Home > Sharing the Planet > “Soulsearching”

“Soulsearching”

In order for us to work out what issues we want to focus on for the exhibition, we have had to do a lot of soulsearching. We have spent a lot of time thinking and talking about what we truly care about, what our passions are, what evokes strong emotions, what affects us personally and what we could have a tangible effect on.

Today, we started to reach some conclusions. One thing that really helped was this interesting process:

Do You Know Your Purpose?

We also used the “Zones of Effect” in order to think carefully about whether or not things affect us personally or whether or not we are part of the problem. This was interesting because examples like the Earth’s finite resources are global issues, but also each one of us is part of the problem (and also part of the solution).

Once we started getting a clear idea of the issues we were interested in and that they were personally relevant, we made a display that showed our issues and the connections between them.

Let’s carry on with this process on the Blog. Make a comment with your issue and then reply to other people’s issues that are connected to yours.

  1. Ranvir
    March 18, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Amy and I are planning to be partners for the project because we are sikhs and we are finally doing

    “HUMAN RIGHTS TOWARDS SIKHS AT NIST”

    What we did was fantastic.

    • Amy
      March 18, 2010 at 5:19 pm

      I agree with Ranvir,
      That since he and I are sikh we maybe should do something about our community.

      • Sasha
        March 18, 2010 at 5:33 pm

        Thats a good idea.

        • March 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm

          I agree with Sasha. Sometimes if you have 2 great ideas you put it together you could be interested in the same thing. So its good you are doing something also about your own community.

          • Mr. Sam
            March 18, 2010 at 6:16 pm

            I’m not sure I agree with you, actually. I think your issues were quite different. Amy’s was about female rights in the Sikh community, and Ranvir’s was about racism. These are not the same issue at all.

            Amy, I think it would be a shame for you to change your issue. The issue of women’s rights is a very interesting one.

            Ranvir, I think it would be a shame for you to only focus on Sikhs when racism affects many other races, cultures, nationalities and religions.

          • Amy
            March 18, 2010 at 7:28 pm

            I agree Mr.Sam,
            I never thought of it that way. I think I should do my exhibition based on female right in the sikh community because then I can make connections and learn many interesting facts.

        • March 18, 2010 at 6:19 pm

          After thinking about what you have jsut said Mr. Sam. I kind of agree they had very good ideas and both different.

  2. 17nikkis
    March 18, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    My issue is about Polluting plastic bags. Rosna and I were wondering that, if we tell the supermarket to Re-think and try not to used plastic bags and provide us cloth bags instead. As far as i know that Central is providing us with the central cloth bags to put our things in. I think that might help so that we don’t have to pollute with the plastic bags. 🙂

  3. Ranvir
    March 19, 2010 at 8:28 am

    I see…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

