Home > Action, Blogging, Exhibition, Sharing the Planet > Questions For Exhibition

Questions For Exhibition

For the exhibition I inquired about agriculture and how it is bad for the environment. I wanted to get peoples opinions about this issue.

Here is the questions for step 1:

What do you think, feel hope, and fear about agriculture and it’s effect on the world.

Here are some of my exhibition research questions:

Where do you buy your food from?

Where is the place you buy it from and how far is it from your house?

What types of food do you buy most. Not what countries’ food but what is it?

Where do these products come from?

  1. Ranvir
    March 23, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Any department store. I buy ONLY ORGANIC FOOD.

    2 minutes if no traffic

    Pasta, Ham, noodles, hotdogs, vegetables, soups, salads, water, bread, shampoo, deodorant, soap, rice, milk, juice, oil, and snacks. [So far, I can think of only those]
    Not sure

    • Mick
      March 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

      Thanks for the info Ranvir,

      Are you sure you buy only organic food? Also deodrant and shampoo aren’t food.

  2. March 23, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    I think that we buy and eat food that we don’t need. The strawberries and raspberries that have travelled all the way to Thailand from the USA and are for sale at Villa, for example.

    I feel disappointed in myself because I often eat products that are not local and have used a lot of energy and waste materials to get to my plate.

    I fear that people are too lazy to do anything about it. We have become too used to getting whatever we want whenever we want it. Can we change? I fear not.

    But,I hope so.

  3. March 23, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I am not that sure what agriculture really means. I know what it is but it isn’t the right meaning. I checked in the dictionary it is kind of hard to understand. So is there anyone that could help explain to me what that really means so I can write a effectful comment?

    • 17nikkis
      March 23, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      HI! Rosna,
      I feel this is a very simple way to help you understand………
      Agriculture is the production of food, feed, fiber and other goods by the systematic growing and harvesting of plants and animals. It is the science of working land and using it to raise plants and animals.:)

  4. Sujinna
    March 23, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    I think that alot of us buy food that we don’t even eat so it just turns out to be waste. I normally but my food from villa and tops. These places are not so far from my house, it would take me around 3 mins without any traffic. I actually don’t really know where they come from but I know they come from some country

    I feel not right because I often eat alot of imported stuff because we live in Thailand so we should actually eat things from our country.

    I fear people would just be too lazy and ignore everything and not change their eating lives

    I hope that people would not become lazy.

  5. ♥Ness♥
    March 23, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    My maid buys the food from Villa, Tops or Foodland and sometimes central or emporuim. The nearest place to buy it is a minute drive whether traffic or no traffic. Mostly we buy fruits,chips,snacks,vegetables,rice. I think these products comes from farms.

    • Mick
      March 24, 2010 at 10:27 am

      Hi Ness,

      All food come from farms, what I mean is what country/town.

  6. 17nikkis
    March 23, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    We mostly buy our food from the Central Food Hall supermarket at Central Chidlom. I feel that they have a large selection of fresh fruits, vegetables and their meat selection is also very wide to choose from. I feel it is hygienic and organic too. It is what we choose to buy and consume to have healthy eating habits.

    • Mick
      March 24, 2010 at 9:59 am

      Hi Nikki,

      Even if you say its probably hygienic and organic your’re still not sure if its organic or not.

  7. mick's mum
    March 24, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    I always buy food from Villa and Tops because they are closed to my place. I usually concern about freshness, taste and price. For example, I bought imported strawberries as they had better taste and only a little bit more expensive compared to local ones. Apples that we eat everyday come from all around the world: New Zealand, USA, South Africa and China. Imported food are sold everywhere which is good for consumers, they choose what they like. I have never realized about the issue of where the products are from. From now on, I will be more concern about this and buy more local food. In my opinion, people get used to buy what they like. It will be very difficult to change their behaviors.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 24, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      I’ve also been through the same learning experience. Until Mick started doing his research in the How the world works unit, I was buying the food I liked – especially stuff I couldn’t get when I lived in China and Bangladesh. However, most of those products have come a long distance to be sold here. That is bad for the environment and it also doesn’t support local businesses. I really try to buy Thai products now and, whenever possible, organic products too.

  8. Matt
    March 25, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I try to buy as much fruit and vegetables as possible from the local market on Sukhumvit 53. I would prefer to spend my money helping a small independent businessperson than a large corporation such as Tops or Big C. I buy a lot of broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms Bell pepper, eggs and zucchini. I am not sure where the produce is coming from, none of it comes with stickers to indicate its country or region of origin.

  9. Mick's cousin
    March 25, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    We always buy food from Villa and Tops. Both in Thonglor and it is 5 mins from our house. We buy many things such as meat, vegetables, snacks etc. It comes from many countries such as Thailand, Australia, USA, NZ.

  10. a passerby...
    March 27, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    My mum usually buys food from Tops and Villa. They’re not that far from home, I think? About 5 minutes or so. We buy mostly meat, vegetables and fruits. I eat a lot of chips and lollies so I buy tons of those as well. The food comes from lots of different countries, but most are from Thailand.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

