Home > Sharing the Planet > Hopes and Fears for your Local Area

Hopes and Fears for your Local Area

List some of the things you like and some of the things you dislike about your local area.

Idenfity three hopes you have for the future of your local area.

Identify three fears that you have about the future of your local area.

Bonus: Can you go out in your local area and take photographs of the things you like and dislike? Could you make a video? Could you present your work in a Pecha Kucha style using PowerPoint or Prezi?

Photograph taken using Google Earth
  1. Amy
    March 15, 2010 at 11:25 am

    I like the way Bangkok allows people from around the world to visit and the way there are different cultures here. I dont like the way we have problems and the way the economy has dropped here. I want a woman priminister to make a change of human rights. I hope to see good improvements happening to Thailand forever and I hope for Thailand to become an eco-friendly country. I do not want there to be wars here or there to be more problems in Thailand. Neither do I want people to die or there to be a civil war.

  2. Ranvir
    March 15, 2010 at 11:32 am

    I love soi 24 because I have Tops, Emporium and an oil pump so I dont need to go far. I hope that the protest stops, I hope tomorrow school is closed and I hope we attract more tourists. I fear the protest, I fear the pollution and I obviously fear my fears.

  3. Sasha
    March 15, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    I like where I live because there are a lot of plants and trees, its safe and we can do many activities there for example ride bike, jogging and swimming.
    I dislike where I live because there are not many people so I don’t have as many friends as I had before but I think its because where I live is kind of knew so there is still construction going on around this area.

  4. Ping Ping
    March 15, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    My local area is a place that sells everything. From chinatown to klongtom since my house is only a 15 minute walk from chinatown and klongtom. I usually go and buy foods for my family with my dad since the food there is so good. My local area also has some little sport lawns to play soccer and basketball and all the sports that you could think of. The problem is that there are not many green parks to keep people up with nature and for them to have easy access to the park although it is only 2 MRT stations. Because my family lives near the train station, the MRT, there is a variety of people from the world so I have to be careful of burglers. Another fear about my local area is that people throw trash into the klongs and people have to waste time picking it up and sending it to a recycling center.

  5. Johann
    March 16, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    My Local Area
    List 1: Likes
    1. There is a Tops so we can buy groceries easily
    2. I have a lot a of friends in my local area so I can communicate with them easily.
    3. Both of my parents can walk to work.
    4. It is in a nice location and it is close to school
    5. It is close to the BTS
    6. It is close to Emporium

    List 2: Dislikes
    1. It is far away from the airport
    2. There are some mean people
    3. Sometimes there can be lots of traffic
    4. It can get nosy
    5. Lots of construction
    6. It is far away from City Bank.
    My 3 hopes for my local area.
    1. A golf cart that takes you up and down from the soi.
    2. More pavements
    3. For the electric generator to move to soi 39.

    My 3 Fears for my local area

    1. Lots of pollution
    2. More construction
    3. The society will become so big that people won’t want to live there any more

    Johann

    • Ranvir
      March 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      for list 2, do you mean noisy or do you actually mean nosy.

      • Johann
        March 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

        Well a bit of both there are nosy and the other one THEEEE:D

      • Mr. Sam
        March 16, 2010 at 8:05 pm

        Ha ha ha! A classic example of why editing is so incredibly important.

        Nice one, Ranvir.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 16, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      Hi Johann,

      What do you mean when you say “The society will become so big that people won’t want to live there any more”?

      Mr. Sam

  6. Ranvir
    March 16, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    HOPES:
    1. All the protest should stop
    2. Make more pavements so people can walk easily/more easier
    3. Build more sightseeing places to attract more tourists instead of losing them [due to the UDD protest in Larb 11]

    FEARS:
    1. Protest might not stop in Larb 11 so people can lose their lives and it is hard to reach places because roads are closing.
    2. Make more bumpers for safety and to prevent accidents

    LIKES OF MY AREA:
    1. Emporium
    2. Tops
    3. Oil Pump/station
    4. Coffee shops
    5. Many apartments
    6. Tennis courts
    7. Movie hall/theatre
    8. Gym
    9. Swimming pool and 9 ball pool
    10. park
    11. FRIENDS
    12. Many yummy and famous restaurants

    DISLIKES OF MY AREA:
    1. No pavements
    2. not too many bumpers
    3. Atleast 1 traffic light should be added to prevent accidents and so people can cross roads more easily
    4. KNOWN FOR TRAFFIC AT 3PM TILL 5 PM-need more SMART policemen. We have
    absolute ELEPHANTS for our policemen [ALSO REGARDING THEIR WEIGHT-VERY FAT].
    5. Not much for ENTERTAINMENT. Only about 3
    x-( x-( x-(
    P.S. I’m not trying to insult policemen here 😀

    • Mr. Sam
      March 16, 2010 at 8:07 pm

      Hi Ranvir,

      What kind of “bumpers” do you mean?

      What kind of training do you think the policemen need?

      Mr. Sam

  7. Luca
    March 16, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    What I like about mt compound:
    It is very peacefull there.
    There are mant fun kids to play with there.
    Not many cars (not much polluted).
    I can bike around the compound.
    There is a little shop outside where we buy ice-cream for dessert and if we run out of milk, eggs, flour, etc and we really need it we go to that little shop. Also the products are quite cheap(not all though).
    The compound is close to a golfing range so we can go golfing on the weekends.
    The compound has a playground, a patch of grass for picnics, games and sports and it has a big local pool (but we also have a personal pool at our house).
    There are lots of types of plant, trees and shrubs.
    It also has three ponds with nice colourful fish (but at our house we have two fish aquariums).

    What I don’t like about my compound:
    We can’t play ball games but we can do it in our personal parking lot (everyone has their own parking lot that can fit 2-4 cars).
    The guards are very strict.
    The piece of grass for picnics, games and sports is very small.
    There are lots of dead frogs that have been run over by cars on the road and it looks disguisting.
    People break eachother’s property because they play ball games roughly.

    My three hopes for the future of my compound:
    1. That there will be more grassland for picnics, games and sports so that more people can enjoy that piece of grass.
    2. That the rules will become more fun for kids because we want to play ball games like soccer.
    3. Make the pathways of our compound wider because at the moment people walk on the road because the pathways is not wide enough and sometimes is blocked of by trees and sometimes people trip over the roots.

    My three fears for the future of my compound:
    1. That the shop outside will go out of business because a new 7/11 came further down the street.
    2. That the older kids playing roughly will break people’s property will ban all games and make their parents pay.
    3. That the piece of grass will be removed because they have to build something new like a new playground or a rubish dump.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 16, 2010 at 8:09 pm

      Hi Luca,

      You have contradicted yourself a bit. You say you want to be able to play ball games, but you also say that property has been broken because people play ball games roughly!

      Mr. Sam

  8. Mick
    March 16, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    My house is located in Sukhumvit 55

    LIKES:

    Convinient because near restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Near my cousins’ house and my grandma’s house. Near police station. Near my mum’s work place. Not much poor people. Good place to invest money. Land price goes up.

    DISLIKES:

    Too much traffic, apartments and giant buildings. Sometimes when red shirts go to protest they come and collect the people they meet on the police station which is near my house. Lots of garbage everywhere. When they build things it is very loud. There keeps being car accidents. Not much trees.

    HOPES:

    People will stop littering.
    There will be an attempt to plant more trees.
    People will realize they are polluting and building new things and will stop pollutiong so much.

    FEARS:

    There will be many buildings and apartments.
    There will be even more traffic.
    The street will still be filthy and full of garbage.

    Mick

    • Mr. Sam
      March 16, 2010 at 8:10 pm

      Hi Mick,

      How do you think you could get Thai people to stop throwing rubbish around and polluting?

      Mr. Sam

  9. Sasha
    March 16, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    LIKES:

    1. We can do many activities for e.g swim, jog/ sprint and ride a bicycle.
    2. There is a petrol station nearby so we don’t have to go far to add petrol to our car.
    3. There is Jet Jiffy so we can buy stuff there.
    4. My house is big, and has a garden so I can stay either inside or outside.
    5. There are a lot of trees and plants in the neighborhood.
    6. There is a lot of free space.
    7. The neighborhood is peaceful and calm.
    8. Everybody is friendly and kind.
    9. The guards are very nice, like to talk to people they don’t even know and help people who need help.
    10. At my house we always reuse plastic bags.

    DISLIKE:
    (I am not done yet.)

    1. The water in the waterfall is dirty.
    2. Many cars come by while we are doing activities and other times too.
    3. There is construction going one while people are still asleep.
    4. Sometimes there is a lot of traffic while I am on my way back home from school because there are many cars parked on the side of the road.
    5. Sometimes the garbage truck doesn’t come, so there is a lot of garbage.
    6. The roads are bumpy so there are certain activities we can’t do.

    HOPES:

    1. I hope in the future there will be many plants and trees.
    2. I hope in the future there won’t be as much traffic because as I get older my sister and I will have a lot of homework and we need to complete it.
    3. I hope in the future people still treat each other well and are kind to each other.

    I am not done my FEARS yet.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 16, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      Hi Sasha,

      Why do you think construction work is often done at night time when people are trying to sleep? What could be done about it?

      Mr. Sam

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

