Home > Where We Are in Place and Time > How has Thailand changed?

How has Thailand changed?

Our next unit of inquiry is Where we are in place and time.

The central idea is “ideas and actions can cause a shift in thinking and change the course of history”.

We’re going to focus on the country we live in, Thailand. The unit gives us a unique opportunity to learn about Thailand and the important ideas and actions that have led to changes in Thailand.

How has Thailand changed since you were born, or since you came to live here? What ideas and actions have caused those changes?

  1. Pin
    December 1, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Our next unit of inquiry is Where we are in place and time.
    The central idea is “ideas and actions can cause a shift in thinking and change the course of history”.
    We’re going to focus on the country we live in, Thailand. The unit gives us a unique opportunity to learn about Thailand and the important ideas and actions that have led to changes in Thailand.

    How has Thailand changed since you were born, or since you came to live here? What ideas and actions have caused those changes?
    From when I was borned here I think that Thailand had changed a bit like there are more roads and the technology has gotten better too. Like when I was 4 I saw that my dad’s computer is really thick and old. Now he has a notebook and is a bit more faster. Also My dad is going to buy some projector and a smart board for presentations in meetings. At first he was going to buy normal ones but now there is a smart board because the technology has gotten to a higher level. I think that ideas and actions that caused these changes is about how people are quite greedy and want their life’s to be comfortable, so they builed roads and stuff to make life more comfortable. But in a positive way it makes our world more faster and more interesting to live in. But in another negative way people are inventing stuff that are made out of junk that makes the ozone make a bigger hole which is called GLOBAL WARMING
    I also think that the things that changed is Internet. The Internet is a really popular thing that is known by every one in the world because every one uses a computer which has to have internet. Internet really did change our world because if we didn’t have internet then computer is pointless, iphones etc. etc. is also pointless without internet. I think that internet was the start of every thing that appears infront of our faces like computers, mobile phone etc. The idea of the internet was really good. It made people have inspirations to make new technology which make people have a better life. :)

    • Pin
      December 2, 2010 at 8:28 am

      To add on world war has also changed the course of history because when you have wars then usaully some countries break their relationship :P

  2. Pimboon
    December 1, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Our next unit of inquiry is Where We Are in Place and Time. The central is “ideas and actions can cause a shift in thinking and change the course of history”. I think that people has been in a hit of series of cars, and theres more cars on the surface of Thailand, causing more pollution. Theres also “light pollution” thats also another hit in big malls and plazas, so then theres no bright stars in the sky. Well, most of these causations are Global Warming. Before, computers and internets and roads, they werent as developed, but now, you could see the difference about it. Everything is developed’til beyond-imagination. Internets also changed and it develops until alost every technology and it sorts of hypnotized us into the screens only and not actually paying attention to everything else, like before, when people were more social causually, not by internet. People try to be in the time, so then they get burried under screens then they dont bother with anything else so then, if everyone becomes like that, nobody will care and there will be no people on the streets and everything social will collaspe under our arms.

  3. Jin
    December 2, 2010 at 4:58 am

    Our next unit of inquiry is Where We Are in Place and Time. The central idea is “Ideas and actions can cause a shift in thinking and change the course of history.
    I think there were some changes since I came here. For example, When I came here, I was only Year 4 and our family computer was kind of slow. Just what Pin said, we also got a notebook which comes in very handy :D Also Even though I am insulting myself, I think that I got more lazy and laxed since I came to Thailand. Because in Korea, they make you study under peer pressure, so I had to study. But in Thailand, it’s not as much as Korea so I am really happy about that.
    Also, I think that NIST changed some of their parts like the cafeteria. Well, I guess that the cafeteria looks normal to me in the 1st floor but it’s not on the 2nd floor. I think that the school made meal plan because before there wasn’t and people kept pushing in line or cut lines and stuff like that. I have to admit that it was really crowded :( but now i think that for me, cafeteria’s food quality have went down a bit. Also, the school didn’t have building 6(secondary building) before they made it. We were studying in Building 4 and 5. Now, Building 4 is under construction and I don’t know why they are updating buildings over and over again.
    Just like Pin and Pimboon said, I guess the internet changed into a new model. Because now in the world, there are touch screen and we can use our pen thing on the computer comfortably. I guess camera and film also changed because before it was black and white but now it’s colorful. :p

    • Jin
      December 3, 2010 at 5:12 am

      Also, i complain a lot :p

      • Jin
        December 3, 2010 at 5:12 am

        :P

  4. 18manisha
    December 2, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Since i have came here there was many things which have changed like i am not studying well at home as much as i did when i came new to bangkok.I can speak better english now.I got my first electronic-In pod touch in thailand.I got to know more about thailand.I have more friends now.

    Also they are making many shops and buildings around our building and making our soi more better.

  5. Jin
    December 2, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Sorry for making a comment before, but I am just going to edit it.

    I think that this central idea is about ideas and actions can change people’s thinkings about history. But I don’t think any ideas or actions can change my thinkings about history. But I think so many things have changed in Thailand. For example, I think that some items got more expensive or cheap in Thailand. :D That’s better because if the items are so expensive no one will try to buy it. :(

  6. Odette
    December 2, 2010 at 8:32 am

    I think that this central idea is about ideas and actions about history. For example, technology is better and low price things (cheaper).

  7. 18mayw
    December 2, 2010 at 8:40 am

    I think Thailand have changed because there’s more pollution, the technology is better now.This is what Terrie told me she said that before the road was thin but now it bigger and fatter.

  8. 18michaelt and 18anirudhv
    December 2, 2010 at 8:42 am

    We think that Thailand has changed by its technology and it has become more enviromentally friendly. We both think that people in thailand have come up with many good inventions like the noodles that taste like mama noodles but are alot healthier. We also think their design sklls have improved alot to.

  9. ken and Aayush
    December 2, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Thailand has changed in many ways. Thai land has becaome more cretive and populler country. Bangkok has more structures and big shopping malls for example emporiam has changed in many ways. Thialand has also got a bigger economy now and his more of a community.

  10. Am and Yeachan
    December 2, 2010 at 8:43 am

    So basically, we talked about our personal changes like for Yeachan in Korea it gets really cold in the winter but in thailand, there’s no snow and its not as cold. He also talked about his family like in his relatives which leads to technology because way before there were no airplanes but now there are airplanes and it’s a really good choice of transport. Also he said that you can easily call people from different coutries. For me I talked about the technology and how it changed from before because bnow the computers are really fast and before it was slow. Also it is easier to find information than before. One other thing is red shirts because tourists didn’t come and the money dropped down. Also transport was difficult because red shirts blocked a lot of roads and people couldnt really go anywhere.

  11. Pin and Pimboon
    December 2, 2010 at 8:43 am

    There’s more technology and electricity improving & improving until it is a really high level. (But it is destroying the world) People are greedy and want to have a comfortable life :)

  12. Johan and Sebi
    December 2, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Since me and Sebi came to Thailand quiet a lot of things have changed. For example:

    Survanhabumi Airport before we had to land at moung duang airport
    New goverments it has been a lot of changes with the goverments.
    A lot of new phones has come to Thailand.
    New bulidings and shopping centers.
    Also much more technolgy has come to Thailand.

  13. Paula & Julien
    December 2, 2010 at 8:46 am

    We think that Thailand has changed by:
    -How the politics have been an issue (Yellow and Red shirts)
    -Technology improving (We now have Smart Boards at school)
    -More roads have been built because of all the cars
    -Massive increasing in the number of shopping malls (Platinum)
    -The fact that the King’s sister passed away ;(

  14. shikhar
    December 2, 2010 at 8:49 am

    To me the changes of thailand since I was here is the red shirt fight because they wanted taxin to be the prime minister and the others didn’t. The red shirt were filling blood in empty coke bottles and thorowing them at the new prime minister’s gate.
    They even burned tires and polluted the air. It was all over the news in Thailand.
    I There was aproblem before this about taxin which caused this problem.

  15. Jon and Manisha
    December 2, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Many shops and buldings have been built in thailand.And they have built some new roads and they have added some new things to the shops and the malls.

  16. Alexis
    December 2, 2010 at 10:01 am

    I’m putting together a list of the top 100 classroom blogs and I would like to ask you a few questions so I could include more information in my article. Please e-mail me at alexisbrett@gmail.com

  17. 18Anirudhv
    December 2, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I think that Thailand has changed in many ways. Siam Paragon and Central world are big shopping malls which have come up in the last few years. There is Siam under water world in Siam Paragon. The Sky train and MRT have come after I was born. There is a new airport now.

  18. 18saeyeono
    December 2, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I think that thailand has changed in to a modern city. because when I came here there were not much of apartments around my home but three years later I can see a lot of defferents. for an example the people coming to live, many different apartments, and many selling people came around NIST.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

