Are you as passionate as Jamie Oliver?

How do you know that Jamie Oliver really cares about what he’s talking about in this TED talk?

What is his wish for the future of the world?

What do you think of his presentation style?

Is there something that you feel strongly about, the way Jamie feels strongly about food?

  1. 17doyeona
    March 15, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Because James Oliver he really make his sentence powerful and attractive like he makes us to want to see more about what his talking and we can see how much effort that he put on his show.
    He wish that in the future the people will be more healthy by stop eating fast-food sugar and start eating healthy like vegetables
    I think his presenting style is really powerful and attractive because I can look his interested
    Yes I do I feel we should really eat more of vegetables and eat less fast-food.
    .

  2. Ranvir
    March 15, 2010 at 9:41 am

    My mom and I watched the video and we decided that Jamie Oliver cares because he’s been working on it for seven years now and he also said “I’m doing this America because I care” in the middle of the presentation. Oliver wants the world to be fit,healthy and know the names of all foods. His presentation was beyond our expectations because he didnt have to look at anything. Not even the screen or the script he left on his desk. I feel we should have a balanced diet for example have fast food once in 2 weeks [like me].

    I was shocked to see all the food that went into that 16 year old girl’s diet every week

    Prem-Ranvir’s mom

  3. Mick
    March 15, 2010 at 9:43 am

    We know that Jamie Oliver cares by his, voice and his presentation. He really cares because you can see that he is really focused on this. His presentation is both serious and in some occasions funny. He has a good presentation style. His presentation is not boring. But sometimes it is hard for him to remember what he wants to say. He wishes that the world can be healthier by eating the right food. He wants to get rid of the problem about people being fat. The issue he is talking about is really important. As he said in the US almost every main causes of dead is from health-related diseases. For me I feel strongly about the environment and taking care and saving it.

    • Mick
      March 15, 2010 at 10:06 am

      I think I didn’t write enough so I’ll write more:

      His presentation style:

      He has a really good presentation style. Involving both digital and live experiments. He showed many interesting fact in a really interesting way. Even though he had stops and mistakes in his presentation that is really common. We could also see he wanted to do this presentation.

      Something I really care about:

      I really care about the environment. I really want to make the Earth green. I really care about saving animals that are endangered. I really care about planting trees and crops in an environmentally friendly way. I want to really make the world a good place and a green place.

  4. Sujinna
    March 15, 2010 at 9:50 am

    I know that Jamie Oliver cares about what he is talking about by his body Language, how he acts and the way he is talking. The way that he is talking sounds like that he is worried and very serious to what he is talking about. I think that his wish for the future of this world is for everybody to eat correctly. To eat the right things and to eat the things that are good for you because most people in America and England don’t even know what vegetables are, all of this is for us to be healthy, it doesn’t affect him if we don’t eat correctly but he CARES for what we are doing/eating. I really liked his presentation style. He is not standing still behind the podium or whatever you call the thingy. He has movement he is walking around and showing people with real things if he can like the sugar in the milk. That makes his presentation less boring and people will want to listen/watch the presentation. The other thing that doesn’t make his presentation boring is that he doesn’t say things over and over and over again. He might say some things again but what he says again is the very main things and what us to remember it or it is very very important, so I guess that that is fine.
    I have many things that I really care for like Jamie Oliver but the most important things are deforestation and the equality between human and human. Deforestation is important to me because I know that if we don’t stop it now, we won’t be able to live because as we know, trees produce oxygen for us and if we don’t have oxygen, we will die. I also feel very angry about the equality between humans and humans because we live on the same planet, we share the place so why can’t we share things equally? I feel angry because it is not fair. Imagine the people in Haiti and other places where there are natural disasters or wars, they don’t have the right to do things as they want anymore, they don’t have freedom anymore, all they can do is do what the higher people tell them what to do. The things they might have to do could be horrible or dangerous. They are asked to do that because the higher people, who have more money, bigger homes and more education is to scared that it will hurt or they will die, but actually that is also what the lower people think, they are scared of death and injuries. If we share equal rights then there probably would be no more wars in this world.

  5. Arne
    March 15, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Jamie Oliver had so much anger and and passion in him and that he wanted the world to change because people eat fast food, junk food which make them an obesity. The way he talks you can tell that he really cares about this. His wish for the future is that people get an education on food and to know what they are actually eating so they have knowledge on their health.I liked Jamie Oliver’s presentation style very much because there was a combination of styles he used. He used video clips,images and he did activities with the audiences. I do know the type of obesity’s like the Edwards Family but I never really noticed it much, a bit I didn’t care for fat people and how they eat. But After watching Oliver’s TED talk I really was inspired by him.

  6. Cael
    March 15, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I know that he cares because his voice and his passion. I think he wants every child to learn about food and familys to cook again. His presentation style wasnt so good but powerful. I feel strongly about peace/no war.

  7. 17saery
    March 15, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I know that he really cares about the thing he spoke because of his body language and of how he explanes what he wants to say. I can also know because of how and
    what he say. I think his wish for the future is to let people be heathy and to live much longer than now, so that people could be much happier. I think his presentation style is pecha kucha but then he doesn’t use many picture at all. And because that he REALLY REALLY cared he remembered every single word that he needed to say. (but maybe he made up what he was going to say on the stage) He didn’t miss any word and he didn’t need to stop to think what he was going to say the next. When I saw this TED talk it made me rethink. Am I eating the right food?? Am I really healthy?? It made me want to eat more vegitable and to think of a balance of food. It also made me think about my parents. Is my parents eating the right food?? Do I need to say anything to them??

    • 17saery
      March 15, 2010 at 10:12 am

      sorry for the space between “and” and “what”. I acsedently pressed enter.

  8. March 15, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Jamie Oliver has a lot of passion and expression in his words which makes him seem like he really cares about America and how to make the food better. He knows what he is going saying because he is passionate about it and wants to make a difference by the presentation he is making. Jamie Oliver sometimes loses his words because he is nervous but wants everyone to know what we all are doing in the earth which is affecting humans. I really was amazed when I heard the way you got up that stage and started explaining which made me feel very emotional that this actually happens in America. I was surprised that in American schools they didn’t teach about food and hygiene, it is a very serious matter and that’s why Jamie Oliver gave his best out to the audience to make a difference in the future about that exact situation.

    His wish for the future is just that Americans start caring and teaching about hygiene and foods and start contributing healthy food in the cafeteria’s of school. Jamie Oliver wanted to get all his ideas and information himself by actually going to the schools and meeting with the children talking about food and interviewing them. It was really scary to see that in England or was it America children don’t know much about food and get served junk food everyday at schools and at home.

    I think that his presentation style was really good he didn’t use posters which would be distracting. Nothing was that eye-catching for the audience to be distracted by. I think Jamie Oliver really knew his words and that’s why he didn’t need to look at the cards that much that he was holding with him. The videos made an effect in our life’s too because he actually went there to interview so gave us a better understanding of the situation.

    I feel strongly about many things, but never thought of letting it out for people to make a difference in the future. There are many things in Thailand even that makes me feel very deeply and strongly about. For example at class we talk about economy and the compass signs, it made me think about all the things that make me sad about all four subjects. For example there is the Traffic that makes me sad. Because of us getting stuck in traffic and causing pollution by leaving the engine on while waiting for the lights to turn green.

  9. 17lucam
    March 15, 2010 at 10:11 am

    I know that Jamie Oliver really cares because in one of the video’s with a family she showed what they at per week and said that what she is making is killing them because Justin ways 350 pounds (about 170 kilo’s)and he is only 12 years old! He also cares because he taught what is in milk at school an how much sugar milk gives them per week/month/5 years, he taught them what is eaten in school, what is added in the food and the kids who don’t know what vegetables are and he taught them what is healthy and what isn’t healthy and what vegetables are. P.S he also said that in schools french fries is vegetables. Another wish: to educate every child about sustainable food and for families to cook again.
    His wish for the future is that he wants that people can know how to cook 10 lifesaving meals, people can cook that the people who say what to cook put vegetables on the menu at schools and he also wants people to eat right food.
    I think his presentation style was simple and complicated at the same time because it was to the point and if he made a video or chart it wasn’t crazy and 2 minutes long but it was complicated because he put in alot of information and used big words and also made a quote. His style was also not boring because he wasn’t doing a powerpoint and every subject he did was well timed and wasn’t too long because other wise it would become to boring and people would fall asleep or switch there brains off.
    I think I feel strongly about is that the way we share resources like money and food.

  10. Nathan
    March 15, 2010 at 10:12 am

    I know that Jamie Oliver really cares because the way he is talking and how he shows people what he means and to stop people from obesity. Also in the end he had a wish which showed how much he cared. His wish for the future was to make people get an education on food and to know what they are eating and also to inspire families to cook again. His style of presenting is a great way because he did something physical and there was photos/images families and videos. It was a combination. I do feel abit strongly about the way people eat like Mc Donalds and all that stuff because Mc. Donalds puts an injection into the chicken to make it grow 3-4 times quicker than normal and they put an injection into the cow so when the cow has a calf it won’t have any legs so they dont have to walk it, and I find it really said.

    Nathan

  11. Alfie
    March 15, 2010 at 10:12 am

    I know that he was passionate about it because he was really entusiastic, he even had tears in his eyes at one point. I think his wish for the world is to save lives by making people eat better, he also wants to teach children to cook, so they can stop eating fast food. Jamie’s presentation skills were quite jumpy, he didn’t seem very relaxed, and couldn’t keep still, but his words were quite slangy, he used strong words when describing America’s diet. Using wheelbarrow of sugar was a good way of getting his point accross about the milk given to kids in school.
    I feel very strongly about homeless people on the streets and how they are treated. I also feel strongly about how polution is affecting the world.

  12. Johann
    March 15, 2010 at 10:13 am

    You can tell that Jamie Oliver cares about his topic because he is talking with passion and he has taken action over the past years. He also wants to inform people you can tell because his presentation looks very good and he has a lot of good information. His wish for the world is for people to eat healthy cook and be knowledgeable about food because he wants people to be elegant so when people go to nice restraints and eat good for and elegantly. I also think his wish is that people to not be fat and live longer. His presentation style is good because he has videos, graphs he is talking he is showing people in visual graphs. I think he got his message across very well

  13. 17mikit
    March 15, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Because Jamie Oliver cares his voice, used body language and changed his expression(angry or sad). He wish that in the futur everyone will be healthy more than before and stop to eat first food and eat healthy food(vegetables). I think his presentation style is looks very seriousness and he have passon. I do feel we should eat vegetables and don’t eat too much first food and junk food.

  14. karam
    March 15, 2010 at 10:19 am

    You can tell Jamie Oliver really cares about what he’s talking about because the way he says everyhing and also because he made me change my way and also because he taught me something and caused a shift of thinking in my mind. I think his presentation style was good because he had videos and statistics to prove what he was talking about.

  15. Amy
    March 15, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Every time Jamie Oliver speaks he speaks with passion and anger. I feel that whenever he speaks it burns the inside of me because of the anger he has and his passion when he talks I feel what he feels because when he talks on that stage he talks as if it’s about you or me. Jamie Oliver’s dream is to change this world eating issues and he wants to start of by America because he believes if he can make a change there he can make a change anywhere. Me and my mom discussed that when he talks he is comfortable he’s also showing that he isn’t better than any of us by talking about his children and wearing normal clothes unlike some people who wear suits and believe they are more powerful and better that us.

    When I was watching his video it helped me think of what my passion is because he gave me an idea to think over everything and remember the conversations I have had with my parents. I found my passion yesterday when my dad was talking about my new home and whose going to be the receptionist. My sister said she would like to be the receptionist of the apartment my dad is building but my dad said that it would be better to have a boy receptionist than a girl. When he said those few words the insides of me started to burn I started having questions. My passion is about woman rights and the way they are treated.

  16. Ping Ping
    March 15, 2010 at 10:20 am

    This TED talk is critically inspiring from his strong emotions and his motives about fast food and about junk food in schools. He even took action by establishing a place for non-fast food production. He even informed people that we can make a change and in fact, it was extremely surprising that children in America have trouble thinking of the word “Broccoli”. With his facial expression, it tells that he wants cooking to come back to houses around the globe and the production groups to make their foods have better ingredients not just lots and lots of sugar like the milk that had loads and loads of sugar. He had many presentation tools to help him in succeeding in his TED talk such as clips, pictures and diagrams. The thing that I feel the most strongly about is the fact that the earth’s resources are declining rapidly, causing the price to increase significantly as the effect. The solution is to have renewable energy and use the energy from the resources around us instead of fossil fuels.

    Ping Ping

  17. 17nikkis
    March 15, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Jamie Oliver, an English chef has mentioned at the very beginning in his talk, “the power of food binds us to the best bits of our lives!” This surely indicates that he really cares about the well being of each individual. His frustration shows the statistic of the danger of the children in this generation having to live a shorter life span.

    His wish for the future of the world is to start from now to educate every child in this world about food and to inspire families to cook healthy meals for their children. He also wishes to empower the people to fight obesity.

    I think his presentation style is a great way to motivate people to start thinking right from now about the eating habits of their children, so in order to prevent obesity. I think this is also his passion, which is the key to have a great presentation to a large audience or crowd.

    Yes, I also feel the same way Jamie strongly feels about food this is because nowadays the landscape of junk food consumed is processed, full of additives and added ingredients but during our grandparents and parents generation they ate much healthier food because the food was largely fresh and very basic

  18. Samantha
    March 15, 2010 at 10:26 am

    I think that Jamie Oliver does care about people’s health by teaching all the parents and kids about eating fresh foods and how it helps people and the future generation to live longer and healthier. I also think that he cares by meeting unhealthy family’s and educate them about healthy and unhealthy food, because he is focusing and (you can see that) he has put a lot of effort into his work by going to schools to teach kids about vegetables. His wish is to inspire people to cook healthy types of food again and educate their children about healthy food for a better future. I think that his presentation style was good because he only used a script 1 or 2 and it’s easy to understand. I feel that I know how to cook so in the future I can take care of myself and cook healthy food.

  19. ness
    March 15, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Jamie Oliver changes and saves people’s lives. He’s been a chef for many years so that means he is every commited. It shows he cares by his expression, Jamie Oliver also went to California for the ted presentation from U.K.It shows he is worried and cares about this situation. Jamie’s wish for the world is:
    1. Let school teach about food and provide a healthy choice of food.
    2. Let parents teach how to cook for the next generation.
    3. Everybody eat healthy food and they will not get sick.
    His presentation style is simple and really easy to understand. It was really good when he used examples like the sugar example. He also used many ways we can use for the exibition like the graphs, videos, examples.

  20. Taku
    March 15, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Jamie oliver really cares about in the ted talk because of how he talks and how he acts.He wished that america staies helfi. His presntaition wasen’t good.

    • Taku
      March 15, 2010 at 11:55 am

      I meant good. I thought it was good because of how he explained it like the sugar part.

    • Johann
      March 15, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      Takou you dont really tell us much of your opinion and I think you could of done a better job

  21. Ranvir
    March 16, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    I 99.9% disagree with you Johann. He made it short but he explained ALMOST everything-thats why I said 99.9 😀 x;(

    • Ranvir
      March 16, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      But it was spossed to take him 20-30 mins

      • Ranvir
        March 16, 2010 at 1:51 pm

        Johanns opinion

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

