Home > Home, How we express ourselves > Inspirational People

Inspirational People

Who is an inspiration to you?

Make a comment to tell us all about a person that you are inspired by.

 

 

 

 

  1. Ping Ping
    November 30, 2009 at 8:46 pm | #1

    I am very inspired by the world champion fencer Stanislov Podzniakov because is very ambitious and he is always calm in terms of winning or losing. Whereas A. Montano from italy is not very calm and he likes to show his emotions to everybody else. This also connects to Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal because Roger Federer is calm and Ambitious while Nadal is way to expressive in terms of feelings and it makes me think of the tortoise and the hare because the hare is very expressive while the tortoise is calm and very ambitious. I think that Podzniakov had a very hard time during his early fencing career and he had a surge of

  2. Ping Ping
    November 30, 2009 at 8:48 pm | #2

    I’m really sorry that I accidentally hit the Submit Comment Button by Mistake.

    So, I’m going to continue.

    Energy that makes him the Fencer that he is today.

    Ping Ping :)

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:24 pm | #3

      Hi Ping Ping,

      It’s very interesting to hear about this special fencer, I’ve never heard of him before. How has he inspired you? Ho has he made an impact on the way you do things in your life?

      Mr. Sam

  3. 17lucam
    December 1, 2009 at 4:38 pm | #4

    Carles Puyol has inspired me because In football I used to play midfielder and mostly they are fast and can run up and down the field to defend and attack. Well that was my position but then I started to have bad fever, started throwing up alot and got bad tummy aches. But then I went to Hong-kong to play a football tournament with my strange illnes (on that tournament I scored a goal and in the final we lost 7-0 or 8-0). When I came back to Thailand I went to the hospital and they coudln’t see my apendix ( my temperature was 40 degrees celsuis!). Then the doctor told my mom my apendix went “poof” (burst apendix). So then I when I came from hospital I had to change my position and instead of choosing striker I chose to be a defender because I had more strength than endurance and speed because the only excersize I could do was walk 100 meter because my endurance was super low. Now I am the best defender in my club from a the age groups under 7, under 8, under 10 and maybe under 12 and 14! Now I have gained speed and endurance so now I am a defender and a midfielder! It was a bad expirience. :)

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:26 pm | #5

      Hi Luca,

      So, let me try and work out what you’re saying. Carles Puyol is your inspiration, and he is a defender. You have changed to become a defender after bursting your appendix when playing as a midfielder. Have I got it right?

      Why is Carles Puyol an inspiration to you?

      Mr. Sam

  4. Ranvir
    December 1, 2009 at 4:39 pm | #6

    Mine is on the “This weeks Homework” page that I did on Monday [since there wasnt this post yesterday.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:27 pm | #7

      Hi Ranvir,

      Do you think you could copy and paste your comment into this posting so that we can find it easily later? You may need to use it as evidence.

      Mr. Sam

  5. Nathan
    December 1, 2009 at 5:39 pm | #8

    someone who has inspired me is my parents because my parents show me the way tell me how to do things they convince me. They make me want to read by recomending me books. They show me that there is more things that doing what I always do in life.

    Nathan

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:28 pm | #9

      Hi Nathan,

      I’m really happy to hear that your parents are your inspiration. Have they read your comment? I bet they’d like to!

      What do you think is the biggest way that they have inspired you?

      Mr. Sam

  6. Arne
    December 1, 2009 at 5:56 pm | #10

    Someone that has inspired me is Fernando Torres. Fernando Torres is a football player that has good football skills. Fernando Torres has inspired me to play football and I might be a football player just like him too. This inspiration has an effect on my future and present because right now I am training and practicing what a football player needs in order to be good at it. The future has an effect too because playing football will might be my career. But I’m not sure what I would do after I play football. Fernando Torres really inspires me a lot and he is the reason I like to play football now.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:29 pm | #11

      Hi Arne,

      Torres is definitely an inspirational player, and he has achieved a lot of great things even though he is so young. He seems to behave well in his personal life too which makes him a good rolemodel for young guys like you.

      Mr. Sam

  7. 17amys
    December 1, 2009 at 6:02 pm | #12

    I am inspired by 2 people Michael Jackson and my mom. Michael Jackson inspires me because of the way he dances. I have a passion for dancing and Michael Jackson is known as the king of pop/dancing he has taught me to never give up and to just keep going like he always did that’s how he became famous. When I grow up I hope to be as creative like him. My mom inspires me because of the amazing things she can do like even though she has to take care of me and my older siblings she can still work and cook. She has taught me to follow my dream and she has allowed me too, by supporting me. My mom is also a very helpful person because she can help everyone whether its math’s or IB. When I grow up I hope to be as clever like her.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:33 pm | #13

      Hi Amy,

      I really like the fact that you have chosen someone famous and someone in your family. Michael Jackson was definitely an incredibly talented person and an amazing dancer. Some of the best footage of him singing and dancing is the old stuff from when he was in a group called The Jackson Five as a kid. You can watch them on Youtube.

      Mums really are an inspiration to many of us because they do so many things to help other people while also trying to satisfy their own ambitions and also have some fun in their lives! I’m sure that most Mums would agree that their efforts are often not appreciated – your Mum will be delighted to read what you have written about her.

      Mr. Sam

  8. 17karams
    December 1, 2009 at 6:22 pm | #14

    My inspiration is my big brother because he is very outgoing and enthusiastic about making friends. My brother is very cool because he is a dj and party’s with his friends a lot. But he also takes out as much time for me. He takes me out for movies and for loads of parties sometimes he even introduces me to his friends on the parties. We also do things we are not meant to do when my parents are out. My brother is also very logical thinking and hard working he is also really kind to me. Whenever I am in trouble with my parents he would always tries to get me out of it. I think this has an effect on my life because he always shifts my thinking and I think that if I did not have a brother like him I would not be who I am today.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:37 pm | #15

      Hi Karam,

      It’s a great to have a big brother who inspires you, you’re very lucky. What kind of music does he play when he DJs?

      What you have said about your brother is very powerful. It seems that you have a great role-model (although I suppose that depends what bad things you get up to when your parents are out!). Has he read your comment?

      Mr. Sam

    • Johann
      December 2, 2009 at 7:08 pm | #16

      I wish I had a brother like that you are so lucky.. :(

  9. 17sashav
    December 1, 2009 at 7:16 pm | #17

    I have 2 people who I am inspired by, one of them is in my family and the other person is famous. I am inspired by my mom because of many things but the things I am most inspired by , is that when I ask her to help me with drawing something she always has ideas of what to draw, I also like drawing different out fits , and since my mom is a tailor she always has ideas of the designs on the out fit and how the out fit its self should look like.
    The second person who I am inspired by is Shel Silverstein because of his amazing poems, I also like writing poems but I don’t get the chance to.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 1, 2009 at 8:39 pm | #18

      Hi Sasha,

      It’d be great to see some of your fashion designs some time, and some of your Mum’s too! As she inpsires you so much, do you think you will do some fashion designs in Art during How we express ourselves?

      You should focus on writing poems in homeroom lessons during How we express ourselves. It’s a great opportunity to really spend some time writing the way you love to write.

      Mr. Sam

  10. Mick
    December 1, 2009 at 8:31 pm | #19

    There are two people that inspired me. Both of the are famous and are people who help the environment. Both of them did it in a different way. The first person is Dickson Despommier, he is an expert on vertical farms. He wants to have vertical farms enough to feed all the citizens of New York. He inspired me by making me want to install hydroponics in the school. The other person is captain Paul Watson, he is the co-founder of Greenpeace an animal saving organization. He saved lots of animals, espically sea animals. He also made me want to save the environment. Both of these people inspired me to save the environment.

  11. Mr. Sam
    December 1, 2009 at 8:42 pm | #20

    Hi Mick,

    Both of the people you have written about are very inspirational. Their work is admirable and shows a real concern for our planet. How can you use their inspiration during the How we express ourselves unit?

    Did you know that we follow Capt. Paul Watson on Twitter?

    Mr. Sam

  12. 17samanthad
    December 2, 2009 at 3:39 pm | #21

    To choose one person ahs been very difficult for me so I looked at the things people do that impress and inspire me. I feel lucky becaause I have many good role models; my big brother who is always positive, encouraging and has lots of energy. My favourite writer Gail Carson Leveine who writes in a very exciting style, I love her energy. Gemma’s best friend Susan whoes husband was kileed in the Philippines typhoon, her ability to keep on going and start a new life. Lastly by myself as I never give up, maybe I got this from my parents!

    • Mr. Sam
      December 2, 2009 at 7:37 pm | #22

      Hi Samantha,

      You have written about these inspirational people with a lot of feeling, thank you.

      Mr. Sam

  13. 17nikkis
    December 2, 2009 at 6:12 pm | #23

    The person who has really inspires me is not famous, not popular, not seen in television, nor read in newspaper. But she is my sister, Sabrina. She inspires me by her hard work in sports and studies. By that I have observed some of her artwork, and even the way she plays basketball, and achieving awards for sports. Her acts has really motivated me to achieve and be a good at some sort of skills that I’m passionate about too. She taught me to do what I love to and do it well. And by her guidance I shall follow her footsteps and keep her as my inspirational icon and hope that I could find what I love doing and will do it well.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 2, 2009 at 7:38 pm | #24

      Hi Nikki,

      It’s great to have such an inspirational sister. I hope you will bring some examples of her work in to put on your Inspiration Board.

      Mr. Sam

  14. Johann
    December 2, 2009 at 7:23 pm | #25

    Steve Jobs inspired himself, which inspired other people, which inspired me. Steve Jobs is the founder of the Apple Company. Steve Jobs amazed me with his life story. He got kicked out of his own company, but returned to lead it 10 years later. He wanted to change MUSIC, MOVIES, and COMPUTERS AND HAND HELD TECHLOLOGY. He has survived liver cancer and two near deaths. Well he did.

    Apple owned Pixar animation studios they made one of the best animated movies of all time “ Finding Nemo”. After making 864 million dollar from the movie, Apple sold Pixar to Disney.
    In that same time he had incredible ideas. The Mac, the iPod, music ect. All the Apple product ideas came from him. Steve Jobs is the Di Vinci of our time. He thought of things that other people could never think of such as, fitting a 120gb hard drive in an iPod. That right there is amazing. Steve jobs inspired me with his life story he NEVER GAVE UP HOPE, HE COULD ALWAYS FIND AN ANSWER. WITHOUT HIM THE WORLD WOULD BE LOST. HE IS THE CEO OF THE DECADE. Steve Job’s friend said this about him: “Steve is a billionaire that would rather spend most of his money on the best Apple product ever than the best house in the world”. HE WANTED TO HELP. HE MADE A DIFFRENCE IN THE WORLD…

  15. Mr. Sam
    December 2, 2009 at 7:39 pm | #26

    Hi Johann,

    A great comment about a very important man in recent history. Apple has really changed technology a lot over the last 10 years and has really made people think more carefully about design.

    Mr. Sam

  16. 17rosnas
    December 2, 2009 at 8:00 pm | #27

    I am inspired by this headmaster of a used to be school. His name is Sosaku Kobayashi. He has inspired me by having a good heart at all times and try to help students find their true talents and appreciate what they can do.He has a very good heart and does lots of work to let children have a better education. For example one lunch time, he said for lunch you should have something from the mountains and something from the ocean. So we(children)can learn about food while they are enjoying their meal. This is a true story and inspires a lot of people and thats why there is an english version book for it. I reccomend this book to you about totto-chan and how she had to move to that school(which their classrooms were railway train cars). Sosaku Kobayashi wanted children to express themselves and tries to ensure that no child feels out of place and different from the others. This book, it is a story about a delightful school written in a simplistic way in the eyes of a child(which is Totto-chan.)

    • 17rosnas
      December 2, 2009 at 8:01 pm | #28

      The book I was talking about is “Totto-chan The little girl at the Window.”

      • Mr. Sam
        December 4, 2009 at 7:35 am | #29

        Hi Rosna,

        You have told me about this book a few times so I know that it really had a big impact on you. Perhaps we can find some information about the book on a website and put the link on the Blog so people can learn more about it.

        Are you going to bring the book in to school so we can read it?

        Mr. Sam

        • 17rosnas
          December 5, 2009 at 4:22 pm | #30

          I think it’s a great idea to bring the book in so we can all read it and share our ideas about what totto-chan has been going through. Its also kind of like a cliffhanger type of book.

  17. 17saeriy
    December 3, 2009 at 3:23 pm | #31

    I am inspired by my DAD because he workes very hard and always think about money when he buy things. He let me go to many places and he is very kind. He lets me play as many as I want and also he sometimes play with me…but he is always angry when I don’t do my homework.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 4, 2009 at 7:37 am | #32

      Hi Saeri,

      It’s great to be inspired by your Dad. People who work hard are very inspirational, particularly as most of the money they earn from working hard is used to look after their families and give them a better life.

      Perhaps you should show respect for your father by working hard and doing your homework as well as you can so that he doesn’t have to be angry with you.

      Mr. Sam

  18. ♥Ness♥
    December 3, 2009 at 5:29 pm | #33

    Mao Asada had inspired me by keep trying and keep smiling.m I’m trying to improve on it. Mao is an ice skater from Japan, she inspires me to skate. She said this quote that the coach that taught me in Hong Kong said “If we run away from a challendge, there is no improvement as the result”. It made me think really deep. I think this quote is important to people who play sports because without improvement, there is no sucess. When I smile, I do a great job (ususally), when I see her smile I smile. (Her smile is sooo amazing, cute :) . ) When I smile my parents smiles.

    In 2005,my cousin used to be a figure skater in Singapore and she sent me this email and it showed Mao Asada. Mao also inspired her to skate better.
    2006, I started liking her (mao).
    2007 Started skating with my friends. (Fah, Aries, Palmy, Namsai, Chalee)
    2008 1ST competition and got 2nd in nationals. March 2008,Inspired by Mao about keep smiling. In Juvenile national team and I got 1st place out of 24 skaters from diffrent countries. I think I won that because I was smiling and that made me happy and I enjoyed that.
    Since I had the ingury I still remember what Mao said and I still keep on doing that.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 4, 2009 at 7:38 am | #34

      Hi Ness,

      Are there any videos of Mao Asada ice-skating on Youtube? It would be great if you did a Blog posting about her and embedded some videos on it so we could all watch her talent.

      Mr. Sam

  19. Alfie
    December 3, 2009 at 7:00 pm | #35

    I am inspired by my Grandpa because he is a doctor and he saves lives. I want to be a doctor like him and save lives like him. He also delivered some babies including my Dad (his son).He had a hard start because of World War II. He had to stop his studies and go to war, but he didn’t kill anyone. He’s a kind and thoughtful man and if I grow up to be half the man he was I will be proud!! So will my Mum!!!

    • Mr. Sam
      December 4, 2009 at 7:39 am | #36

      Hi Alfie,

      It’s wonderful that you are inspired by your Grandpa. What kind of doctor is he?

      Mr. Sam

  20. 17rimjhimk
    December 3, 2009 at 8:17 pm | #37

    Hey,

    I am inspired by my father. This is because my father is really interested in electronics and he is ex
    exceptional at it. I, myself am not very good but I am still able to solve some problems. I like electronics because they help you in a lot of way and they are cool. But some people, once they see a cool electronic they can’t plug their eyes off the screen. Also some times the computers we use don’t work. These are the only negative things I think of when I’m looking at an electronic.

    Rimjhim !_!

    • 17rimjhimk
      December 3, 2009 at 8:19 pm | #38

      Oops! looks like I accidently entered. But funny I don’t remember doing this while browsing through. L:)L

      • 17rimjhimk
        December 3, 2009 at 8:23 pm | #39

        I meant LOL! You see what I mean when I say computers don’t work! They are sooo irritating!!!!!!

        • Mr. Sam
          December 4, 2009 at 7:40 am | #40

          Hi Rimjhim,

          What kind of electronics is your Dad interested in?

          Mr. Sam

  21. 17mikit
    December 4, 2009 at 6:09 am | #41

    I sm inspired by my father because he let me go to mamy places and teach many things. Exaple he tell about other cuntry’s things and I think “I want to go and see it!” So I study English now and I want to communicate with foreign people. And I want to know and see the things that father told me, by myself. So I can know many things so I want to say “thanks!”

  22. Mr. Sam
    December 4, 2009 at 7:41 am | #42

    Hi Miki,

    Yes, your fathers plans for you are very inspirational. I think it is fantastic that he wants to give you so many experiences of the world and to help you become an international person.

    Mr. Sam

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

