Home > Forgot to categorize > Advice from your Teacher – Part One

Advice from your Teacher – Part One

We are just starting our exhibition unit of inquiry about sharing the planet. This is going to be a fantastic experience for all of us, and a big challenge too. Many people get stressed out about the exhibition unit because it seems much more of a big deal than other units. Really, it’s just the same as all the other units you have done since you’ve been a PYP student. The only difference is everyone is watching.

You have an audience. You are expected to share your learning with the school community and beyond.

Be excited about that. It is a unique experience and an honour to be part of it.

I’m going to write regular Blog postings that give you advice about how to stay calm during this unit, how to look after yourself and how to achieve your best.

The first thing I want you to think about is your favourite way to share your learning with other people. Do you enjoy giving oral presentations using PowerPoint or Prezi? Do you like to make videos? Do you like to write about your work on the Blog or in a magazine? Do you enjoy making visuals like posters? Do you like to act out the things you learn? Do you like to communicate through song or dance?

Think about who you are, what your strengths are, what your passions are and make a comment telling us about your preferred way to share your work with an audience.

Photograph by CarbonNYC on Flickr
Categories: Forgot to categorize
  1. Ranvir
    March 3, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    First of all, I would like to work with someone I’ve worked with in another class [if possibe] because we know each other and it will make work faster. If that isnt possible, I’d work alone. My strengths are speaking loudly, presenting clearly and entertaining the audience. My oral is good but my visual needs to improve a little bit more. I can accept any subject except for science [E.g. Albert Einstein], art or math.
    I’m expecting the exhibition to be a big challenge and hopefully a big success.

    6 mins 42 secs 🙂

    • Nathan
      March 3, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      Ranvir but you said if you work with your friend or someone you know how are you 100% sure that you would get the work done. It might be the other way round. You might not even get any work done

      • Sasha
        March 3, 2010 at 6:08 pm

        Ranvir,
        I don’t think you have a choice of working alone, or with a partner.

        Sasha

        • Mick
          March 3, 2010 at 8:43 pm

          I think its the same as the school inquiry Sasha. We choose a topic and make pairs with people who are interested with the same things as we are.

      • Ranvir
        March 4, 2010 at 5:39 pm

        I never mentioned the Sikh Boys. I mean that I want to permanently work with someone who I’ve worked with before but isnt part of the Sikh Boys Community. I can make it the opposite too. Work with somebody new and in that way, make new friends and learn from them and their style.

    • Mick
      March 3, 2010 at 8:37 pm

      Ranvir,

      The homework task is supposed to be 30-40 minutes long!

      • Ranvir
        March 4, 2010 at 5:40 pm

        I know. I can never take longer than 20 minutes long.

    • Sujinna
      March 3, 2010 at 8:55 pm

      you don’t have to do posters because you won’t enjoy it and it and i am not so sure that you would work faster with your friends especially the Sikh boys.

  2. Ping Ping
    March 3, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    I have many strengths in presentation but I didn’t show you guys much of it. As you know, I am pretty efficient at making movies since my dad teaches me how to do it. I also have a strength in oral since I speak loud and everyone knows what I am saying because I speak clearly. I also make my websites to store information and letting people know what I am doing even though I am not presenting. I look forward to collaborating with other classes since I could meet new friends and I may make a better group.

    Ping Ping

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:09 pm

      Ping Ping,
      I didn’t know that we are aloud to work with people from other classes.

      Sasha

      • Mick
        March 3, 2010 at 8:42 pm

        We are Sasha,

        Like people last year they sometimes switch classes but this time I think there is a different way to do the exibition and I think we have to change partners or something like that.

  3. Nathan
    March 3, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    I like to show ways of presenting by using technology and have 2 things going at once so example having a powerpoint going and you talking/explaining. My strengths are using a computer and stuff like that things that you can move around (even in-plain english) because I think they can accually see the innovation or how it has changed and migrated. I want to give away my or send my message out so they can help do something or they can go home still remembering it not just forget it as soon as they leave. And finally like what Ranvir said I think the exibition would be a big challange for me and hopefully a big success.

    Nathan

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      Nathan,
      What are you good at on the computer/laptop for example Prezi, Poster, PowerPoint?

      Sasha

  4. 17nikkis
    March 3, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    The word EXIBITION is a huge, because it is going to be a parade of work being displayed and exposed to everybody. To get started it is best to be calm and confident in doing and presenting your work.

    I prefer to have a partner who’s level of thinking is the same as me, so that the input of working together will be equally good from both of us. If I were to present my work with a partner I would suggest and discuss it to do it through acting. This is a good way to show the way we express to what we understand through learning.

    But if I did my presentation all by myself I would choose to do it through the website Prezi. This is the way I can show my knowledge towards understanding. 🙂 >.<

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      Nikki,
      How do you feel right now (before the exhibition starts)?

      Sasha

  5. March 3, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    I really am excited to be doing the exibition because its big and you really have to work hard and not get distracted to do the best you can do. We must all know what we have to focus on on helping your partner or helping yourself knowing what to do next, which I think its a really good step so we can look out for it.

    I agree to Nikki that if I work with others I would like someone who has the similar level of thinking so we can discuss and do the best both ways and make it look the best it could be. I just feel like doing exibition gives us a better understanding in how we actually are as a person in learning and how we work as a partnership. Good or Bad.

    I enjoy presenting my work by handwriting. Writing about my work or publishing it into a magazine because I am really good with choosing good words to use to express what I am really trying to say. I also enjoy doing an oral presentation like presentation so it could be simple easy and to the point. Acting is also something that I can do if I need to.

    I like sharing my knowledge with people around me and want to share my information in a interesting way which I could also show how much I care to the world.

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      Rosna,
      How do you feel before the exhibition? And Rosna what do you mean by “I enjoy presenting my work by handwriting?”

      Sasha

      • March 3, 2010 at 6:25 pm

        I feel a bit excited and ready to work hard and a bit nervous in what we are going to do. I mean presenting in handwriting means like writing my work on the blog or writing in a magazine.

        • Sasha
          March 3, 2010 at 6:32 pm

          Thanks for telling me what you mean. So I will know what that part means.

          Sasha

        • Amy
          March 3, 2010 at 6:38 pm

          I know what that feeling is first you feel nervous then you feel proud and finally you show it to lots of people.

          • March 3, 2010 at 7:53 pm

            Yes thats exactly what I mean. Thanks:D

  6. 17lucam
    March 3, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I think I would prefer to do prezi or powerpoint because it is a simple way to do it and it is an easy way to present. All you need to do is type it and make a path and you can set timing. On powerpoint you can do the same things but you don’t need to make a path. Also it is a fun way to make presentations and I’ve used powerpoint for a long time(and prezi is simialirr to powerpoint) so I now how to use it well which gave me a good start for prezi. I also like to make speeches because I don’t get nervous (because I like acting and do plays) so it is more fun. I also like to mix a speech with powerpoint or mix a speech with a prezi.
    I also like to do speeches because I have a loud voice.

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:18 pm

      Luca,
      Do you enjoy Prezi or do you think it is quite hard (I think Prezi is really hard to use)?

      Sasha

      • Mick
        March 3, 2010 at 8:40 pm

        I think Luca wants to use prezi because he used powerpoint quite a lot already so he wants to try prezi.

  7. Samantha
    March 3, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    I think I would want to make a presentation (powerpoint), poster or a video. I think doing a powerpoint would be better than doing a prezi because…..(I will continue later)

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      Samantha,
      How do you feel now?

      Sasha

    • Samantha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:56 pm

      I’m not used to using Prezi so if I wanted to do something I would know how to do it on PowerPoint but not exactly on Prezi. I would do a poster because we learned alot about design and it could be different and new. I think making a video would be good if your not confident to talk straight foward to everyone but it’s also an interesting way to show your information. I would maybe also make an act out the things I learn becasuse I like acting and it’s easy for me to do (I feel confident to act).

  8. Sasha
    March 3, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I am kind of nervous and a kind of excited about the EXHIBITION because it is a good experience for all of us, it is interesting and it will be memorable.

    I sometimes like making presentations using Microsoft PowerPoint because you can make it in different ways for example Pecha Kucha but sometimes I don’t like using Microsoft PowerPoint because it can get boring and then people just won’t listen. I don’t like using Prezi that much because I find it hard to use it.

    I don’t mind making videos but sometimes it is better to make a PowerPoint, use Prezi, or make a poster.

    I enjoy acting out what I learnt during the unit but sometimes it is more reasonable to make a PowerPoint or something else.

    My strengths are working with people who I don’t fight with but are not my friends because then I will fool around and not work, acting out what I learnt, and making a Pecha Kucha. My weaknesses are making a Prezi and making a video.

    I had an idea for the exhibition that since we know how to make a compass we can make a compass for staying on task, (or the goals that we made with Ms Ashley) maybe we can write those goals down and help us achieve those goals.

    • 17nikkis
      March 3, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      Hi Sasha,
      I also feel nervous and excited at the same time, because we never done something like this before so it will be a new experience for. 🙂

    • March 3, 2010 at 7:55 pm

      I really liked when we were done posting up some things about how do you want your teammates to behave, you me and Amy had a good descussion about how we are going to focus on our goals

  9. cael
    March 3, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    My strenghs are using prezi and explaning well but mostly to a small group and I’m ok at making websites. I will probly use prezi because im use to it now but i might make a small website were people can go for more information.
    Cael

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      Cael,
      Do you know how to make a website?
      If you do, do you enjoy making them?

      Sasha

      • March 3, 2010 at 6:06 pm

        I agree with sasha .

        • March 3, 2010 at 6:27 pm

          Same

          • 17nikkis
            March 3, 2010 at 7:05 pm

            I also agree 🙂

      • Mick
        March 3, 2010 at 8:46 pm

        Cael knows how to make a website I think. If he dosen’t know he can ask Ping Ping because he is a website making expert and the tech support.

      • Sujinna
        March 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm

        it could be that you like making websites but you don’t actually know the point to it, you might want to try something else… its just an advice.

        • Mick
          March 3, 2010 at 9:01 pm

          I think its nice to try making websites but as Sujinna said sometimes doing something new is hard and you need to get used to it. But if you’ve done it before you should do it.

  10. Johann
    March 3, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I would like to present to my audience in a exciting way like Prezi or videos to reach my audience in a interesting way. I think my strengths are oral because I am very good at using my voice and using my comedian skills to present to my audience in a interesting way. I would like to work with people like Mick or Ping Ping or Arne or Luca because we can work together cooperatively. Most people might not believe me but me and Mick were partners and we produced some really good posters.

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:21 pm

      Johann,
      I agree that you have a loud voice.

      Sasha

  11. March 3, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I enjoy makeing posters about what i have learn and show with lot’s of artical ways for exammple drawing,painting,makeing,ect and I want to also make a pachaxucha powerpoint for my exibition videos are ok to use also prezi but I really want to work on power point my strenghts are have lot’s of idea and like to share them. I really want to work in a pairs because I am not that confdent.
    \

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:22 pm

      DoYeon,
      What do you mean by “show with lot’s of artical ways?”

      Sasha

      • March 3, 2010 at 7:54 pm

        shortly it means creative ways

  12. 17saery
    March 3, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I like to show what I learned by making presentation (in power point or prezi) but when I present I like preseting to about 1 – 5 people. Also when I make something I don’t like working on my own because offen I make mistakes and also I am not that good at researching.
    Saeri >。<

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      Saeri,
      Its ok to make mistakes. Everyone makes mistakes.

      Sasha

      • Mick
        March 3, 2010 at 8:48 pm

        Actually mistakes are sometimes good because if you learn from them you are improving because of them. Also if you don’t make mistakes you hardly make anything.

  13. 17mikit
    March 3, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    I think I would want to make powerpoint by use powerpoint, because it is easy to make a presentation for me.

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      Miki,
      How do you feel?

      Sasha

  14. karam
    March 3, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    I think that I will use Prezi for my presentation because I am getting pretty good at it. But I might use power point because I’m still getting used to using Prezi.
    I think that my strengh is working one on one with someone. I don’t think that I would want to work with a large group because I don’t think there will be alot of delegation. I will also probably use pecha kucha for my presenting style. It allows you to get to the point really quickly and simply.

    • Sasha
      March 3, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      Karam,
      What do you mean by “But I might use power point because I’m still getting used to using Prezi?”

      Sasha

      • Mick
        March 3, 2010 at 8:38 pm

        He probably means he is not an expert at using prezi and more confident on using power point so he wants to use powerpoint

  15. Taku
    March 3, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    I would like to make a poster so I can show my art skills. I would also Like try ing to do a prezi so I can improve my prezentataion skiles. But maybe I wold not do my prezentataion in pecha kucha mode because last time I did it was a disaster(-_-“).

  16. Sasha
    March 3, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Taku,
    Maybe you could try doing Pecha Kucha on Prezi so you could get better at it. (You don’t have to.)

    Sasha

    • 17nikkis
      March 3, 2010 at 7:04 pm

      Hi Sasha,

      I really like the way that you take your time and read other peoples posting and comment on it.
      I appreciate it. 🙂

    • Mick
      March 3, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      I think you should use your art skills in your presentation because as Mr.Sam said in the exibition the difference from the other Unit of Inquiries is that there is an audience. You should amaze your audience with your art skills.

  17. Amy
    March 3, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Every year I have been afraid of the exhibition because of the way my older siblings and mom explain it to me. I would very much prefer to write a poem instead of using technology and many other ways because poems make me feel comfortable and special in many different ways because it’s also a way to let out your feelings instead of writing it on diary or sharing it with someone, They are very meaningful to me; they can also be very powerful at times. I have always had a passion for writing poems. Poem writing is a strength for me.

    • Amy
      March 3, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      I will also do a prezi to show all my information. I have already learnt a lot about prezi so this is another chance for me to learn more about it that I don’t already know. I discussed this with my Mom and she said that know one in my family knows what prezi is so this is also another chance for me to amaze my parents then maybe I will inspire them the way Nick toczek inspired me to write a poem. Hopefully my brother and sister start to use prezi for there work too.

    • Sujinna
      March 3, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      I know amy and it’s very stressing me out and they are like you have to work very hard and do lots of research and stuff…. I thought it would kill me not the exhibition but the way my sister talks

      • Mick
        March 3, 2010 at 9:02 pm

        I think its like what Mr.Sam said, its the same thing as other unit of inquiries but just this one is harder.

    • ness
      March 3, 2010 at 8:58 pm

      Poems is a good idea 🙂

  18. Alfie
    March 3, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    I think my strenths are writing, ideas and consepts. My passions are writing storys reading storys and using my imagination to come up with storys (My passion is storys). I like to present by putting something up on the wall, I don’t like to do it on stage. I like to publish my storys some where not read them to people like Nick Toczec did.

    • Mick
      March 3, 2010 at 8:53 pm

      What stories have you written before? Also I think you didn’t take 30-40 miniutes doing your homework again.

  19. Sujinna
    March 3, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    The exhibition is a big part of the year and I am looking forward to it. A lot of people think that exhibition is very stressing but I don’t. I like to do my presentations in a lot of different ways such as…

    1. Posters
    I like to use some drawing in my presentation to explain my ideas. I actually also like writing more than typing since typing can sometimes take along time, you might loose the work and have to redo it, also when typing, it sometimes make me very bored of, but with writing you can write it anyway you want to and you don’t have to ignore the red lines and green lines because sometimes you write the right things but it says that you are wrong.

    2. Prezi
    I like using prezi because you don’t actually worry much about your design because it limits you with just the designs they have. You can’t choose your own. I also like prezi because when you share your ideas, you sometimes want it to focus on only one thing so you zoom in on it. I also think that prezi doesn’t bore people of because it zooms in and out.

    3. Power-point
    I enjoy using power-point because I am used to it and it can be used on every computer, you don’t have to have the internet connection and it doesn’t matter what version it is. I also like power-point because you have the transitions between each slide so it makes the presentation less boring (sometimes).

    my passion is design and I like creating designs and using designs as part of my work and in Power-point and poster, I get to you my strengths which is designing things, so as I am doing my work, I am improving and also enjoying what I am doing. I don’t like presenting my work to a big audience but I can. I don’t feel very confident and I get butterflies in my stomach. From the start of the year, I have been trying to improve my oral presenting skills and I have improved quite alot.

  20. Mick
    March 3, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    I like to share my work orally using a power point because I’m a confident person and likes presenting work using a computer. I will make a power point because I don’t really like prezi. It sometimes dosen’t do what you want it to do. I might make a Pecha Kucha but might just set the timer but don’t use 20 seconds each slide. What I want to do about in my exibition project I might do something about environmental issues. I don’t really like making posters because I like to present work live not letting people read a piece of writing. I would like to work with a partner but I want my partner to be knowledgeable and sensible person.

    Mick

  21. ness
    March 3, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I would like to use prezi and try a new way of presenting because it is my goal to use many ways of presenting. In the past few months I’ve been using prezi and I want to make a prezi of everythig I have explored and learned into my prezi. If I have time, maybe i’ll make a poster with a creative design but information and planning is first. Posters are my secound choice because I have been doing posters for a long time. I’m really excited for the exhibition because it will be like one of the biggest events in elementary. And I’ve been at nist for 7 years and 6 years for elementary.

  22. Johann
    March 9, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    NOOOO tags

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

