Home > Exhibition, Home, Sharing the Planet > Homework – Tomorrow’s Spot-Check

Homework – Tomorrow’s Spot-Check

Your job tonight is to do as much work as you can towards being prepared for tomorrow’s spot-check. Use your time well, make the most of it – it is precious!

Make a comment to tell us what work you did towards your presentation. Explain what you did in detail. Read other people’s comments and share ideas.

  1. 17mikit
    March 25, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    I am working about endangered animals
    Ingredient 1
    I feel that many animals are endangered because of many actions that I do, or many actions that my friends do. Every actions I do will lead to damage the environment, and effect the life of animals. I hope the animals can live in safety.

    Ingredient 2
    My friends also think that more animals are becoming endangered every year, because of human activities.

    Ingredient 3
    Some people kill animals and sell their skin, fur, tasks, and horn. And also we kill animals while we are alive on the planet Earth. For example if we are in the forest or somewhere and we throw away the rubbish(plastic bag or something), the animals will eat or trap its self and get hurt or possibly die.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 25, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      Hi Miki,

      This is good. I’m starting to get a clear picture of what you are interested in now: 1) Human behaviour that causes animals to become endangered. 2)Selling animals or parts of animals.

      Looking good!

      Mr. Sam

  2. Sujinna
    March 25, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Sasha and I are working on water usage in Thailand. I continued to make the power point by thinking about what slides I can add on to it and what can I include to make the presentation look less boring. The reason I can just think is I forgot to save the presentation into my thumb drive
    Sasha and I chose to do our presentation by using power point because we still find prezi quite complicated and power point is the way that sasha and I like and can use well.
    On the first few slides, we had what we think, feel, hope and fears and then we had other people’s perspectives. Mostly are the teachers. Then on the lasts slides, we had 2 pie charts of people’s perspectives on how people think about people using water in Thailand and also how they use water. On the last slide was the bibliography.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 25, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      Hi Sujinna,

      Take a look at this website about “infographics”. They are eye-catching ways to present information:

      http://www.fastcompany.com/tag/infographic

      It might give you a few ideas for how to liven up those last few slides in your presentation.

  3. Sasha
    March 25, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Sujinna and I are working on water usage in Thailand.
    Today Sujinna and I started making the PowerPoint for tomorrow. We split the jobs so we can finish the PowerPoint faster but still make it good. Sujinna’s job was to type because she is really fast at typing, and my job was to read out what was on the sheet so we could finish it faster.
    As Sujinna said in her comment we didn’t use Prezi to present because both of us think it is complicated. When we came back from outside (collecting data for 15 mins) we decided to make a pie chart to show how many people think they use a lot of water or less water and another one to show if they think Thailand uses too much water.
    Also in the morning Mr Sam let me borrow his book because it is relevant to my issue. The book is called “The Hidden Messages in water” its really interesting. Its about this guy who says something to a glass of water, then he freezes it with a some machine and whatever he says shows in the crystal. For e.g if the guys says you are beautiful, you are kind, you are generous then the crystal will be really pretty if he saying bad things to the crystal then the crystal will be ugly.
    Sujinna and I really tried making the PowerPoint interesting so the class would get bored.

  4. Cael
    March 25, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Today for homework I made a prezi and put some yr10’s and 11’sanswers to my questions. I’ll so you an exaple of what what of said,
    1. Yes, a lot.
    2. If they are young, I pity them but if they’re at the age where they can work I get really angry because I think they could actually work for themselves but they’re just lazy and hoping that somebody would give them money to live.
    3. As I mentioned earlier, some of them just hope to get money. Younger ones are usually appointed by people (that could be their parents) to come out and earn money for them.
    4. I think there should be more shelters for them because if they stay on the streets.
    5. I fear that they might get some sort of disease or get involved with drugs and things.

    Cael

  5. Cael
    March 25, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Cael :

    sorry heres my edit
    Today for homework I made a prezi and put some yr10’s and 11’answers to my questions. I’ll so you an exaple of what what one of them said,
    1. Yes, a lot.
    2. If they are young, I pity them but if they’re at the age where they can work I get really angry because I think they could actually work for themselves but they’re just lazy and hoping that somebody would give them money to live.
    3. As I mentioned earlier, some of them just hope to get money. Younger ones are usually appointed by people (that could be their parents) to come out and earn money for them.
    4. I think there should be more shelters for them because if they stay on the streets.
    5. I fear that they might get some sort of disease or get involved with drugs and things.

    Cael

    • Sasha
      March 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

      What was the question you asked the year 10’s and 11’s?

  6. Rosna
    March 25, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Nikki and I are working together on the topic Plastic bags. We made a Prezi because it’s a really good way to present what you have got so far. At school Nikki and I made a pie chart of the percentage of people who use plastic bags too much and people who use cloth bags often. Today at home I continued interviewing and getting perspectives of my family members and neighbors. They had different opinions and compared their life to where they lived before. I also took a few pictures of plastic bags being used near my area for various things. And Nikki and I at school made a wall wisher. So I added videos to it to make it more interesting.

  7. Samantha
    March 25, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    I’m doing my exhibition on Pollution and how it effects sea life. These are the things I did to be ready on my spot checks:
    I wrote down important pieces of information and then highlighted the most important pieces. I checked through my powerpoint to see if there were any problems and to see if it was good and ready. I also read through my infromation and thought more about it. Lastly I showed it to 2 members of my family to see if it was good or if there was anything I could improve.

    • ness
      March 25, 2010 at 7:14 pm

      It’s good that you’ve been asking your family to look at your presentations.

  8. Amy
    March 25, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    In school today I managed to finish step one and now I have started doing step 2-3 I also had an idea that I was going to write my inspirations. Today at my house I did step 3 and I found lots of websites that I can open in school to use and I gathered some information of what the woman in the past thought about female rights. Most of them fought for there rights and they actually took action, I wish I would have in of courage to do that. They didn’t care if they got killed, tortured or even went to jail all they wanted was women and men to be equal and I agree. I am amazed of what they did they changed our future, today most girls and boys have become more equal but if nothing happened girls wouldn’t have the rights and men do. They changed our future and that’s amazing. When I read what I did I felt weird because I didn’t understand the fact that the first female doctor mattered but now I do because now I’m getting a better understanding of the big picture of my issue.
    I have created a powerpoint presentation because I think that is a nice and simple way to present work. On my way home today I saw this poor lady begging and it made me think that I mostly see woman begging and men working and why that is.

    • Amy
      March 25, 2010 at 7:41 pm

      I have also gathered lots of information from our school but I dont think I have completed that step so I am going to ask my brother and sister if I can talk to there friends during snack or there lunch time and that right before presenting time. I dont think I can ever get all sikhs perspectives in school.

  9. ness
    March 25, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I’ve been finishing my spot check presentation, making charts about do they think they use too much electricity and Will the world have enough electricity in the future?. Before I came home I asked some teachers about their opions of their use of electricity and some information about how they use their electricity. My dad showed me a website of the electricity in Thailand and I’m hoping to look at the website another time. I also added some more slides about other people’s opioins and how they can help.

  10. Johann
    March 25, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Well at school I did most of the work and I dictated @Mick to do my proof reading HAHAHAHAHAHAH (evil Laugh). For my thingy I did a essay or a report with some things on it but very useful info. At home I did some work for my video and I did some more proofreading and I watched a video about internet safety and what people thought about it.

    • Mick
      March 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm

      Hi Johann,

      I think you need to proofread again.

    • Nathan
      March 26, 2010 at 7:24 am

      I don’t quite understand all that stuff about proofread???

      Nathan

  11. Arne
    March 25, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    I have gathered information from only secondaries because they are most likely to know more about the internet than elementary. Most my information said that they have a facebook,twitter or a myspace account. I am going to present my information by doing a Ted talk.

  12. Ping Ping
    March 25, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    I pretty much made 2 main steps that I did to make my spot-check. I took time on how I will do my steps:

    1. I planned and made an outline of how my prezi is going to look like and how I will talk through it. I tried to make it as simple as possible. I also used the strategy of consulting other people.
    2. I did some surveys about people’s opinions and I got pretty obvious results. Then, I just made a simple prezi with all the words I need.

  13. March 25, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Ingredient 1
    I think in the pet market in Chatuchak they treat pets really bad . They also sell danger species witch it means they are not allowed to sell them
    I really feel sad and cruel about the pet store because their away from their mother too early and most of them feeded drugs to make them active so, more customer will my more pets so they can earn money. I really hope this stuff will be lesser then now. I fear that this situation won’t stop forever That’s my fear.
    Ingredient 2
    85 percent people I interviewed said It’s really cruel ways to sell animals and many of them said it’s hurting the pets. I feel like they don’t care. If they were the they how would they feel?
    Ingredient 3
    I think in the economic ways they want sell money so they can earn more money and also costomers it’s cheap to buy

  14. Mick
    March 25, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    What I did was I gathered pictures for my presentation (I’m doing a powerpoint). I still have pretty much to do because my computer has 2003 but the school’s is 2007 and as most of you know 2003 is pretty useless. I have quite a lot to do on my presentation. I also wrote what I have to say (The answers from the surveys and information). I also ask people I know to comment on the blog.

  15. Nathan
    March 26, 2010 at 7:23 am

    What I did tonight was I am putting together a powerpoint but I have version 2003 and its pretty useless. I: I feel that car Idling is bad for the inviroment because it destroys everything trees, poeple animals and the world, and I hope they will learn that what they are doing is very bad for the enviroment. I fear that they will never stop and never learn.
    II: 95 percent of people think it is not nessesary to warm up your car and it does affect every part of your body because the lung pumps air into your blood and the blood spreads around. They feel that they really should stop and because its destroyimng the enviroment and they hope people would stop and they are scared no one would stop.
    III: I think other people around the world would say about Car Idling is it is very bad for the enviroment and it should stop or some would say but we need to warm up our cars or else it wont be good for our cars. But i’m not quite sure about ingredient 3 because I haven’t asked everyone around the world.

    Nathan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

