Home > Sharing the Planet > Thinking Big – Digital Citizenship

Thinking Big – Digital Citizenship

This morning an interesting thought came to me – it was one of those things that once it was in my head I wondered why I hadn’t thought of it earlier.

For the PYP exhibition you will be looking at the Big Picture. I am guessing many of you already have or are already thinking about an idea of an issue/topic that you might want to focus on – that is great. I too was actually thinking about issues/topics that could work and I thought about “Digital Citizenship“.

You might think – What does Digital Citizenship have to do with the Big Picture and the Compass? – but take a moment and think about it.

Just look at the Organising Theme of the unit – Sharing the Planet. Two of the main points raised in this theme are

  • communities and their relationships between them
  • peace and conflict

Thinking about these I can see the connection to Digital Citizenship straight away. You all have your own online community (Facebook, MSN, email, etc) and I know many of you have already to come to realise that there is a need to focus on “peace and conflict” in your online communities.

I thought that I would share this idea/connection with you. I know that before this morning I had not made the connection between being safe/responsible online and the PYP exhibition and I thought you might be in the same position that I was.

Just some food for thought – Mr Will

  1. Ranvir
    March 18, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I really like this video 😀

    • Mr. Sam
      March 18, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      Why do you really like this video?

  2. Ranvir
    March 19, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    It shows you the sense of what digital citizenship means

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

