Home > Art, How we express ourselves > Homework: Reflecting on Arts Week

Homework: Reflecting on Arts Week

How has Arts Week been so far? What have you enjoyed? What new skills have you learned? How have you been inspired? What would you like to do more? Who did you enjoy working with?

  1. Jin
    November 24, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    What I have enjoyed the most was detective theatre. Because I was so enjoying the activities and fun games we have done there. The game that I liked the most was called “I accuse” Because there were murderers killing innocent people by winking at them and when 3 people are dead, 2 people must say “I accuse” and they point at the murderer they think it is. If only 1 person says I accuse, he or she still have to continue on the game.

    • Jin
      November 24, 2010 at 5:53 pm

      I wanted to do cook up a storm but I don’t know what we did on Monday, Because I would love to cook a peasant dish

  2. Jin
    November 24, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Also, i enjoyed working with Saeyeon because both of us cooperated well

  3. sebastian
    November 24, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Arts week has been really enjoyable I have had two new experiences and they have been really good.

    What have you enjoyed?
    I have enjoyed Capoeira because I learnt how to fight in a dance and how to do these cool kicks and flips. In World Drumming I enjoyed playing new types of music form different countries.

    What new skills have you learned?
    I have learnt how to play drums better and how to play Capoeira.

    Who did you enjoy working with?
    I have enjoyed working with Al and Johan because we are around the same standard on the activity so we were able to do similar things.

  4. Paul
    November 24, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    I really enjoyed detective theater. We did alot of drama exercises and roll plays. the teacher wanted us to be more aware in life. I liked working with Johan, Chontal and Sasha. We did to skits together and they where really good. I really enjoyed Bebop to Hip Hop. We learned beat boxing, scat, body percussion and rap they where all really fun. We did some exercises and then we got in a group in my group there was Kaushik, Chace and Julien we did a final performance together. It was really cool!

  5. Pimboon
    November 24, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I enjoyed Arts Week alot and I learned about the Scatman and the Beat Bop (I think thats what it is.) and Raping with Body Percussian. I also enjoyed Dance It Out. Im looking foward to the Arts section tomorrow and think Arts tomorrow will be really fun relating to all the music and Drama!

    • Pimboon
      November 24, 2010 at 5:44 pm

      Oh yeah, I also enjoyed working with Paula, Jamie and Sasha in Bebop to HipHop and I also enjoyed working with Samamtha (in Dance It Out.)

  6. 18paulah
    November 24, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    How has arts week been so far?

    Arts week has been really good so far, I love it because the teachers encourage you to do new things but it is all about fun.

    What have you enjoyed?

    I have enjoyed the games which we played in setting the scene because I really liked how in the game your personality always played a role and you can discover more about yourself and get to know yourself better and you also get to know other people better.

    what new skills have you learned?

    I learned how to beat box today. It is much easier than I thought, and I really enjoy it. I have also learned to be confident about new things (I am really confident with things I am farmiliar with).

    How have you been inspired?

    I have not really been inspired yet…though I have planned to also do something like they do in bubble buddies I am really hoping that I get in, but I will do it at home if I get in or not.

    What would you like to do more?

    I would like to teach some things that I learned to my sister and my friends I might try doing something again only changing it around a little bit but I could also do something exactly the same way.

    Who did you enjoy working with?

    In Be bop to hip hop I enjoyed working with my friends because we gave each other the strength to scat which was new to all of us and it was also a little bit weird to all of us. (scatting is singing made up words for eg. vavazabadoo).

  7. Jin
    November 24, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I also liked computer bass thing because I learned to make good music on my own and when JR heard my music he said that it is too loud but I think that my music is the best!!!! :)

  8. michaelt
    November 24, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I enjoy arts week because it inspires me to do many things. Animated jungle made me want to go home to try all the things the teacher taught us because it was very fun making all the animations. World drumming taught me how different country’s have different types of drums and rhythms. I think arts week make people aware of different things that you can do and makes them more creative so they know how fun things are.

  9. Aayushk
    November 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I have so far done only 1 workshop because on the first day I was at immigration so I missed the first workshop.
    Anyway I have enjoyed World Drumming alot because I got to learn new rhythms and made lots of new friends. It also was my first time getting taught by Mr.Mark because I was not at NIST in year 4. I really liked Mr.Mark and how he teachs us.
    I have learned quite a lot of different drumming music to be exact I learned African, Samoan, Peruvian songs. I also learned how to use a wide varieties of drums.
    I have been inspired by the African music because the Africans made the drums they used, made the song they played and invented playing differentlayers of music at the same time.
    I enjoyed working with Johan a year seven boy, Saeyon, Micheal and Anirudh.

  10. gabi
    November 24, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    I like arts week from being with the year 7 and 8’s because it can be a new expirecne and it can be fun.
    I also like arts week how we can do fun activities.

    I have learnt how to drum really fast drumming and a dance from samoa with Mr. Sam
    I ahve been inpired to teach other people what i’ve learnt.

  11. gabi
    November 24, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    hi paul
    whos Chace?

    • 18saeyeono
      November 24, 2010 at 6:25 pm

      His half Korean and I think USA.

      But he cant speak Korean very well…

  12. Julien
    November 24, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Chace is a new student in year 6 but i am not quite sure about what class he is in

  13. Julien
    November 24, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    {Adding on to Paul} It was great fun. Me and Paul were rappers, Chace did the beat boxing and Kaushik kept the beat by clapping and using his body to slap on. it was really fun. Paul also did a little bit of scat. If you are wondering what scat is well it is just anything made up E.G. ‘Zagazizou’ something like that, it can be anything.

  14. 18saeyeono
    November 24, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    I enjoyed world drumming and detective theatr. Because I had fun and played games in detective theatr also in world drumming I learned how to catch a rythem or do a hard bits. I learn that drumming is all about your hart bits and in detective I have to know lot of clues, sharp eyes to know what are the people doing and why?, and have to remember things very well. I would like to do more of drumming because Mr.Mark said it is physical and it inspires me to do more. I enjoyed working with Michael and Anirudh in drumming because sometimes they tolled me what the beat was when I forgoten the beat. In detective theatr Jin was ,so kind because he let me do stuffs.

  15. May
    November 24, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    I enjoyed the animated jungle because we can create our own characters and make a story. We create our character with papers it was really fun. And today actually I need to do animation music but a teacher told us to go and do the dance it out, I didn’t really enjoy it because its almost a gymnastic class. I learned how to do some of (just a little bit) the gymnastic moves and yesterday I learned how to create a story using papers to make a character and make it move.

  16. Am
    November 24, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I think that Arts week is going great so far. I really like the idea of having us kids do different things and be creative and have fun. However like Mr. Sam said, IT’S A MESS. But I personally think that its really good because we get to learn new different things, maybe from different cultures and/or places. I enjoyed the drama activity I did, “Setting the scene” because it was really interesting to set scenes without any words. We also made some mini scenes and it was quite fun but it included quite a lot of collaborating. I have also pretty much enjoyed “World drumming”-the activity I did today because it was really cool to learn about different traditional drum rythms from different cultures. However it becasme kind of boring at a certain time because we had to play the same rythm again and again which was kind of boring but it end really well because we got to play on many different drums.
    I have learnt skills in drama about making and creating scenes without actually having to talk but we can still make some noises if needed. I have also learnt drumming skills and how to use different patterns in different beats. Also I leant how to keep up in time in the correct beat because we had to collaborate and play at the same time.
    I haven’t really been inspired much about anything but I am also thinking that taking part more often in drama would be actually fun.
    I would like to do more in “Setting the scene” because we didn’t really finish this kind of project thing we were working on which was to create scenes about the given sentences from our limited equipment. I think we could have spent more time doing more work because I think we could still do more stuff about scenes.
    I enjoyed working with new people because in setting the scene, I worked with people I haven’t actually talked to or even met from different classes and year levels. I enjoy working with them because there was a girl which was really nice and shes in Year 7 and we really worked well together because we talked a lot and all. Today I enjoyed working with new people I haven’t really talked to-actually we didnt really have to work together but we had to collaborate as a team and play our rythms at the right time-we were actually succesful and we really kept on beat.

  17. Sam
    November 24, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Yesterday I did the activity called ‘Dance it Out’ with this Argentinian guy. First we did some dance stretches, then we did gymnastics, then we learnt a choreographed dance and we did some more stretches. I enjoyed doing everything but the gymnastics because I am not strong in that area of dance and I struggled a lot especially when doing cartwheels. Other than gymnastics I loved the activity. I am used to doing that because I used to do all of that every week at my dance lessons. When doing the activity I learnt a number of things. I learnt:
    – Different but effective strectches
    – Fun but tiring warm ups
    – Interesting dance moves
    I found this activity amazing and I hope I get to do this again!

    Today, I did the activity called ‘Music Technology’ with an amazing music composer named Mr. Paul (Not any of the ones that work at N.I.S.T.). Instead of using ‘Super Dooper Music Looper’ or ‘ACID’ we used a more advanced program called ‘Ableton’. It was really confusing but I made a proffesional drum beat in the end. Paula and I asked Mr. David if we could use that software for music and his said that there was no problem with using it if we know how to. I really enjoyed this activity but it was a little bit difficult making the drum beat. Today I learnt:
    – A little bit of how to use Ableton
    – That composing music isn’t easy
    – Tips with making drum beats (Mr. Paul taught us)
    I would really like to do more of this!

    Sam

  18. 18Terrie
    November 24, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    I enjoyed animal jungle yesterday.
    I learning about how to make the characters useing paper. I really to cuting characters and making a story because i think that is fun and i can practice what I learning about.
    Animal jungle just need to cuting paper, drawing what is you need to cut, and stick the paper together.I do drawing and cuting.

  19. jonjon
    November 24, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    art week is great because I have learned some new things. like how to make paper movies I think I have gotten more confident in music class mr chris said do anyone want to sing for us. I was so shy but now I can walk up and sing and feel good.

  20. Anirudh
    November 24, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Arts week has been really good so far because teachers from different places come to N.I.S.T. I have enjoyed both of my activities (World Drumming and Jungle Animation). But I like Jungle Animation better because we made puppets and made an animation. I would like some funny stuff and some music listening. I enjoyed working with Micheal T because he helped me a lot.
    Anirudh

  21. 18manisha
    November 24, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I enjoyed animal jungle because this is my first time doing this kind of thing and it was fun.The new skills i have learn’t is how to make the characters and how can you make then move.I got inspired by the video she made by taking photos and joining those pictures together.I would like to finish the video that we were doing but time ran out so we didn’t get to do it.I have a connection with the video she made and what Mr.Josh showed us because they both made the video with pictures.I enjoyed working with Prae(Pin’s sister)and i also enjoyed working with Lauren because they helped me and May.Also May helped me because i couldn’t draw the bear so she drawed it for me.

  22. 18manisha
    November 24, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I mean animated jungle not animal jungle!!!

  23. Yeachan
    November 24, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    What I have enjoyed the most was detective theatre like Jin and Saeyeon.Because I had a lots of intresting games conneceted with detective.

    What have I learned in the arts work was I learned how to make a computer music with ‘Albleton’.It was little confusing for me but it was fun and excited and I enjoyed too.

    Also I want to do drumming things because I am intresting with beat.

    I enjoyed in detective theatre with Jin and Saeyeon. We collaborated each other and played without fighting.

  24. Yeachan
    November 24, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    I enjoyed both ‘detective thratre’ and ‘computer music’.

  25. Pin
    November 24, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Yesterday I did Setting the scene. I chose this Activity because I think that it is going to be really interesting to learn about setting the scene. We learned with Mr. Meen he teaches art in a school but also he sets scenes for some advertisement on the TV and also some plays. I think that setting the scene is really fun and interesting. First we messed up with some games abit then he will choose a random group for us. Then we got into groups. Most of the people in my group members are secondarys. Mr. Meen said that the important thing of setting the scene is imagination. He said that Kids that is our age have wild imagination which really effects the scene. I think that it effects the scene because with imagination then you can add things that nobody would think to add those things and it might effect the scene really well. I enjoyed working with every body because all of the people cooperated well except some of the secondary’s were messing around abit. I would really like to do more of setting the scene we didn’t really finish the project because time ran out.
    The next day (today) I did Computer Music. I think that it is really cool. Instead of using Super Duper Music Looper or Acid we used a more advanced programm called Ableton. Its really difficult to make music but once you have made it, it sounds really cool and good. In this activity I enjoy making the drum beats though its quite difficult once I got better to it then it was easier. The skill that I have learnt is using ableton in alot of ways and making drum beats also getting music out of the instrument rack. In this activity I sat next to Sam (Samantha) So sometimes she helped me in the parts I don’t understand. So I enjoyed working with all the elementarys I think that the secondary kind of ignores the yr 6.
    I enjoyed arts week so much I think that it is a really cool thing to do because we got to learn new things that we want to learn about. :)

  26. johan
    November 24, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    This week on arts week I enjoyed both the activities I did. On Drama I did detective theatre. I thought it was really fun because she made us play games that had to do with detective stuff and then at the same time we were learning new things. Then at the second half of detective theatre we got to do plays, you could do skits of your own choice or another group would tell your groups a topic and then you would have to perform that in front of the others. I liked working with Paul, Shantel and Sasha because on the plays I thought we did a good job and we came up with ideas fast if we had to. Like Paul said the teacher wanted us to be more aware in life and thats why we did those games.

    The second activity that I did was world drumming I enjoyed this a lot as well because we got to paly all these different beats and we also go to try differnt drums. We also leant to dance a smaoan dance witch was a very differnt kind of dance then I usual do. I have leant how to play the differnt drums now and I think I am a bit better now at keeping the beat. In this activity I enjoyed working with Al and Sebi because like Sebi said i think we are about the same standard and i think that we knew the same amount at drumming and then we all learnt the same amount as well.

    So so far Arts Week has been GREAT!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

