Home > Forgot to categorize > Reacting to Robyn Treyvaud

Reacting to Robyn Treyvaud

You have just seen and heard a very powerful presentation by Robyn Treyvaud about “Cyberbullying”.

Use this posting to make comments to tell us what her presentation made you:

  • think about
  • feel
  • talk about
  • regret
  • wonder about
  • decide to do
  • remember
  • take action on
Photograph from http://teachr20.blogspot.com/2009/09/keynote-robyn-treyvaud-developing.html
Categories: Forgot to categorize
  1. Mr. Sam
    February 12, 2010 at 10:50 am

    I was very worried by the video featuring “Joe”. I think that kids I know are being affected by the awful behaviour that Joe was suffering from.It all seems so harmless doesn’t it? A bit of teasing, a few text messages, a funny photo on a website… but actually it was really ruining Joe’s life.

    Do we deserve to ruin other people’s lives?

    • Mick
      February 12, 2010 at 10:56 am

      Hi Mr.Sam,

      Sometimes it’s harmless but when it adds on and on its really harmful to people and is ruining their lives. It’s just like ants, one of them is harmless but when you have thousands of them they are really scary.

      Mick

      • Ping Ping
        February 12, 2010 at 10:58 am

        Hi Mick,

        Unless they are black ants since they don’t bite.

        Ping Ping

      • Mr. Sam
        February 12, 2010 at 10:59 am

        Yes, I really like your ants analogy… it really describes it well.

      • Ping Ping
        February 12, 2010 at 11:01 am

        Hi Mick,

        Unless they are black ants because they just look scary.

        Ping Ping

      • 17sujinnap
        February 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

        I agree, sometimes things look not harmful especially when they do it on adds but when you acutally have alot of them, it is actually very scary.

    • Cael
      February 12, 2010 at 10:58 am

      I agree with you Mr.Sam because little things like a funny picture can ruin someones live

    • Arne
      February 12, 2010 at 10:59 am

      It was very sad and mean of the people that “Cyber Bullied” James.

      • Sasha
        February 13, 2010 at 12:43 am

        Arne,
        I think you mean “Joe”

    • Johann
      February 12, 2010 at 11:00 am

      I think mabey it was an act because it didnt look very realilistic and very fake.I say this because their were so many cameras it looked like a planned out act.

      Johann

      • Mr. Sam
        February 13, 2010 at 10:07 pm

        Johann,

        It was an act, a drama, a re-creation of what happens in real life. It would be impossible to film a real-life situation.

        Mr. Sam

    • Amy
      February 12, 2010 at 11:00 am

      Mr. Sam,
      I thought that Joe was going to kill himself because of the pain he was in like those boys who get bullyed a lot and they end up killing themselves. Mr.Sam I dont get why Joes’s friend did those things to him.

      • Johann
        February 12, 2010 at 11:27 am

        Only if they are really depressed

      • Mr. Sam
        February 13, 2010 at 10:10 pm

        Have you ever heard the saying “with friends like these, who needs enemies?”.

        Sometimes it is the people we think are our friends who end up hurting us the most. Of course, most of our friends would never hurt us intentionally, but sometimes they don’t know how their actions or words are affecting us.

        Mr. Sam

    • Ranvir
      February 12, 2010 at 11:01 am

      Remember the scene when the police arrived to school? I think that’s what caused the bullies to change in the last 10 seconds of the video.

      • ♥Ness♥
        February 12, 2010 at 11:23 am

        I never thought that police would be involed with cyber bullying

    • Nathan
      February 12, 2010 at 11:07 am

      Hi Mr. Sam

      I think people with strong minds will be able to survive the bullying because it’s just words. Read my comment about what my dad said.

      Nathan

      • Mr. Sam
        February 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm

        But, why should people have to survive bullying?

    • Cael
      February 12, 2010 at 11:16 am

      I agree with you Mr.Sam something little like a silly photo can hurt the person in the picture.
      Cael

  2. Johann
    February 12, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I feel bad and good because now I know what I have to to make my self safer.So when I get home I am going to go threw all my friends on facebook friend list and I am going to delete all the people I dont know. I am also going to tell my sister about it and tell her to do the same.

    Johann

    • Arne
      February 12, 2010 at 11:02 am

      Johann. I think your sister will not listen to you and that she will not delete her friends because she is older than you.

      • Johann
        February 14, 2010 at 7:21 am

        ya I know

    • 17rosnas
      February 12, 2010 at 11:02 am

      I think that you have a good point to tell your sister to do the same because it is something serious. I am going to be doing the same thing and sharing this presentation and what I have learnt to my siblings and my parents. I am now going to try be safer online.

      Rosna

    • 17rosnas
      February 12, 2010 at 11:05 am

      I think that its a very good idea for you to tell your sister about what you have learnt about cyber bullying. I think I am going to be telling my siblings about what I have also learnt about cyber bullying and share what the main important points about it. I will also share what I have learned to my parents so they get a good idea.

  3. Arne
    February 12, 2010 at 10:52 am

    I think her presentation made us think a lot on how we use the internet and what Cyberbullying is. I feel that I have more knowledge of the internet and how we use it. I remember this time when I talked with some of my friends-freinds when I greeted them they would make fun of me but I didn’t really care I seemed a bit offended so I just blocked them and deleted. I also had this situation a month ago.

  4. Johann
    February 12, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I am going to tell everyone in my family to go threw their facebook account and delete all the people they dont know

    • Taku
      February 12, 2010 at 10:55 am

      But I don’t have a facebook account

      • 17sujinnap
        February 12, 2010 at 11:12 am

        Hi taku,

        I think you could have said more than “But I don’t have a facebook”, you can reply to the other statements.

        • Nathan
          February 12, 2010 at 11:19 am

          Hi Sujinna I disagree with you becuase I think he has the right to say whatever he likes. But it’s true that he does not have a facebook account so he can say so.

    • Mick
      February 12, 2010 at 11:00 am

      Hi Johann,

      I’m going to tell my family that too, some of my cousins have hundreds of people in their friend list. They would add anyone in their suggestion list.

      Mick

  5. Mick
    February 12, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I feel really bad about people who have experienced cyber bullying. I also don’t like the fact that people do cyber bullying and adults don’t know about it. It’s true that people should stop cyberbullying. People should also don’t just stand and do nothing, they should help people that are being bullied. Some people also don’t know that they’re a part of bullying becuase they don’t realize they’re actually bullying to.

    Mick

  6. karam
    February 12, 2010 at 10:55 am

    My first reaction after Robyn Treyvaud’s presentation was why would anyone do something like this even if they thought it would be fun. She also made me think if I had ever done this to someone else. (But I am quite sure I have not done this to anyone before.

    • Alfie
      February 12, 2010 at 11:05 am

      I agree why would anyone do that. I also thought If I’d ever done cyberbullying.

      • Mick
        February 12, 2010 at 11:12 am

        Hi Karam,

        I think you wouldn’t do that but sometimes people assist the bullies without realizing. For example if a person gets buliied and you laugh you’re assisting the bully.

        Mick

  7. 17rosnas
    February 12, 2010 at 10:55 am

    I think that it was a very good thing that we are learning about cyber bullying but I feel really sad the way people get treated, and that everyone in their lives must have experienced something related to this. It is a really big problem, everywhere around the world might be having these types of cyber bulling which make them feel very disappointed. Since we have learnt about cyber bullying and the video that really made me feel the way Joe was feeling was really bad. AFter seeing that video I felt really sad and realized that this Actually happens to all of us.

    • Sasha
      February 12, 2010 at 11:02 am

      Rosna,
      I agree that it is a good opertunity for us because we get to learn about cyberbulluying when we are young so we know what it is and what it is about.

      Sasha

    • Samantha
      February 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

      I agree that everyone in there lives must have experienced something like this.

  8. 17saeriy
    February 12, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Her presentation made me feel really scared because maybe something is happening around me…

  9. Cael
    February 12, 2010 at 10:56 am

    What she said made me think about, why would people be that mean to other people because its not going to make you popular.

    It made me feel really bad when she showed us the vidio because something like that but ten times less then what happend to Joe.

    I remember when something happend to me where I was talking to a good friend of mine and my friend kept saying something really bad is goin to happen to me

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      Hi Cael,

      Sometimes people do become more popular by being mean to other people.

      Mr. Sam

  10. 17sujinnap
    February 12, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I think that when I get home today, I should discuss the presentation with my mum and also check my friends on facebook and MSN and delete the people I don’t know. After the presentation on cyberbullying, I feel that even though nothing bad has happened to you, it is still not a safe place. you can be on it but you should let someone know. I will remember do not accept anybody you don’t know into your facebook, MSN, my space, etc. if you don’t know them or if you don’t feel safe with them around on your account. I think I will tell my password to my parents just incase they think I’m up to something bad, causing a mishief. I also will reset my password because one of my cousins know it and I don’t actually want them to come on my account anymore. I’ll tell my parents the new password. I will take action on ignoring and deleting chain mails because it is actually a lie, its just something made up to make people feel scared.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:17 pm

      Hi Sujinna,

      I know that you spend quite a lot of time on the Internet so I am really happy to hear that you have taken Robyn’s message so seriously. The steps you are going to take are all very sensible – you don’t have to stop doing what you’re doing, just do things more safely.

      Mr. Sam

  11. Sasha
    February 12, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I really enjoyed what Robyn Treyvaud said about online safety and how we should react to that. I agree with Robyn Treyvaud that it is not about showing of about having lots of friends its about who your true friends are, it muight be that you do have many friends but they might not all be your true and close friends.

    • 17sujinnap
      February 12, 2010 at 11:01 am

      Yeah, sasha I agree with you that it is not about how mnayy friends you have, it is about your safety on the internet world

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:18 pm

      Good point, Sasha. Nobody really has that many ACTUAL friends.

  12. Ping Ping
    February 12, 2010 at 10:57 am

    The website is a very dangerous place to be in since there is nothing to delete and there is nothing safe in the Internet. Cyberbullying is extremely bad and it could hurt other’s feelings if we are not careful and mindful. Many times, I regret the way that I see others password and not being respectful to others.

    Ping Ping

  13. Amy
    February 12, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I think that if someone is being bullyed like the rose example. The people who didnt get roses are probobly feeling lonley or bad. People who did get roses are probobly showing off to others and when they do that sometimes people feel bad and the next time they get something and the other person didnt they will show off back to them and It’ll keep going on. Some people who feel left out or something sometimes form gangs to get revenge on that bully.

    • 17sujinnap
      February 12, 2010 at 11:09 am

      Yeah, I think what you said is quite right that the people who didn’t get a rose would feel bad, I think we should not tease them, for they will feel bad about it

  14. Nathan
    February 12, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I thought about bullying because I have been bullied a few times and I have also bullied people many times. I regret bullying because I have once bullied someone who was younger than me and I think they showed their parents and they reported my email so I was banned or I was always embarresed becuase they showed my email on the site and they said that this email has been reported do not accept any invitations, friend requests or anything like that from this email because it is SPAM! So I have learn’t from my mistake never to bully online ever again. But once when I have been bullied I have never told anyone and he kept on bullying me back until I told my dad and he told me “Sticks and Stones will break my bones but names will never hurt me.” If it spreads I will still have 1 true friend that will never bully me.

    Nathan

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:22 pm

      Hi Nathan,

      This is a very honest comment and it shows me how much Robyn has made you reflect on the issue of bullying. Even though you have had a negative experience by bullying someone before, I am sure you you will not do anything like it again. You made a mistake, but you’ve learend from the experience and become a better person.

      Mr. Sam

    • January 25, 2015 at 1:10 pm

      I have been so beewidlred in the past but now it all makes sense!

  15. Ranvir
    February 12, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I really enjoyed Robyn’s lecture. I’m thinking whether I will be one of those people who are being bullied or cyberbullied. I feel extremely fortunate that I have no strangers as friends and none of my friends are cyberbullying me. I will go home and surely talk about cyberbullying and speak to her about Robyn. I regret that I have bullied someone [not through the mail] and I didnt see it through their perspective/point of view. I have got all my answers through Robyn’s lecture. I have no wonderings to be frank. I will observe before leaving the school today since it’s RED ROSE DAY. There will be bullying for sure. I will remember this all my life and hopefully, I will follow up and do what Robyn said. I wont take action because I dont want trouble.

    I’m proud that Treyvaud came and spoke about this matter that I didnt know about to US

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:28 pm

      Hi Ranvir,

      This is a very thoughtful and mature comment – the language you have used is really sophisticated and descriptive. I’m glad that you haven’t experienced bullying before. However, do you think that bullying happens on the football field with Y4,5 and 6 students?

      Mr. Sam

  16. Alfie
    February 12, 2010 at 11:00 am

    The speech made me think about if I was ever cyberbullyed. It made me feel sad for the people who are being bullyed. It made me remember when my brother got bullyed and came back from school crying. I want to stop bullying but I know I can’t.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:26 pm

      Hi Alfie,

      Actually, you have a lot more power than you think. Of course, it would be very difficult to stop bullying from happening in every school. but you could easily have the power to influence bullying at NIST and to have a positive impact.

      Mr. Sam

  17. ♥Ness♥
    February 12, 2010 at 11:00 am

    I know that cyber bullying is happening, I know that some kids will not listen and till bully others. Robyn Treyvaud’s presentation and speach is very powerful. I think that it’s not fair and nice to do this because it hurts other people’s feelings. I’ve been in something like this alot of times, I feel that I am also wrong when I do something I was just playing around and I feel bad afterwards that I have done or others have done. My 1st question is Am I going to see cyber bullying on the internet, Msn or skype again?. The 2nd question is If i delete my facebook will my picture till be on google? I decided to delete some contacts and might delete my facebook. Because Facebook also distracts me for my homework. If I don’t delete it I will remember to write it on my check list that computer last.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:31 pm

      Hi Ness,

      I’m afraid you are right, it will still happen because some people will ignore Robyn’s message. Sadly, it is usually the bullies themselves who don’t listen to these messages because they can’t handle the truthor because they don’t even think they are bullying people.

      Mr. Sam

  18. 17doyeona
    February 12, 2010 at 11:00 am

    I thought during the presentation how much effect it can make for bullying. And in Joe’s situation if he didn’t record the video and he keeps getting with it mabye it can be really serious problem for him. and just thought about a girl in my last school and she gut bullyed every day espacily like valentinesday because she didn’t got anything so every girls bullyed her treat her as she is not a person. I really fealt so so bad

  19. Samantha
    February 12, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Her presentation made me think deeper into cyber bullying and the effect it has on people. I also think that it is a big problem that effects alot of people in there life and the group or person who is bullying the other person should think first before they start cyber bullying.

  20. 17karams
    February 12, 2010 at 11:03 am

    I think that real bullying is not as bad as cyberbullying because in cyberbullying anybody can bullying you.

  21. 17Lucam
    February 12, 2010 at 11:03 am

    What I think about the presentation is that she got to the point in the 2-5 slide and her message was really clear. I also think that her message is powerful and also it was explained with much detail which was good. She also explained it in a way we could understand her presentation. I feel she is a kind person and doesn’t want children to bully. I also think she wants to inspire people to do the same thing and then it might help people and maybe she can start an organisation to help people who are being bullied. I will talk to my family about the internet and that we can give our passwords (they can open my club penguin user because they know the account and I saved the penguin’s password and username on their computer/laptopI wonder what happened to joe because why did he show a video instead just talk to her because with the video the mom could still take away the privileges. I wonder if he did something bad to himself like kill himself because on a Dutch news website it said someone killed themselves because he was being bullied. I think that if soomeone is being bullied I will not get involved if the bullie is older than me and I will be a defender if the bully is younger than me or if it is my brother being bullied or my brothers friend. I will remember the quotes “nothing is ever deleted” and “their are no secrets on internet”.

  22. Taku
    February 12, 2010 at 11:05 am

    The presntation made me sceard.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:33 pm

      Hi Taku,

      What did it make you scared of?

      Mr. Sam

  23. 17saeriy
    February 12, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Um….. I have a question but is skype dangerouse too?? (sorry if you see any spelling mistake.)

    • ♥Ness♥
      February 12, 2010 at 11:19 am

      Skype is kinda dangeroues because if you add someone you can do a video and they will see your face. If you use the safe way, it’s ok.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm

      Hi Saeri,

      Skype is not dangerous if you use it like a phone and only speak to friends and family.

      Mr. Sam

  24. 17nikkis
    February 12, 2010 at 11:07 am

    I think Robyn Treyvaud had shown us a very good vidio and example about Joe. We shouldn’t bully other’s through internet or face to face. This is because it may affect the people around us and it will become more worse. If it getting worser we should tell someone and they will guide us a way to fix it.

  25. 17mikit
    February 12, 2010 at 11:08 am

    My feel is really sceard and I think this isng really important thing.

  26. Amy
    February 12, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I dont understand why Joe’s friends were treating him that way.

    • 17nikkis
      February 12, 2010 at 11:16 am

      Yeah I agree with Amy,that why his friend treat Joe that way. I think maby he did something wrong to them or he is not popular so I think this might be the reason for that.

    • 17saeriy
      February 12, 2010 at 11:17 am

      ya…maybe Jo was the only one who thought they were friends…(did I write this in the wronge place??)

  27. 17saeriy
    February 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I have a question but do any of you think skype is dangarouse…???
    (sorry if you see a spelling mistake. (if you want to you can tell me the mistake I made))

  28. 17karams
    February 12, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Cyberbullying seems worse than normal bullying since the people who are bullying can make up any load of rubbish about you on a website and 90% of the people who read i will probably believe it.

  29. Cael
    February 12, 2010 at 11:19 am

    the movie was making me cry

  30. 17karams
    February 12, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I think that I will also talk about the presentation to my mother and my brother who also probably has been cyberbullied I will aks for his perspective on this subject.

  31. 17saeriy
    February 12, 2010 at 11:26 am

    I wonder if Jo’s friends were lieing before that they were friends but actually they hated Jo or if the friends used to like Jo but one day people started buliing Jo….

    (I won’t want to be bullied…)

  32. 17karams
    February 12, 2010 at 11:26 am

    So now there is normal bullying then cyberbullying what form of bullying shall come next?

    • Ranvir
      February 12, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      Wat a joke 🙂

  33. Cristina
    February 13, 2010 at 12:57 am

    The number of replies to this post is in itself an answer, Sam. Kids are aware now of the issue and seem quite wise about it! Bravo!

  34. Robyn Treyvaud
    February 14, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Dear Mr Sam and his Year 6 students at NIST
    I have read your very powerful posts and like Mr Sam am impressed with your mature thinking about the issue of cyberbullying. You have ben very honest with each other and in some cases very brave. Those of you who have admitted to being a bully or being a bystander and doing nothing have taken the first important steps in making sure you do not do it again…reflection and action.
    When I work in schools I’m never sure how my words and films impact on the students so your posts have provided me with feedback that is very precious. Yes, the film about Joe and what happened to him is very powerful and it also shows how cyberbullying happens and the impact on the the target. You could also see that for most of the time Joe chose not to tell his mother or a teacher and it was only when his mother found out that things improved for Joe. It’s a reminder, isn’t it that the adults in your life need to know when something is not right in your world whether it’s the virtual one or the real life one. Sometimes they need your help to know how these things happen and how you feel about it and you are very fortunate to have a teacher like Mr Sam who truly understands you and gives you opportunities like this blog to share your thoughts and ideas. This is the power of the internet.
    A very wise man, Ghandhi once said: Be the change that you want to see in the world. Through your actions at home, when you go online or use your mobile phones and when you learn and play with each other be a role model..a person who shows respect and kindness towards others and makes responsible choices in all that you do and say. Let’s keep talking and taking action in our own ways to ensure that all kids have fun online without the fear of being cyberbullied.
    Robyn

  35. February 14, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Thank you for reading our comments on cyber bullying, reading what you wrote above gives me a better understanding on how to solve cyber bulling. I really like the quote that Ghandhi once said. That quote is very powerful.

  36. Ranvir
    February 14, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Like Rosna, I’m happy that you read what we think about your lecture and the topic 🙂

    • Amy
      February 14, 2010 at 1:10 pm

      Me too. By just reading your post it has made me think even deeper about my feelings and empathy.

  37. wkirkwood
    February 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Wow – what an amazing discussion. I just happened to look at your blog this morning and was thrilled to stumble onto this discussion.

    You have raised some really insightful points and issues. The issue of cyber bullying and online safety is a complicated issue which is pretty new to all of us. It is an issue that no one person is going to be able to address or get rid of by themselves.

    It is something that we all must make a stand for and work together to make sure we all feel safe no matter where we are.

    I look forward to hearing your future thoughts on this topic.

    Great work – Mr Will

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

