Home > Home > Chinese New Year Day 2

Chinese New Year Day 2

This is the second day of the Chinese Festival Chinese New Year!

  1. 11pm sharp of day 1: Prepare and pray for the fortune god to come down and feast because my house has a business and luckiness is critical for affairs. The time must be 11pm sharp since it is the time that the sky gods come down (Chinese personal belief).  The food that is required are red sagos and rock sugar.
  2. 7am of day 2- You are vegetarian between the morning and noon. You can’t eat untill you feast with your family. The recommended food is vegetarian dish. The ingredients are : Black seaweed, olive oil, bean noodles, tofu and cabbages. My aunt made it and it has a great flavour.  
  3. 8am of day 2- recieve your red packets. Everyone gets it, even elderly people since my dad told me that whenever you have work you should give a red packet to your mothers and fathers to thank them of what they have taught us. After that , stick with your family for the whole day.
  4. The Fortune God
    Bao Liberties- Chinese Red Packets
    Sagos

 

What do you think about sticking together with your family?

Categories: Home Tags: , ,
  1. ♥Ness♥
    February 14, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    I think it’s good but today I wasn’t with my WHOLE family I was with my parents. Today we were eating lunch at the tallest buliding in Bangkok I think it’s called something like bai yok, we ate at the 86th floor I think…
    Happy Valentines and chinese new year 🙂

  2. February 14, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I am happy to learn more about chinese new year and what you actually do on this special day, the pictures really stand out.

  3. Ranvir
    February 15, 2010 at 8:55 am

    How many days are there? 😐

  4. Ping Ping
    February 15, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Hi Ranvir,

    There are 2 days to it.
    The 13th and 14th of February.

    Ping Ping

    • Sujinna
      February 18, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      It doesn’t depend on what day it is but I think its the moon/ how the earth orbits because I THINK that the chinese respect the moon (More than the sun I think)

      • Ping Ping
        February 20, 2010 at 9:32 am

        Hello Sujjinna,

        You’re right! It depends on those traditional Chinese calendars that are in shops and says the 1st of January in the chinese calendar since it is different from the international calendar.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_New_Year#Dates

        Ping Ping

  5. Sujinna
    February 18, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I got money too. I was very full on the day where we worship our ancestors that passed away because there was so many things, I didn’t have to cook anymore dinner and lunch that day

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

