Home > Exhibition, Sharing the Planet > Sharing Session One

Sharing Session One

Today you had the chance to make connections with people in other Year 6 classes who are studying similar issues to yours. Sometimes, the connections were really clear and obvious. Sometimes, you had to think quite hard to see if connections existed.

Watch the slideshow and reflect on the session. Here’s some things to think about:

  • What went well?
  • What was easy?
  • What did not go well?
  • What was difficult?
  • How did you feel during the session?
  • How did people’s personalities (no names please) affect your ability to share your ideas?
  • Did you connect with people you think you really will be able to collaborate with effectively?

Make a comment to tell us your thoughts.

  1. Samantha
    March 24, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    I think that the group I was in went well because we all shared our ideas and some of the information we found during our exhibhition time. My group also worked well because we all collabarated and were open-minded. It was easy when I had to find the people we are connected to because for a couple of minutes I was looking for people and then I found a table that were talking about marine life/ocean/fishing. I think that when 2 boys came to join us we asked them what they were doing for the exhibition and it was related to my topic, they said it wasn’t related so I think thats what didn’t go well because they did not join in to our discussion. I think that sometimes we were talking about the subject (ocean/marine life/fishing) and I didn’t understand or sometimes we would talk about an irrelevent subject. I feel better than I did before because now I have a better and wider understanding of my topic through sharing ideas together. I think that I did connect with people that I could collabarate well during the exhibition because I already know the people well and I understand them and their points of view.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 24, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      That’s great, Samantha. You have really explained clearly what we are trying to achieve this year – genuine, real collaboration and not forced cooperation.

    • Nathan
      March 24, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      Hi Samantha

      You sound like you are very exited and you like working in your group.
      I think you might work best when you are working with someone else.

      Nathan

      • 17nikkis
        March 24, 2010 at 4:44 pm

        Hi Nathan,
        I agree with you that Samantha might work best in a group. 🙂

        • Sasha
          March 24, 2010 at 5:21 pm

          I agree with both of you.

          • Arne
            March 24, 2010 at 5:45 pm

            Yes me too because she might get more information than just working alone.

  2. Ranvir
    March 24, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I had no idea what was going on. I went with this guy from 6AR and our topics didnt even connect. I finally found a group of girls from 6AR that really related to my topic. It was quite hard to find a group on the whole and I walked off alone.

    I managed 10 minutes disscussing with them.

    • Nathan
      March 24, 2010 at 4:31 pm

      Hey Ranvir

      I don’t quite understand what you said
      I think you could have put abit more effort into that.

      Nathan

    • 17nikkis
      March 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm

      Hi Ranvir,
      Can you please add more detailed because I didn’t quit understand. 🙂

    • Sasha
      March 24, 2010 at 5:23 pm

      Ranvir,
      Could you please explain to all of us what you mean because quite a few people said that they are confused.

      Sasha

      • Ranvir
        March 25, 2010 at 7:41 am

        I’ll explain what I explained in 4 sentences.

        I found it hard to find a group because nobody had a topic like me. I managed it with the help of Mr.Sam and I got with a group that I managed to discuss my stuff with for 10 mins.

        • Mr. Sam
          March 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

          You know, if you made your comments more detailed they would be more interesting to read and more people would reply to you with interesting points/questions instead of asking you to write more or asking you what you mean – which gets boring.

  3. Nathan
    March 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    What went well were that the people I were talking to weren’t fooling around but the conversation did not last very long. It was easy to talk because there was no one inturrupting and we all said some very interesting things. Nothing went wrong and nothing was difficult. I felt abit bored after the conversation died away. One boy in 6LC he looked like he was really listening so he kind of encoraged me. Think we would work well together.

    Nathan

    • Sasha
      March 24, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      Nathan,
      What did that guy from 6LC encourage you to do?

      Sasha

  4. March 24, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    I really liked this session with collaborating with others from different classes. It gave me new perspectives on plastic bags. It went well because we all shared lots of ideas and talked about why each thing was like that. The thing that was really easy was that my group and I had the same topic so we got different opinions and understood more about what we are trying to look deeper into. It was also easy because when we went into the staff room to find people who have similar topics we found each other quite quickly and started discussing at once. The things that did not go well were sometimes the people who I was talking to get distracted by other groups or the DJ kit. Sometimes we also got irrelevant in our conversations but we realized and got back on track. I felt happy that we had the time to discuss and get a deeper understanding on people’s hopes, fears, feelings and thinking. We all had different personality’s so that lead to different ideas which made us take a lot of notes to maybe help us in the future of our exhibition. I think it was hard communicating at times maybe sometimes we should collaborate and discuss our information to get a better knowledge on the subject, but not all the time because it might start to get annoying and it will be hard to get back on track.

    • Sasha
      March 24, 2010 at 5:27 pm

      Rosna,
      You sound like you had a really good conversation and you learnt a lot from other people and got other peoples perspective of the use of plastic bags.

      Sasha

  5. Ping Ping
    March 24, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    The fact that there were so many people made finding groups quite a challenge. I was able to make quite an open-minded group that has boys and girls since about 10 people chose the same topic but still had to spilt into 2 groups by our decision because there were many people. We also had good time sharing ideas and jotting down notes because we all respect each other in a way and everybody is sensible. It was easy to get the group to respect each other and listen and reply to others’ ideas. It was also quite simple to see that people have a topic similar to mines because there are not many forms to write my issue that is “Solutions to the decline of earth’s resources”. Some guy made lots of trouble for me since he came and asked me how to create a game in a particular multiplayer game and he always stalked me around. This also led to a problem because there is limited time and this guy was following me for something like 10 minutes so I had to quickly find a group to work with. This session showed me how working together is like and how hard it’s going to be in real life. My group had a guy who always said U-bur and it was quite annoying so my group had to calm him down and that wasted time as well. The positive part was that Ms. Angela talked about how water from toilet seats would be naturally turned into clean water was quite fascinating. I could collaborate with many people as a strength so there is not much trouble collaborating with the people in my group and my group was most of the time on-task.

    Ping Ping

    • 17lucam
      March 24, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      Wow Ping Ping,
      I see a lot of things happened.

  6. 17nikkis
    March 24, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Our assignment today was based on finding the same class fellows or class mate who were doing same topic re-search as I. Although it was crowded it was easy for us to spot each other. Then we gather our selves in a group and shared our views. In our group they were a lot of us that got distracted, the reason being it may be a small room. But I tried my best to concentrate. The most difficult thing that I thought was they were a lot irreverent things which didn’t really related to our topic. After sharing our views together I felt confident because now that I can see the bigger picture after talking to my group-member. Our groups were confident and open-minded to share our opinions so it kind of encourage me to be confident too and it also encourage me to speak louder so, I tried my best to let my group members hear me.

  7. Sasha
    March 24, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Today I wasn’t at school but by watching the slide show I think that everyone worked well together and I bet all of the groups got interesting ideas and were having a great conversation.

    What I thought was weird was that only some groups had a mix of boys and girls for e.g some groups had only girls or only boys but from the slide show I saw only a few groups with boys and girls. I wonder why that is.

    It shows how interested everyone is in their issue by the pictures that Mr Sam took because most of them showed the group having a conversation with the other people listening carefully, and taking notes of what the other people in their group were saying.

    Sasha

    • 17lucam
      March 24, 2010 at 5:38 pm

      You don’t need to put Sasha at the bottom because we can see that underneath your gravatar.

      • Sasha
        March 24, 2010 at 6:40 pm

        Okay Luca.

  8. Sujinna
    March 24, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    I think that the group I was in was really collaborating because we were sharing lots of ideas and I also got new questions of my inquiry. It was quite hard for me to find people because the boys were hiding their tags so I couldn’t really see. I was a little confused when there was so many people in the staff room and also I could hardly hear my group.

    I felt normal because we have conversations in class. Non of the people’s attitudes stopped me from collborating which is a very good thing. I am not so sure if I can collaborate my work with the rest of the people with the same connections because sometimes they leave me out and just talk whatever.

  9. 17lucam
    March 24, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Well to be honest, the only good thing was the amount of work I completed.

    I think part two of step one because I had people’s answers on the blog, also the you tube videos about cyber-bullying. I even found the one Ms. Robyn Trevaud used about Joe.

    The bad things were my group (4 girls) they started talking about face book, MSN, etc and probably the only thing they achieved was about 2-4 questions. I left them and completed lots more. Also (no offense) the internet safety group started talking to the 4 girls and the girls got distractet but it didn’t affect me.

    I don’t really think that anything is a challenge yet.

    I felt relaxed because there were no nerves in me or I was to carried away in my work that I didn’t notice anything.

    Well those 4 girls affected me because they got carried away in a irrelevant conversations so I didn’t share ideas because I didn’t want to get involved in the conversation about face book, MSN, etc.

    I don’t think I collaborated well because the 4 girls were talking about irrelevant things.

    • Karam
      March 24, 2010 at 5:46 pm

      It’s really good that you weren’t affected by the 4 girls Luca!

  10. Taku
    March 24, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    What was essay was we thought of things easily.But 1 person just wasted time.

    • 17nikkis
      March 24, 2010 at 5:42 pm

      Hi Taku,
      can you please explain more?

      • Ranvir
        March 25, 2010 at 7:42 am

        What was hard?

  11. Karam
    March 24, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I think that the finding poeple to collaborate with was a difficult task but after a awhile I found ten people! Now we had to simplify our selves into smaller groups so we really had to think for this task. But we finally managed to do this task. But I have to admit A few irrelevent conversations started up from time to time but genrally it went pretty well. I am looking forward to working with my fellow collaborators again.

    • ness
      March 24, 2010 at 9:01 pm

      I agree at first finding the people was hard but then we at last found a group.

  12. Arne
    March 24, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    The things that went well is that I found my group easily but we were missing 1 person but that was alright. Then we started to find connections and topics about issues and what we were actually researching into. The difficult part was finding the questions because we didn’t what to ask. We were actually researching about different ways.

  13. 17saery
    March 24, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Um…. sorry but I wasn’t at school…

  14. Cael
    March 24, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Hi Guys!!!

    Most of the things in my group went well, we started working and talking as soon as posible, I was quite oppen minded. I think it was quite easy to get in to the groups and get their names down. the things that didn’t go well were, we were a bit silly and loud, Poverty had to groups one with 8 girls and one with 3 boys and noon of the girls wanted to come to talk with the boys. The difficult bit for me was when we had to talk about HOw do the people involed think feel and say because we didn’t know and we were quesing. i feelt good after I got into my group because I didnt think that there will be people doing something simmilar to me.

    Cael

  15. March 24, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    What went well?
    I went good by all the people sharing their think,hope,feel,fear so It went well very nice
    What was easy?
    It was to speak because noone intruted and also we takes turns and wait for people to speak out loud
    What did not go well?
    sometimes the boys just go to another topic as being silly and not being serious. and go avoe what were we tallking about
    What was difficult?
    I was diffcalut to liten to some of them because they speak quite or being silly when their tallking.
    How did you feel during the session?
    I fleat quite confusied becaus wasn’t sure

    How did people’s personalities (no names please) affect your ability to share your ideas?
    yah!! some people I was tallking they been doing some silly stuff so I got annoied of that

  16. Amy
    March 24, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I think that the fact that all of the girls in my group that are doing female rights really do have a passion and we sort of had a fight which I think is good because it really shows me that they really are passionate I think that went well. I think that the easiest thing we did was really tell stories about what has happened in the past about female rights and gendercide. I think that the fact that each girl copied there friend like first I asked one of my group members what exactly they wanted to search about and she said male and female equal opportunities and when I asked my other group members they said that they wanted to do that as well but they didn’t seem that passionate about it. The only difficulties I had were the fact that I was trying to persuade the other girls in my group to do something they truly are passionate about not just the same thing as there friends. I felt angry when I talked to my group members about gendercide and I think that’s what will help to motivate me to keep going. Well some of my group members had a fight with me about looking at the males point of view and I think that was helpful to me because I can not just say men are evil but before I should see things from there point of view. I think that I made great connections with my group members because they all were really angry about the rights us females have.

  17. 17mikit
    March 24, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Hello!!
    I think that the group I was in went not well, because I was become very shy, so I couldn’t share the idea many times. But I was surprised, that group was about 9 or 10 people(I guess). I think share the idea was difficult for me.

  18. Mick
    March 24, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    I had a group of 5 people. (Inculding me.) There were not much people but one person was a little bit silly. Still everyone shared ideas and we got a lot of ideas. I think it was quite difficult because my topic was slightly different from people I connnected with. I look forward to working with them again and to sharing new ideas with them.

  19. ness
    March 24, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Did you connect with people you think you really will be able to collaborate with effectively?
    I was the only girl in the group, and I was fine with that (Mick, Ping2,Irvin and Bek). Our group had about 7 people and we splited in 2 groups. We were collaborating in Ms Angela’s room, nobody was in the room but when some people came in they started to annoy my group and we didn’t consentrate. Also I liked that Ms Angela came to help because I didn’t know that the cycle of making mineral water takes centuries. It’s not really revelant but I learned it for the future.It was a good experience because I got to meet new people and everybody can actually help each other.Like I said before someone came in the room with his buddy and did nothing and was talking to the other friend that was in my group.Luckily, at the end everybody could concentrate and awnser and share ideas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment