Home > Forgot to categorize > Mutual Learning with Year 12

Mutual Learning with Year 12


Today, the Year 12 students in Mr. Phillip Branston’s class came to share learning with 6SS and 6CB. First, the Year 6 students showed the Year 12 students their presentations about the organization of the school. Then, the Year 12 students taught the Year 6 students about delegation and how it works.

Make a comment to tell us:

  • what happened
  • what you did
  • conversations you had
  • feedback you got
  • questions that were asked
  • connections you made
  • things you learned
  • how you felt
  • ideas you had
  • things you thought about

Hopefully, this will be the start of a great relationship between Y6 and Y12.

For a full slideshow of photos from the session with Year 12, click this link.

  1. Philip Branston
    February 19, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    I thought today looked, sounded and felt like there was good collaboration between the two year levels. I have yet to speak to the Y12’s as they had other classes but I know from comments that they learned a lot and I am sure they see Year 6 in a different light! It was also good for mme to connect with the ele school as sometimes I feel the school is so big!!! I am excited by the chance of more sharing of learning and also ideas between Teachers at different levels. Thank you Y6SS!
    Philip

    • Mick
      February 19, 2010 at 4:59 pm

      Hi Mr.Philip,

      I was a really good experience having the y12 students coming in our class. I learned a lot from them and they probably also learned something from me. I hope you and your students come and visit us again.

      Mick

      • Sasha
        February 19, 2010 at 5:03 pm

        I agree with Mick.

        Sasha

        • February 19, 2010 at 5:47 pm

          I agree with both You and Mick. I really had a good experience in knowing more about deligation. I really liked the feeling where we share our presentations with the Y12’s, I hope the Y12’s liked sharing their thoughts with us.

    • Ranvir
      February 19, 2010 at 8:41 pm

      Welcome to 6SS class! 😀

      • Ranvir
        February 19, 2010 at 8:42 pm

        Mr. Phillip.

        I forgot to add it earlier.

  2. Ranvir
    February 19, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    I actually didnt expect that we would teach the year 12s. Our group had to answer some very basic questions and we accepted the feedback that the year 12s gave us. I also really like the other presentations because it showed us another way of presenting through index cards.

    • Sumit Phlananthachai
      March 3, 2010 at 1:24 pm

      I feel that you had a very good understanding of what you were talking about, and that you were very positive when I gave you feedback. We all present differently and I think each one is unique in its own way. Good Job all year 6’s! 🙂

  3. Mick
    February 20, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Hi Ranvir,

    I agree with you that the Y12 kids presented in very different ways.

    • Ranvir
      March 3, 2010 at 3:25 pm

      You mean Sumit.

  4. 17lucam
    February 21, 2010 at 7:20 am

    One year twelve said that when he was in year six he did not know words like bibliography. He also said he had heard about prezi but he could not bother to change because he has used powerpoint for 10 years now! Also I think it was a good idea from the year twelves to use bisuness cards with their name and class on it.

  5. Sasha
    March 2, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    When we were divided in to groups and the year 12s explained us about what delegation meant I learnt what delegation really meant but at that time I was also a little bit curious about somethings so I asked the 2 year 12 students so I can be sure of how we give everone things to do and how we know which job to give them.
    I was also suprised that the year 12s learnt from us. The 2 year 12s that came to see our presentation gave us positive critisism of how we can improve our work later on in the year.

  6. Sasha George
    March 3, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    The thing I will always remember from this experience is how making a word more simple can help us understand the it better; using diagrams and one word descriptions, etc. By making it simpler and having to teach year 6 kids forces us to know more about the subject before we teach it.

    • Sasha George
      March 3, 2010 at 1:20 pm

      no *the

  7. Sumit Phlananthachai
    March 3, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    The thing I will always remember from this experience are the capabilities of year 6 kids. Even though they are at a young age, they take on a confusing topic and have a good understanding of it. The way the kids presented there knowledge was very interesting and different. This showed me that kids are not to be underestimated. A couple of the kids that presented used different programs that I have never heard of, and made it better than I could’ve ever done.

    • Katarina Lauritano
      March 3, 2010 at 1:26 pm

      I agree. The way they used ‘Prezzi’ was impressive.

  8. Katarina Lauritano
    March 3, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    The thing I will always remember about this experience is the effectiveness of breaking down a seemingly complicated topic into much simpler segments. We did this regarding our presentation on delegation. Not only were we able to explain the topic to the year 6 in an understandable manner, but through the process of breaking the topic down and teaching it, we were able to get a deeper understanding of it ourselves.

  9. Vishesh
    March 3, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    The thing i will always remember from this experience is that technology is really a powerful tool in creating an effective presentation. i was really impressed by how the year 6 used prezzi as a way to present their work.

  10. Sasha George
    March 3, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    From this experience, the important factor I will always remember is it helps us to understand more on the topic we are learning on. This is a learning style which is more enthusiastic than just reading from the textbooks.

  11. Sasha George
    March 3, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    agreed 🙂

  12. sPy
    March 3, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    It was a great experience teaching the year 6 kids. Hopefully, they understood all the big words we had for them. Although some of them were shy at first, by the end of the talk, they started to open up. The best part was when we got to see their work, and i have to say their power point presentations were actually good. They stuck to presentation rules and used limited colours and non-word art fonts which made it look professional. The content was also great and they did try their best to use big words like delegation and hierarchy. Its great that you guys are learning about this now. I’m sure you guys in year 6 will be great business typhoons in the future….. if you play by the rules

  13. Ishi
    March 3, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    The thing I’ll always remember is that teaching the Year 6’s was one the most remarkable experience for me here at NIST. Furthermore, one of the most important aspects was that the Year 6’s were very motivated and full of energy. This quality among them made this activity even more fun. Their interactive nature and outstanding efforts got me motivated as well.
    I enjoyed teaching them and got learn a lot from them as well. I look forward to another such activity.

  14. Levi Grammat
    March 3, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I am richer for this experience

  15. March 3, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    T’was a good learning experience Aye’ It made me understand the level of intelligence that these kids are at exceed my expectation of what they are capable of. These kids had broken the fringe of what I have believed they were able to do with new technologies that I had yet not become familiar with such as ‘Prezi’. Many of the children served as good conduit’s of information as they are articulate speakers; Having said this, I am surprised by the cooperation, organization and presentation these kids have given me, Aye’

  16. Pearl
    March 3, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    The thing that I will always remember is that teaching others is one of the best ways to ensure and guarantee your own learning – that you understand something very well, because when you try to explain something in simpler words to someone else, you can only succeed if you yourself have grasped the concept successfully. Another thing I learnt is that just because the kids are quite younger than us, it does not mean that they are less capable – in fact they are equally capable of understanding what we have just learnt in yr 12 and they too have the ability to use technology well at that young age.

  17. Henny Baby
    March 3, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    From this experience, i have learnt that breaking down each word also makes it easier for me to understand. 🙂

  18. Kiran
    March 3, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    The thing I will always remember from this experience is the creativity of the Y6 student. The way they presented their work was very interactive and they made sure I understood their topic. Also, the way they tried to take in the information from me during my presentation was interactive. They tried their best to understand the topic. Also, they answered my question regarding their topic clearly. Y6 are a good and interactive group of students to work with.

  19. Christa
    March 3, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    From this experienced i have learned to work cooperatively with kids, developed social skills, and revised on the concept of delegation. A new thing i learned was that yr. 6 kids are more intelligent than i thought they would be.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

