us and we all want so much stuff!”
    connects with my issue because everyone is using too much water and everyone wants more and more but they don’t think about how much we have left and how much we are already using.
    Today Nikki and I had a conversation about how people don’t appreciate the things they don’t think if everyone has enough or not they just want more. Again a need and a want are totally different things, for e.g I need water, I want an Ipod. “People need to think more about what they already have and need to appreciate it.”

    I think nature is the center of my issue because water is a part of nature and nature needs water because for the plants to grow we need water. Somethings about water is good for nature but some things aren’t for e.g acid rain is really bad because it effects agriculture, the plants and trees, but there are certain things that are good for e.g rain and tap water/ freshwater.

    How this quote ( We don’t inherit the earth from our ancestors we borrow it from our children) relates to my issue is that our children, the future generation will be living on this earth so we should use all the natural resources like water very carefully, do that our children will have enough natural resources for themselves.

  6. Karam
    March 29, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I think that I do not connect with nature that often-sadly. There aren’t many things that are related to my issue. That qoute is related to my issue because we all need quite a lot of electricity to survive. Nature is not the center of my issue because electricity is all about mechanics and stuff. The last qoute relates to my issue because we are inheriting all the electricy from our parents soon and the money to pay for it.

  7. March 29, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    I actually connect with nature every day. Every day I go upstairs to my garden to keep track of my thoughts and to calm down and read a book to relax in the wind. On Saturdays I go to soi 47 which has a lot of trees and a wonderful wind and I sometimes go biking which makes me look around at nature and actually feel like I am flying.

    Nature is connected with my plastic bag issue how. It is connected because plastic bags destroy nature and take a lot of time to get decomposed of which is not good for the soil, which makes trees have no bloom. It is also connected with nature because in the oceans there are many pieces of plastic bags which make it feel dirty and animals start dying.

    The quote that Mr. Andy said is true. We all want a lot of stuff and there are so many people!! This quote is related to my issue because we all use plastic bags which are because we buy lots of things and want to put it in something to carry it in for convenience.

    Nature is at the center of my issue because when we use plastic bags it always goes to a dump or to a nature place which is not good for the environment. The toxic makes everything worse and goes into the soil which makes quite a big problem. And plus it takes a long time to get decomposed from. This is at the center because whenever we are done using them it’s always in the garbage and you know where the garbage goes.

    I think that the quote means that our parents and the elderly borrow the earth from us and whatever they do to the world will affect our life and our children’s life in the future and they will have to live with that. So we have to solve our issues now so there is a better future and a brighter one for our children and so on.

  8. Cael de awesome
    March 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    I think I connect with nature a tiny bit because I dont really get to go to the park and things but I connect a bit. I dont really think it really connects to my issue but I think the beggars moght not get to connect with nature because people might not want them at the park or something. I think the qute sort off relates to me issue because theres somany of us and some people get what they want but beggars dont. In my issue i dont really think that nature is the center I think its more society and econymy because they want money and a good job and society because they dont have a community. quote on the pic dosn’t really relate to my issue

  9. 17nikkis
    March 29, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Nature is all around us, it is only up to us whether we want to cherish it or not. I think we all are connected to nature some how or the other. As of myself I feel that I am truly connected to the beautiful nature, this is in terms of walking in my garden or even cycling and feeling cool breeze on your face.

    The connection between nature and my issue is plastic bags. Plastic bags are non-renewable resource. They are by-product of the oil-refining process, which is four percent of oil production around the globe.

    Mr. Andy’s quote truly does relate to my issue because the use of plastic bags are still intense. If the demand is high the usage is still there. Yes! “Nature is at the center of everything” and it is the center to my issue as well because a feeling of belonging is important to human beings and we form connections with almost everything.

  10. Amy
    March 29, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    I always connect with nature. Not through land but air because I live on the 15th floor of my apartment building and up here has a great braes and I think that’s wonderful because it also helps save electricity because since at my home there such nice weather my family doesn’t really need to turn on the air. It’s like a cycle:

    Air conditioner=electricity=money=pollution=which destroys our planet.
    Wind=freshness=doesn’t pollute= doesn’t waste money or make pollution= a good and calming life. I also connect with nature at school. Nature is not only our environment nature is also us; we are a part of nature.
    I don’t think nature has a big affect on my issue but on our planet everything comes from our natural resources. I think that what most people want now is power and respect not nature not a good environment, but I don’t blame them because they don’t think of it the same way we do. I think that this does relate to my issue because respect should be for female and males not that males get more respect. I don’t think that nature has a big part in my issue because my issue is mainly about respect and the way women and men were treated and how they are treated now. I think that this quote has a great part in my issue because our unit Is mainly about what will happen in the future and also when children see there parents being treated badly they get a different perspectives and in most families parents ruin there children’s chance of learning, just because there girls and the way they were treated when they were young.

  11. Johann
    March 29, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I always connect with nature. In some way I think but it not might be important. Like travailing in a car or going on the BTS. Nature is not connected with my issue. I don’t think nature has a big affect on my issue. I think that Mr. Andy was right and wrong and thats what I think. He also said that we borrow from are children well he should of said talking from are children. That will have a big impact in the future.

  12. Ping Ping
    March 29, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    In my terms of nature, I mostly talk to my mom and dad when walking or when going on the car. When I just chitter chatter with my parents (Which I normally do), I just can’t hear anything that is going on. I just go completely silent with my dad or mom for a while and I could hear sounds of birds, crickets and many animals in places like wireless road and down soi 19. It is quite amazing how we could feel nature by just stopping and felling it.

    It also kind of connects with my issue in the fact that just looking at the picture can get you a feeling that can have a list of maybes a mile long or something and the first picture makes me feel that getting energy from the fresh, renewable nature will give a much more sustainable world than what we are living in today. Just living inside nature itself and not being dependant only on the modernized things are just great!

    In the quote, Mr. Andy is actually right! We do want lots of things like money! We all want lots of things and honestly, there is too much of us in the world. Sadly. Nature is actually the core of everything we have way back when living came into existence. Renewable energy is just basically fresh, natural energy from nature that connects totally with the nature topic.

    What the quote is saying basically is that we are just destroying the world that the lower generations will be living in and completely ignore the fact that the world our ancestors took hundreds of years to build. The more we hurt nature, the more it hurts us.

    Ping Ping

  13. Samantha
    March 29, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I think that I could connect with nature more in my life because I don’t think that I connect enough. But I do connect with nature alot more than a little. I walk to school (breeze,smoke), go for bike/scooter rides and walk to places.
    I think that theres quite a big connection between my issue (pollution and the effects on sea life) and nature because sea life is nature and were part of it but were polluting what we have and all we have. “There’s so many of us and we all want so much stuff!”
    I think that this connects to my issue because we want so many things but then (in the stuff video) we all throw many things that we buy and most of the stuff gets thrown away and ends up into the ocean and sea life. I think nature is at the center of my issue because I’m doing about pollution and the effect on sea life and most of pollution could be caused by mankind made nature and then effects sea life. I think that the quote relates to my issue because alot of our family is using oil,plasitc bags etc and what we have is being poisend, killed or dead in a natural cause.

  14. Mick
    March 29, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Nature relates with everyone’s issue because everything you do relates to the environment because nowadays most things we do is bad for the environment. I think most people don’t really connect with nature. (Doing something with it). But I connect with nature because I take care of the plants at home and we also eat some of the plants grown at home. Still where we live is far from parks so we hardly every go to a park. There are many connections beetween nature and my issue because my issue is about nature and farming. Farming is really about nature. Also its about connecting with nature because people live far from farms and nature. Nature is also the center of my issue because it is really relevant to what I’m searching about. Nature is mostly the center of everything because nowadays whatever we do affect nature so it is like the center of the world and us. For the quote it means that our Earth is the next generations’ because we use it before them and we shouldn’t destroy it when they get to use it. It relates to my issue becuase unsustainable agriculture is destroying our planet and our children will not be able to use it.

  15. ness
    March 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I don’t connect with nature alot but I wish I could. My dad would always water the plants and me watching and feeling the wind flow by. I sometimes sit and read a book if I have time. It would be a nice relaxing calm day.
    Using electricity burns fossil fuel and when the fossil fuel is released into the air it makes global warming more dangerous to the environment. Fossil Fuel takes millions of years to produce and we are running out of it. It is a finite resource. Fossil fuel doesn’t only produce electricity but also run cars. Nature is the centre of my issue because while were relaxing the chemicals are released into the air. Alot of people now are greedy because they want this and want that but they don’t actually know what will the impact be on the environment.And also natural resources are decresing and everybody will want it.

  16. 17lucam
    March 29, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    I connect with nature every day because I play outside with my friends and here in France I go skiing about 7 hours a day! (it is on natural snow not artificial snow).

    I think nature is a bit related to my issue because for laptops you need electricity and some electricity comes from water, sunlight and wind.
    Well I get the quote but I don’t know how it is related to my issue ( by the way my issue is cyber bullying).
    Well it is in my circle but not in the center. It isn’t because cyber bullying is not only 75% bullying and 25% laptop. It is 60% bullying, 10% laptop, 10% energy from nature and 20% energy from coal and things like that.
    I don’t really get the quote!! 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

