Home > Home, Me, Myself and I, Who we are > Homework: The World When You Were a Zygote

Homework: The World When You Were a Zygote

Interview your parents to find out what the world was like and what their lives were like when you were a Zygote!

  1. November 25, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I talked about this with my dad.

    I wasn’t born yet, I was in my mom’s tummy. My dad and mom works in private companies. They was full happiness. They miss each other because my dad has to leave the country for once a week) Then my dad came back and went to see my mom. When my mom was talking about me, suddenly my dad was so eager about how I look like. My dad went home and prepare things for me. Then I came out and my mom take me home and put me to sleep. My mom and my dad keeps on remembering food safety so I don’t get sick.

  2. michaelt
    November 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Mr. sam I have a question when I help with movember can I bring the form in on monday? because My dad is going to go to work and bring the sponsorship form with him.

  3. 18paulah
    November 25, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I interviewed my mom:

    1. What was the world like when I was a Zygote?

    Terrorism had not been such a big issue yet because there was no 9/11.

    2. What was your life like?

    I was a student at University, and I didn’t plan to have kids yet. I was studying for my next exam, I was studying hard, my life was fun, I traveled a lot and worked in a cafe to earn some extra money.

    3. Where were you living?

    I was living in an apartment in Schwabing, Munich, where you would later grow up.

    4. With whom were you living?
    Why?

    I was living with your daddy and two friends from University because it was cheeper and more fun to share a flat than to live alone.

    5.What was the thing you liked best about your life?
    Why?

    Your daddy: Tim, because I love him, and we did great things together.

    6.What was a thing that bothered you or was negative to you in any other way?

    My flat mates sometimes bothered me, because they didn’t fulfill their cleaning duties in our flat, or didn’t unload the dishwasher.

    7.What progress were you making?

    I was learning a lot in University, I had made good friends in Munich and I had learned to live independently – I have to admit: my parents were still paying me monthly allowance.

    8.What was some regress you were making?

    I can’t remember putting any regress at that time, my life was moving forward.

  4. 18paulk
    November 25, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Interview my Mom
    Then:
    Just moved to Thailand in 1998 because she got married to my dad, so everything was new to my mom. Then, economy was really bad in Thailand so my mom could not get a job as an architect and began working with my dad in his publishing company. She enjoyed being in a new place and traveling to other places with my dad. soon after she got pregnant and that was another new thing. On 26 0ctober 1999 I was born!

  5. michaelt
    November 25, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I interviewed my Dad and he said that they were very worried because they were worried if my mom would have a nice birth and in the year 2000 lots of people thought bad things would happen. My dad and my mom used to both work at unicef but after she had me born then she had to quit work and now my dad works at unicef

  6. 18shikhark
    November 25, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Shikhar: what were things like when I was a zygote?

    Mom: your dad was in diamond trading business at that time, Thai baht had recently devalued due to that our business went down. So we had started a jewelery company.

    Shikhar: what were you doing at that time?

    Mom: when your sister was born I was a house wife but, since she was 8 years old and independent I had started working as a jewelery designer in our company.

    Shikhar: How did you feel about me?

    Mom: I was a bit surprised to find out about your arrival, since it would change my life as a working woman and would probably mean that I would have to stop working for a while. Although I was very happy and your sister was thrilled with the prospect of having a younger brother or sister.

    Shikhar: how do you feel about me now?

    Mom: I am so grateful to have you! I can not imagine my life without you. Now that you are independent I can get back to my career as an Interior Decorator.

  7. Pin
    November 25, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I interviewed my mom.
    She said that she got alot heavier because she had to carry twins (Prae and me) She also told me that we weren’t identical twins. She said that she had trouble with having natural birth so she had to make us at the hospital by getting her egg out and getting the sperm out of my dad, and then mixing it outside. The docter mixed four eggs and puted inside my moms stomach. She said that she had to get a injection every DAY to make make the hormone higher to make us survive. She said that it really did hurt but when about 2-3 months she felt better because it was every day then she was num about it… my mom said that she was really really happy because once she tried natural birth and it didn’t work but now she is really glad and happy about this because she really wanted to have a baby so she was feeling really good about having a birth. About my dad he said that he had to look after my mom really carefully and stop his work sometimes and let my grandma look after the factory. He also said that my mom liked to eat spicy stuff and coke and lemonade. Then se would vomit it all out. My mom also said that I like to eat really spicy stuff and i like pepsi and i can eat lemonade. But Prae she can’t eat spicy stuff and she HATES pepsi and she can eat lemonade a bit. So my dad also said I got all the food from my mom. :D Prae also almost died in her birth because she kicked me out so she choked my mom’s blood. That moment when my mom knew what happened she told me that she was really worried about Prae and she was always crying. THe next week Prae got to go home. My mom also went to the hospital to cut her stomach to get us out she said that when she woke up it is VERY painful :(
    She said that normally women if they cut their stomach then they would start walking in a week after the birth. But my mom she was so happy that she borned us so the third day (me and prae we are 3 day old) she started walking and she said that the docter was encouraging her and said that she is very good to walk in the first few days. She said that it was really painful but she really wanted to see us. She said that she walked around the whole hospital. Then she said that the next day it didn’t hurt as much as yesterday because she was walking :D :)
    So I’m borned in May 9 2010 :D :) ;)

    • Pin
      November 25, 2010 at 10:06 pm

      sorry the last part when i said:
      But my mom she was so happy that she borned us so the third day (me and prae we are 3 day old) she started walking and she said that the docter was encouraging her and said that she is very good to walk in the first few days.
      I mean that my mom was so happy that me and prae borned so she walked on the third day not after 1 week

  8. jonjon
    November 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I am talking to my dad. My parents were worried because they were much older than others having a first child. Dad was 52 and mom was 40. Even with some problems mom and dad think I am perfect.

  9. Julien
    November 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    I asked my mom and she said that we lived in New york with my brother already born (about 1 year old) We were preparing to go back to Belgium. Then once they were back in our house in Belgium, they started to renovate the house to prepare a room for us. A coincidence was that some of my mom’s friends who lived close by were expecting a baby too. The coincidence was that the girl was born on the same days as me and we are great friends. The boy was born just 6 days before me and we are still good friends. But that time they din’t know that I would have a small brother one day.

  10. Pimboon
    November 25, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I interviewed my mom. She said that she was very sleepy and she was sleeping all the time when I was a zygote. She said that she sometimes has morning sickness and eats more than normal, and she put on weight and she had the severe back pain thing. She was expecting me so I dont think she was surprised about my arrival. She was during her Master degree in the UK when she got pregnant. She ate every possible food on earth (although it turned out that I barely eat anything if Idont want to.) Her stomach was really small and she was already 7 months pregnant and her tummy exploded at 8 months, like so big she couldnt walk properly.

  11. seb
    November 25, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I interviewed my Dad.

    I wasn’t born yet. I was in my Mum’s tummy. At the time my Dad worked for a private company called Holmes Place which was an exclusive health club chain. My Mum and Dad already had two daughters named Jhena and Micah, Jhena was the oldest by 3 and a half years. At the time my parents were already struggling because Micah had severe allergies that caused eczema and the last thing they had planned was for another baby. When my parents found out my Mum was pregnant they were initially shocked but then very happy. Their lives were very peaceful and full of happiness because my father had a good job, there was a public school close by and because they had 3 lovely kids. At the time people were worried because it was almost the year 2000 and the were concerned that the computers were going to go wrong as the year changed from 1999 to 2000. It was called the Y2K bug and people were very concerned thast lots of things could go wrong such airplanes crashing.

  12. May
    November 25, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    I interviewed my mom:
    When I was a zygote my elder brother was 8 months old. When I was a zygote my mom was really busy taking care of my elder brother. She said that she said was really tired when she have my brother and she has to work, taking care of my brother. When she have all 3 of us my 2 brothers and me (Max and Mitch)she was really tired because I was born after my brother 1 year and she also said that she don’t want another one because now she was so tired of 3 of us.

    • May
      November 25, 2010 at 6:50 pm

      Before I was born my mom work in my grandpa’s factory we make rubber and also now she’s also working there.

  13. 18saeyeono
    November 25, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I interviewed my mom she said that she was worried if I am going to born fast like at the almost same time as my bigbrother. My mom said that before I was born
    my mom was dreaming and then she saw a diamond and now she think I am a rich person. My mom was ,so worried if I was born before 10 monthes because she doesent want me to be handy cap or legycap.( I did not know what did my mom said or I am not good at englishe but I did my hardist.

  14. Johan
    November 25, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I interviwed my mum about this:
    Before I was born my mum, dad and my older sister Petra were living in downtown Gothenburg, Sweden. They were living in an apartment on the fourth floor. My dad worked at the Swedish migration board and my mum did as well but at that time she was at a parental leave. They had just come back from Syria where they had been living for 3 years. They had a very peaceful life and enjoyed the life as parents to my older sister and they were also very excited to have another child. At first my mum thought that I would be a girl but she was WRONG!!!! My mum and dad were doing a lot of out actitivites and brought Petra basiclly everywhere. They both enjoyed being in the nature and also taking long walks. My mum went a lot up to my grandparents and stayed there. Then 1999 September 10 th a new baby was born. My parents first thought about calling me Erik but then they ended up with Johan. When dad first saw that I was a boy his first thought was ‘WOW now I have someone to play football with.

  15. gabi
    November 25, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    what was life like when i was a zygote?

    i was a mother of two little boys, enjoying life,playgroup,parties with friends.

    What was your life like?
    life was beatiful working from and bieng a mom at the same time.

    Where were you living/
    I was living in Bangkok with your daddy and two dogs.

    What did you like best about that time?
    lots of help from familys and friends and lots of fun exchange many culture.

    what bothered you?
    I had tto much to eat and drink and had no time to exercise.

    What progress did you make?
    i met my best friend and made new friends and I was successful with my job plus i have healthy lovely children.

    Gabi and Bussara

  16. 18manisha
    November 25, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    I interviewed my mom my mom told that she was very happy when i was a zygote that she told all the family that she was going to get pregnant some day.Whe she told to my family they all came to greet her also the people in my family who were very far from where my my mom was also came to greet her. My Dad was working in other place in india so he couldn’t take the leave so he came when i was born.My mom’s in law’s took care of her instead of my dad.When i was born they were so happy they took so much care of me.

    Today is my birthday so it is special for me to know what was the life like for them when i was i zygote.

  17. 18aayushk
    November 25, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    I interviewed my mom and she said that in 1999 while I was a zygote my family was living in Singapore. In Singapore at that time there was a economic crisis and my parents were unable to get a job in Singapore so they decided to move to Bangkok, Thailand.
    So at that time my Mom and Dad were getting settled in Thailand. During that time they got jobs, bought a car and started earning money. Then my mom and dad went to Bali and India to celebrate that I was soon going to be born.

    My mom said at that time she has nauseus, felt sick and throw up a lot but my mom and dad were very excited that I was going to be born.

  18. Jin
    November 25, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    I talked to my mom about this.

    When i was zygote, all of our family was excited that my mother was pregnant. At that time, our family was at Newcastle because my dad was studying in Newcastle university in England. My brother was 1 years old, so my mom was busy just looking after my brother and my dad. So just a month before my birth, my mom sent my brother to a nursery. After I was born, my brother was sad about my birth because I took the love from him.

    • Jin
      November 25, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      I was born on December 21st, 1999 near St. James’ Park. My mom celebrated Christmas at the hospital. She was very lucky to be in that hospital because my mom says that every hospital in England is free and the food is very good! :) :)

  19. Am
    November 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I interviewed my dad today. He said that when I was a Zygote, he was really excited and happy to have 2 members add on to m family. (Just incase you don;t know I have a twin, I do.) He said that my mum was also very excited but she new that she had to be aware because she had to carry 2 babies not only. My dad said that generally, he was very happy at that time and the best part about when I was a Zygote was that I was going to be born. He said sometimes my mum would vomit which was a bit of a pain but he said it was okay. My mum ate a lot more food than she would normally because she had to feed me and my twin too. At that time, my dad said that life was very happy because I was going to be born, but it was also a bit hard to take care of my mum and help her do a lot of things too. At that time my family had to find space more me and my twin and add more things such as: beds, furniture, rooms etc. My dad had to start preparing and start thinking about what he needed for later. He also said that the technology was very different because at that time, 10 years ago, not much people used/had moblie phones and the computers were very very expensive and not as hytec as now.

    • Am
      November 25, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      When I said: she new that she had to be aware because she had to carry 2 babies not only. I meant to say: she knew that she had to be aware because she had to carry 2 babies not only 1.

    • Pin
      November 25, 2010 at 9:50 pm

      Yeah and I was made by The doctor JongJade. Your mom also said that you were done by Doctor JongJade!!! :O

  20. Sam
    November 25, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Today I interviewed my mum.
    My mum found out that she was pregnant when her menstrual cycle/period didn’t come the next month so she went to the doctor for a check up. The doctor told her she was pregnant which means that there was a zygote (me) that was growing in her stomach. This is when a sperm reaches the ovary and I start to grow into a fetus. At first, my mum said you couldn’t tell she was pregnant because the zygote was still small. However, every month she noticed that her stomach had gotten bigger and when she went to the doctor to get a sonogram you could see that I was starting to grow features like arms and legs. Soon enough you could tell that I was a girl. As the months went by, I grew bigger and sometimes I would kick her stomach and she said sometimes it would hurt. After 9 months, it was time for me to get out since I was a fully grown fetus so my mum gave birth to me in the hospital on May 9 2000!

  21. 18Anirudhv
    November 25, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Mom and Dad were not expecting me…but once they came to know about me, they were so happy. They were in Bangkok at that time. Mom said she enjoyed every bit of her pregnancy because she could eat what she wanted without thinking of getting fat..She ate a lot of fish, because that is brain food, now I know why I love fish so much. I used to kick a lot from inside the tummy. I was born on 29th Aug2000 and my parents were so happy to have me. My brother was the happiest to have me.

  22. Yeachan
    November 26, 2010 at 7:27 am

    I was born in America when my parents were stuying there. They were looking forward to having a baby because of no baby since 7 years marriage. They had prayed with all hearts several years in the church and home. It resulted in having a precious life. It was me. What a strange and marvellous thing to grow up in the body of my mother. I believe the God created me healthy and good spirit. Thanks much, MOM AND DAD..

    • Jin
      November 26, 2010 at 9:45 pm

      You have got some words and grammar wrong! :)

  23. angelarichel
    November 28, 2010 at 10:22 am

    I was a zygote in a small town called Rotorua in New Zealand. My country had just decided to start building the Clyde Dam inorder to generate hydro electricity for the nation.
    There was considerable controversy when the dam was planned because it would flood many houses and orchards upstream at Cromwell, as well as the scenic Cromwell Gorge, which was a highlight of the then young but growing New Zealand tourism industry.
    The dam was built and cost millions of dollars which helped to contribute to the national debt and as a result the ecosystem of some native trout has been damaged.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 28, 2010 at 3:03 pm

      You know what… I actually don’t know where I was when I was a Zygote! I just ask my Mum about it later.

  24. angelarichel
    November 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Juli Said:
    My mom and dad were working, and we lived in Grandville House 2 in Sukumvit 19. I was supposed to be born earlier, don’t know when, but I was actually born a bit later. I am a late riser…
    My mom and dad had been married for 4 years and I was the first child. My brother came 2 years, 1 month and 21 days later, 9th of May 2002.
    I was also born C-Section. I wonder if it was because I have a big head???

  25. Wit
    December 1, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I asked my mother about how she felt when I was in her womb.

    Pardon my language but she said it sucks because she could eat most of the things she liked and she had cramps all the time so it really was pain full.

  26. Palmy (Thita) Lamsam
    December 6, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    When I was a zygote there was only my sister. It wasn’t high technology as now too.

    • Palmy (Thita) Lamsam
      December 6, 2010 at 8:18 pm

      Continued:
      My mom sid that she had morning sick every morning.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

